we must welcome talent from abroad to create and ...........

96 Posts 20 Posters 15.9k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      Oppsgal

insider:

[quote=\"Oppsgal\"]
      Strawberry is bad? Or prefer don't ask what to do and anyhow do, then do wrong? Which is worst?

Asking is good, but not if Strawberry treats you like he's your boss, and his mistake is your mistake, because you didn't warn him of all the various consequences - just one example..

It is kind of quite disastrous when the most new generation workers have a 'maid' mentality - that they need to be told what to do. When comes to salary & promotion, they have the kiasu attitude. When face with a need to exercise initiative, they have the kiasi attitude. True blue Singaporean qualities...

The Manager who manages one the buildings that I operate in is a late 50 grey hair man. A highly energetic and knowledgeable man who I respect a lot (that kind whom if you speak to, you know he is full of ζ–™οΌ‰.

I wanted to renovate the premises and needed the aircon ducting plan to study how well I could reconfigure the ducts so that it could be more energy efficient.

He couldn't locate his blueprint of the aircon duct and I couldn't discuss with my contractor without it.

He told me it is not difficult to draw the ducting plan (just have to go above the false ceiling and basically see from there and draw). He requested I get my contractor to do it.

But I told him my contractor would not do it for me at that point of time coz I had yet to confirm his service and queried him why he couldn't get his technician to do it.

His and sighed and said, \"Nowadays these technicians are HOPELESS. Besides taking turns to be on MCs, they would feign 'stupid' so that they would not need to do more things. No technicians will do it for me even if they know as they will tell me is not part of their jobscope. Time has changed and people like us who can multi-task and willing to work for much more are going extinct soon. I will wait for my Malaysian technician to come back from his leave from Malaysia. That one more ching chai and will do for me.\" (conversation took place about 10 days ago).

PS: He actually wante to climb and draw for me but I said no coz he is no longer young and so should not risk himself unnecessarily. Those jobs should be left to the more abled-body young men to do...[/quote]
      feign 'stupid'? I remember an uncle about 50+ years old in my old workplace ask me feign 'stupid'... because I do so much work even not belong to my jobscope, he said i need to feign 'stupid' sometimes to survive in the company. πŸ¦†

But i don't know how to feign 'stupid'... know how to do then do. feign 'stupid' much harder... :scratchhead:

think i am stupid in feigning 'stupid'. πŸ˜‚

may be during NS the army taught him how to β€˜geng’ …

• O Offline
          Oppsgal

may be during NS the army taught him how to 'geng' ....

He is a PR, not sure got serve NS also. A very nice uncle who look after new colleagues.

david59

raysusan:

Tharman : we must welcome talent from abroad to create and sustain good jobs

[quote]Today newspaper

He added: β€œWe must tread a balanced
            path in our manpower policies. Our
            economy must remain welcoming to both
            businesses and talent from abroad, so as
            to create and sustain good jobs …

what is your view on this?

ok.. import all the bosses and businesses and companies from overseas who can create good jobs here..

and keep out those white collar FTs :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:[/quote]Ya lor. Continue this train of thought, to get the maxi. Profit for shareholders, employ all FTs right from the CEOs, managers to the auntie cleaners lor. Sure make shareholders belly happy ones. Huge nos of investors sure swarm to invest Singapore liao. GDPs double digits, government very happy to report to the majority stake holder, Singaporeans. Are you happy with this masterplan?
            I always believe a balance must be set in place. Don't just quote all the jobs that no locals want to do. The town council cleaner, a Singaporean, aged around 35 plus working around my block is paid $750 gross, working from 6am to 4pm. To supplement his small income, he washes cars for residents for $1.50 per car between 6 to 10pm. every night. Would u do it? Don't simply quote that no locals want to do those jobs. Bosses should strike a balance. Making maxi profit is not going to make you very happy. See part of ur less profit by employing Singaporeans as doing National Service.

david59

if u r the company, is it better/cheaper to pay salary for foreigners or locals?

foreigners are usually not better.. esp for skilled jobs..

True! A friend of mine told me that her boss recently employed a PRC fresh from China to work in the company as his assistant manager becos cheaper. During interview in China, she claimed to be able to relate well in English. But after she was employed, she was always overheard asking clients over the phone whether they could speak to her in mandarin. Tsk!

