2011 Request for Advice on Selecting Secondary Schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    312 Posts 47 Posters 58.9k Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

BOARDING:
      I notice a lot of parents are worried about boarding. But let me assure you, the kids love it. It is like a holiday for them. DOn't worry, they come back during the weekend. The kids only miss their parents & sweet home after a few weeks of staying there.
      haha....i must admit that i am one of those parent lorr...... πŸ˜†
      besides wory, i think the \"missing child feeling\" is too intense for me or her daddy to bear...... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‚

Nightrace

CCAs are worse, some sessions are called up at last min. Eg at 11pm receive a sms from Seniors that tomorrow got to turn ...[/quote]

Having same negative experience in DHS too. Last minute changes in timing, very disruptive 😞

Nightrace

yes, not only chinese lessons.....somehow, their chinese role plays are more entertaining πŸ˜‰

i am juz trying to say that their chinese lessons arent that boring.....[/quote]

Yup. To the extent that one parent commented ,\"Why they like role plays so much?\" :roll:

jtoh

[quote=\"Nightrace\"]In DHS, students who do not obtain a grade C or above for their Y2 overall HCL results will be channelled to offer CL in Y3.

What if you don't get grade C and above but want to continue to take HCL? Will you be given the option to do so?

dun think so......
            as beginning of this yr , her chinese teacher emphasizes on the importance of chinese
            as it will affect yr 3 to yr 6.....[/quote]I see. Thanks.

jtoh

Nightrace:

In DHS, students who do not obtain a grade C or above for their Y2 overall HCL results will be channelled to offer CL in Y3.

i think at least a grade C is a reasonable criteria.....
              think someone mentioned that in RV, it'll need at least grade B for juz promotion (if i din read worngly )

Must score B in Chinese as promotion criteria? :yikes:

Nightrace

[quote=\"Nightrace\"]In DHS, students who do not obtain a grade C or above for their Y2 overall HCL results will be channelled to offer CL in Y3.

What if you don't get grade C and above but want to continue to take HCL? Will you be given the option to do so?

dun think so......
                as beginning of this yr , her chinese teacher emphasizes on the importance of chinese
                as it will affect yr 3 to yr 6.....[/quote]Can someone advise? If you obtain at least a pass (E8 grade) in HCL in Y4, you will be exempted from 'A' level exams for Chinese. If take CL (not HCL) in Y4, you have to take CL exams in 'A' level?

• O Offline
                  OrangeJuice

You're welcome, Orangejuice. There are quite a few active ksp parents on the DHS and NJC sites. I think Augmum, Phankao, VitoRelax and a few others will be able to help you out with your queries.

Okay Orangejuice, my turn to give some input.

Are they Happy:
                  Well all I can say is my girl looks Happy. But I think this is the same whether you goto DHS or NJC. Everyone starts from square one, eventually they will make their own friends, irrespective of whether in DHS or NJC.

BOARDING:
                  I notice a lot of parents are worried about boarding. But let me assure you, the kids love it. It is like a holiday for them. DOn't worry, they come back during the weekend. The kids only miss their parents & sweet home after a few weeks of staying there.

So, for me it is good for them to go boarding. They do drama, martial arts, fine dining etiquette ... etc. At the begining of Year 2, they do a Stage show & perform for us parents. I was impressed with their maturity.

Of cos, during the first week, I saw some parents smuggle in MacDonald, Pizza Hut for their kids. They managed to do that bcos the security guard close one eye lah ...

I was told (but not sure if it true) one very rich parent decided to pull out his kid from boarding & keng to get mc for exemption. Rumour is that the rich parent worry their kids will get kidnap (maybe this is a joke - not vey sure).

WORK LOAD:
                  Damn bloody jialat. Lots of project work. Intially DD broke down once bcos too much work & group members didn't do work but play xbox instead.

Teachers:
                  There are both good & bad teachers. Some are very passionate about teaching while some take it just as a job.

CONS:
                  Most of the programmes, cca & whatnot are run & organized by students themselves. So, very often my girl wouldn't know what time she knock off until the day itself. For example, DD have to attend briefing tomorrow bcos she is taking part in this Sat Open Day. At this hour, she still waiting for her fren to tell her what time. This is also normal occurance for her ccas.

CCAs are worse, some sessions are called up at last min. Eg at 11pm receive a sms from Seniors that tomorrow got to turn up. Or, at 11pm, receive a sms that tomorrow's meeting cancel (this is good liao, sometimes cancel at last minute on the day itself). I got the impression that the meetings are setup at the whims & fancy of seniors who cannot (or forget) decide on the timing & date ...

Hi VitoRelax, thanks for your very candid feedback, I like it πŸ˜‚

I am not very concerned abt boarding program, just wanted to hear more details, I am actually FOR it then DD will learn to be independent and realise how lucky she is at home when mom and dad (and younger bro) do things for her.

A friend just told me that in NJC, you can opt for O levels program if not doing well, then if results are good, student can \"re-join\" at JC level (plus can get affiliation points if want to return to NJC) , is that true ?

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

OrangeJuice:

A friend just told me that in NJC, you can opt for O levels program if not doing well, then if results are good, student can \"re-join\" at JC level (plus can get affiliation points if want to return to NJC) , is that true ?
                    On the contrary, Students in NJC who really can't cope just leave the programme. So far there are have been 1 or 2 students leaving from each of the two first cohorts. Percentage of leavers very small though.

I've heard that DHS has O-level for those who can't cope in IP though.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

deleted duplicate

jtoh

Nightrace:

Can someone advise? If you obtain at least a pass (E8 grade) in HCL in Y4, you will be exempted from 'A' level exams for Chinese. If take CL (not HCL) in Y4, you have to take CL exams in 'A' level?
                        I thought it was minimum D7 in HCL to get exemption in JC? And yes, if you do not take HCL you have to take CL in JC.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 32