we must welcome talent from abroad to create and ...........
the team of doctors that rushed to help Haiti from Singapore was led by a malaysian who is a PR here, and the team’s expenses - which was paid by themselves - was probably more than the US$50k the SG gov’t donated
If I am not wrong, the teams of doctors were sent by City Harvest Church. I feel how much the government determines to give depends on pragmatic principle. The bottom line is how important is that country to Singapore. The more importance the more aids. Sadly, the $50k was extremely pathetic.
I hope our Government does not see her citizens thru the eyes of pragmatic principle too. Even the school system seems to be based on this principle. The smarters get greater helps n resources. I feel the weaker ones need equal helps if not much more assistance. -
[quote]
Ya lor. Continue this train of thought, to get the maxi. Profit for shareholders, employ all FTs right from the CEOs, managers to the auntie cleaners lor. Sure make shareholders belly happy ones. Huge nos of investors sure swarm to invest Singapore liao. GDPs double digits, government very happy to report to the majority stake holder, Singaporeans. Are you happy with this masterplan?
I always believe a balance must be set in place. Don't just quote all the jobs that no locals want to do. The town council cleaner, a Singaporean, aged around 35 plus working around my block is paid $750 gross, working from 6am to 4pm. To supplement his small income, he washes cars for residents for $1.50 per car between 6 to 10pm. every night. Would u do it? Don't simply quote that no locals want to do those jobs. Bosses should strike a balance. Making maxi profit is not going to make you very happy. See part of ur less profit by employing Singaporeans as doing National Service.[/quote]More about the town council cleaner. I met him this morning. He told me that he works 7 days a week except for PH. When he is sick, MC also of no use. Considered as no pay leave. And no medical claim unless from Polyclinic. Why this kind of policy huh? The Town Council Management Agent for the estate is run by PAP company, right?
Anyone who believe Singaporeans are too fussy about low pay jobs, would u be willing to take on? With this kind of pay n working terms , who dare to produce babies to make the Government happy? -
many Town council out source to private companies…
How they choose which agent is… a mystery… rem the case where the committee member of some TC is the stake holder of the appointed agent or the like… etc…
talking about conflict of interest… anyway, that is a bit OT…
Hence, it would not be surprising if the agent is some private company… -
david59:
More about the town council cleaner. I met him this morning. He told me that he works 7 days a week except for PH. When he is sick, MC also of no use. Considered as no pay leave. And no medical claim unless from Polyclinic. Why this kind of policy huh? The Town Council Management Agent for the estate is run by PAP company, right?[quote]
Ya lor. Continue this train of thought, to get the maxi. Profit for shareholders, employ all FTs right from the CEOs, managers to the auntie cleaners lor. Sure make shareholders belly happy ones. Huge nos of investors sure swarm to invest Singapore liao. GDPs double digits, government very happy to report to the majority stake holder, Singaporeans. Are you happy with this masterplan?
I always believe a balance must be set in place. Don't just quote all the jobs that no locals want to do. The town council cleaner, a Singaporean, aged around 35 plus working around my block is paid $750 gross, working from 6am to 4pm. To supplement his small income, he washes cars for residents for $1.50 per car between 6 to 10pm. every night. Would u do it? Don't simply quote that no locals want to do those jobs. Bosses should strike a balance. Making maxi profit is not going to make you very happy. See part of ur less profit by employing Singaporeans as doing National Service.
Anyone who believe Singaporeans are too fussy about low pay jobs, would u be willing to take on? With this kind of pay n working terms , who dare to produce babies to make the Government happy?[/quote]Oh! I learn more and more about PAP each time I come here. -
yes, that is what pissed me off too. :stompfeet: it was in the papers wasnt it during the recent election? sad to say that there was no follow up by our reporters (especially the wanbao and shinmin which are very good at reporting the same story for many days with all kind of info but didnt do much on this issue).many Town council out source to private companies..
How they choose which agent is.. a mystery..... rem the case where the committee member of some TC is the stake holder of the appointed agent or the like.. etc..
talking about conflict of interest.... anyway, that is a bit OT..
Hence, it would not be surprising if the agent is some private company.. -
our media dont get rank 154th for no reasons
yes, that is what pissed me off too. :stompfeet: it was in the papers wasnt it during the recent election? sad to say that there was no follow up by our reporters (especially the wanbao and shinmin which are very good at reporting the same story for many days with all kind of info but didnt do much on this issue).limlim:
many Town council out source to private companies..
How they choose which agent is.. a mystery..... rem the case where the committee member of some TC is the stake holder of the appointed agent or the like.. etc..
Hence, it would not be surprising if the agent is some private company.. -
This is an area where I really have \"a bone to pick\"!many Town council out source to private companies..
Hence, it would not be surprising if the agent is some private company..
I personally felt that in a country, there are basic \"infrastructure\" that should be provided by the government (the country as a whole should support this), and not \"outsourced\" to private commercial entities through \"privatisation\". Once \"privatised\", it will become a profit-making business and the concern will be to cover operating cost. Many of our basic infrastructure has been \"privatised\", resulting in rising cost of living. Eg. transportation, healthcare, even housing (with the new EC, etc.) and education (look at the number of independent schools though there are some scholarship to support fees!). If this trend continues, I do not doubt the need to continue raising the retirement age in order to continue supporting ourselves. -
insider:
Like that, to the employer, is like, worst case, pay what they're supposed to pay. Or maybe they could get away with it. There's no \"penalty\" at all!!..
MOM, if really serious about enforcing minimum conditions stated in the Employment Act, should lay heavy penalties on employers who exploit workers. A good punishment will be to ban such errant employers from employing any foreign workers and levy a hefty fine of for example, 12 - 24 months of a worker's salary. Think the current penalty is too light and so people bochup... (I have a friend who used to be a principal and was sacked with no good reasons during her pregnancy. She complained to MOM and MOM simply asked the boss to pay her the benefits she was entitled to and that was all! That was not a punishment at all. No wonder some bosses are trying to be funny...)
So sick.. -
Pen88n:
I feel that whether the govt body outsource or not is not so big issue..
This is an area where I really have \"a bone to pick\"!
The real issue is \"conflict of interest\". There must be safeguard in place to prevent our CPF money from being indiscriminately squandered away..
If there is proper procedure to follow and they pick the most \"value for money\" agents, that is okay.. it might result in better efficiency.
But the big problem is \"conflict of interest\", and the appointment agent is not only NOT \"value for money\" but chop the govt dept like carrot.. like the recent case of overcharging of the police force.
That is crime against the pple....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.