Strparent

david59:
                Continue this train of thought, to get the maxi. Profit for shareholders, employ all FTs right from the CEOs, managers to the auntie cleaners lor. Sure make shareholders belly happy ones. Huge nos of investors sure swarm to invest Singapore liao. GDPs double digits, government very happy to report to the majority stake holder, Singaporeans. Are you happy with this masterplan?

I always believe a balance must be set in place. Don't just quote all the jobs that no locals want to do. The town council cleaner, a Singaporean, aged around 35 plus working around my block is paid $750 gross, working from 6am to 4pm. To supplement his small income, he washes cars for residents for $1.50 per car between 6 to 10pm. every night. Would u do it? Don't simply quote that no locals want to do those jobs. Bosses should strike a balance. Making maxi profit is not going to make you very happy. See part of ur less profit by employing Singaporeans as doing National Service.
                :goodpost:

but highly unlikely. :sad:

insider:

For listed companies, it is more difficult as their KPI is in terms of pure numbers...
                  the shareholders are the Bosses, and the board / CEO may not get re-elected, and will be punished by share price too

david59

insider:
                    david59:

Making maxi profit is not going to make you very happy. See part of ur less profit by employing Singaporeans as doing National Service.

smaller companies like mine are still possible to have this mindset.

i have a reasonable profit target for each school (after taking into consideration investment, provision of capital recovery period,etc). For example, this school is $120,000/year, that school is $150,000/year, etc.

Every year when I close books, anything excess will share with staff and therefore staff may enjoy windfall bonuses (subject to their peer evaluation). If one needs to 'exploit' staff (or children or parents) to make more $$$, think this maybe one of the most ill-gained $ one can make...

For listed companies, it is more difficult as their KPI is in terms of pure numbers...

God bless you, ur family n ur business.
                    As for Public listed companies, it is therefore imperative that GLC companies must set a good example for other companies to follow by providing a good balance of citizens n foreigners. Government must never make GDP their main goal at the expense of giving leeway to companies to suppress wages. Many companies are doing very well, the rich r getting richer becos of high GDP growth but the wages of the unskilled to the semi-management level remains stagnant or sees little increase. Especially in these days of high inflation is a double whammy.

concern2

david59:
                      Government must never make GDP their main goal at the expense of giving leeway to companies to suppress wages. Many companies are doing very well, the rich r getting richer becos of high GDP growth but the wages of the unskilled to the semi-management level remains stagnant or sees little increase. Especially in these days of high inflation is a double whammy.

Yes, david59. I recently read a book called The Wisdom of Sustainability. In it, the author Sulak Sivaraksa talks about how economic success ought to be measured by GNH (Gross National Happiness) rather than GDP (Gross Domestic Product).

Recently in Parliament, Silvia Lim also highlighted our need to look into this, citing example of how the King of Bhutan gears his country towards the same direction (GNH), how Singapore has achieved 'prosperity' and 'progress', but not 'happiness', (which appears in our national pledge \"so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress\"and how the government should start to consider measures of GNH of our own. (source of Silvia Lim's speech: http://www.wp.sg/2011/10/sylvia-lims-speech-debate-on-presidents-address/)

Mdm Koh

I would like to highlight an article from Asiaone, which states that Laos has donated 1.5 million baht (S$618,000) to the flood relief effort in Thailand.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Asia/Story/A1Story20111017-305495.html

Laos is an extremely poor country, so I was very impressed with the generous donation. It had received help from other countries in the past for its problems with flooding and it's now paying the goodwill forward to Thailand.

Now let's look at our government's track record. The Singapore government, with the world's most highly paid Ministers, (in)famously donated only US$50K (S$63,475) to Haiti last year.

This year, it did slightly better. It donated S$25,600 to Sri Lanka, S$140K to Pakistan and US$500K (S$634,755) to Japan.

Someone on a blog pointed out irreverently that the sum donated to Sri Lanka is the PM's salary for two days of work. πŸ˜‚

I know there are many countries that need help and we can't possibly give all of them one million each. However, all the above donations when added up, do not even make up one million dollars! The sum we have donated for all these huge natural disasters is less than President Tony Tan's salary for three months.

I think we got to question if our government is being too greedy in accumulating wealth at the expense of performing its other roles. It's not only resistant to providing financial help to Singapore citizens, but it's also not willing to provide financial help to our neighbours in the world. This is not something that I feel proud of.

I don't think the foreigners in Singapore would be happy, too, that we have been stingy in helping their home countries.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 10