2011 Request for Advice on Selecting Secondary Schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    312 Posts 47 Posters 58.8k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      OrangeJuice

OrangeJuice:

Care to share some examples / your experience with the school's haphardness in how some of the courses are run ?

Sure, very often the class will be called to \"stay back tomorrow\". When tomorrow comes, the class is cancelled. If you are taking your kids home you'll suddenly receive call \"Daddy, i finish school oredi\".

Worst still is, at the end of the day, the kids will be told to stay back and you'll receive a call \"Daddy not yet finish yet, got extra class\". Why can't the teacher told the students 1 day in advance ?

Once, the students were asked to turn on a Sat to do some presentation but on that Sat, the teacher herself didn't turn up ! The students wasted their Saturday. Then that group the presentation was marked by another teacher on another day (that poor students got to prepare the same presentation so many times) ... some teacher more strict ... some teacher less strict ...

Also some of the teachers are not equipped/trained to teach the IP students. Some cannot even solve the Maths questions that were given out. These teachers have no passion lah, if they do they would have prepared it before hand & not get stuck ....

Also, a lot of things are \"last minute\" one, the teacher in charge could not be bothered to plan things in advance. Group project/experiment first teacher said can do \"like this\" (bcos she could not be bothered to listen to the question) then the students do it in detail but when submission is due the teacher then said cannot do \"like this\" but must do \"like that\" .... (then the students got to burn midnite oil to change their report)

But don't get me wrong, a bit of inefficiency is good bcos this relflects how the real working world is but some times it can irritate you ...

Like I said, if you can tolerate the above plus the rudeness of the Office Admin Staff, then NJC should be ok.

NB: The above is only my personal opinion ...

hmmm..sounds pretty disruptive..but if it is not too often I guess it is still OK , thanks for sharing this here, at least this helps parents of potential njc students manage the expectations.

jtoh

[quote=\"Augmum\"]
        So we have 4.0, 4.3, 4.5 and 5.0 ......let ' s see which is a fairest one.... :boogie:

Which school's is 5.0?

i read fr RV thread.....
        rosecy:
        from my understanding, A1* is 85 and above and equivalent to grade point 5.

so max GPA is 5.
        [/quote]Thanks.

jtoh

[quote=\"Augmum\"]
          We have quite a fair bit of complaints abt DHS GPA computation system.
          Not a fair one......
          If u wanna to know more, can read abt our LLLS in DHS thread.... 😉

Not sure how the GPA is calculated in DHS but GPA is by itself not a fair one, it is just a general guide .... so happen some school adopt this method ...

no vito.... some IP sch's GPA grading system is fairer than some others

for DHS, if one gets raw marks of 69/ 69.5,
          the GPA will drop drastically fr 3.6 to 2.8,
          shd he/she gets 70, GPA will stand at 3.6,
          in other words, the drop is disproportional......
          if yr grade drop from A* to A , a GPA difference of 0.4
          but if yr grade drop from A to B or B to C, the difference is 0.8 ..... :evil:[/quote]So you'd better be a straight A/A+ student to do well. A single B or C will badly affect your GPA.

VitoRelax

no vito.... some IP sch's GPA grading system is fairer than some others

for DHS, if one gets raw marks of 69/ 69.5,
            the GPA will drop drastically fr 3.6 to 2.8,
            shd he/she gets 70, GPA will stand at 3.6,
            in other words, the drop is disproportional......
            if yr grade drop from A* to A , a GPA difference of 0.4
            but if yr grade drop from A to B or B to C, the difference is 0.8 ..... :evil:
            No system is perfect.

But I suppose which fence you are sitting on. If you always get A*/A you'll say it is good otherwise it is not good.... how many percent in DHS get A*/A ?

VitoRelax

So you'd better be a straight A/A+ student to do well. A single B or C will badly affect your GPA.
              Hopefully D+/D the gaps is not 1.6 ? :stompfeet:

VitoRelax

OrangeJuice:

hmmm..sounds pretty disruptive..but if it is not too often I guess it is still OK , thanks for sharing this here, at least this helps parents of potential njc students manage the expectations.
                Yes disruptive & irritating ...

It gives the impression that the school & its teachers cannot manage & plan their stuff .... :sad:

VitoRelax

haha....vito....the above words seems familiar in DHS too.....
                  also receive calls/sms that the picking up time has changed,
                  but mainly becos of projects discussions/ role plays being added or cancelled.
                  esp the period near EOY exams/common tests, more irregularities expected....... 😉 😂
                  Hi Augmum,

Different leh ... in DHS like you mention the canceling & what not were due to students own planning in their project discussion.

But I was referring to class planned by the school. If you gonna cancel a class, why just can;t they inform the students in advance. Furthermore, if wanna have an extra class why inform only on the day itself ?

Well, what I am trying to say is, it is not so smooth sailing anymore like in Primary school where everyone knows what's going on ...

But overall, other than that, NJC is quite ok, students there are happy ...

Assabella

Dear all,

I am a P6 student this year and I am currently studying in a neighbourhood school. I got 260 for prelims and I was third in class. My target for PSLE is 275 and I aspire to get into RGS. My considerations are: 1) Raffles Girl’s School 2) Nanyang Girls’ School 3) National Junior College 4) Cedar Secondary School
                    I live in Ang Mo Kio so transportation is a problem. I have financial problems with the school fees and other necessary fees too. Many people tell me that Nanyang is better than Raffles but I like the debate CCA in Raffles. NJC seems enticing too. My father does not have expectations for me, which afterall, he doesn’t know English. So, I have to be independent and do these things myself. Parents, can you share with me a bit of your love for your children?
                    Thanks,
                    Assabella

VitoRelax

Assabella:
                      Dear all,

I am a P6 student this year and I am currently studying in a neighbourhood school. I got 260 for prelims and I was third in class. My target for PSLE is 275 and I aspire to get into RGS. My considerations are: 1) Raffles Girl's School 2) Nanyang Girls' School 3) National Junior College 4) Cedar Secondary School
                      I live in Ang Mo Kio so transportation is a problem. I have financial problems with the school fees and other necessary fees too. Many people tell me that Nanyang is better than Raffles but I like the debate CCA in Raffles. NJC seems enticing too. My father does not have expectations for me, which afterall, he doesn't know English. So, I have to be independent and do these things myself. Parents, can you share with me a bit of your love for your children?
                      Thanks,
                      Assabella
                      Hi Assabella,

If you get 275, just choose between RGS or Nanyang.

My personal opinion is Nanyang is better and also Nanyang's facilities is better.

All the best to you ...

Assabella

Thanks for the reply! :thankyou:

I like debating and writing, and RGS has the debate and oratorical team and the editorial board. However, Nanyang does not have either. This year, the COD for Nanyang is 264 and RGS is 260. My friends keep saying that Nanyang is better, but Raffles still has it reputation. Besides, I still have transportation and financial problem. I do not qualify for the financial assistance in both Nanyang and RGS.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 23 / 32