All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
      LOLMum

when my kids are older and i dont have to worry about their school work, then maybe i can spend a bit more time in the kitchen.

very irritating to have to drop whatever 1 is doing to do school run or send for tuition etc. especially when both are in different schools have different dismissal time and different time slot for tuition at different places.

dont fancy being a permanent babysitter. too tired already... 😉

SMH FOREST

Pen88n:
        I had a babysitter looking after my gal when she was young. Later, when she went childcare for the whole day, we continued with her taking sch bus to the babysitter's place. She showered my gal and gave her dinner. We picked her up after work. I liked the fact that my babysitter was a SAHM with primary sch kids and she provided wholesome, balanced, home-cooked meal.

At times when my gal was sick, she would not attend childcare and babysitter would look after her instead. My babysitter was very easy going and her whole family treated my gal like their own kid. Luckily my gal was not the sickly type, at most a day or 2 of absence a month.

My babysitter is now looking after 2 (and at times 3) babies at home - she is that popular!
        not easy to find good babysitters around? usually, how do u go around asking for babysitters? any tips?

SMH FOREST

24hr-mum:
          if u get a maid, try to get transfer maids - becos u get to see them in person, interview them and feel for yourslf their suitability, or interview their bosses. even if what they say may not be true, its still better than trying out luck like a blind date (点秋香). or one wif experienced. and older ones. not those below 28, in my opinion. older ones hv their problems - old habits, demanding, stubborn habits or attitude, but if u just wanna get the job done without hving to teach them, prob better than new ones. but too experienced i also dun want. cos their pay wil be so high too.....

boys are tough. my boy already 6, still like a bb, and still hyper.....

i think hard for u to be maidless cos even at our age we dun hv so much energy to run after our kids....

prob change maid will be the best....try transfer ones.... at least u get to see first before u take the person....
          am looking at options again... yes, if too experienced, i dun wanna pay their asking salary too... its too much to bear and still gotta see if we click... i am not \"courageous\" to take a plunge like that... :S

BeContented

when my kids are older and i dont have to worry about their school work, then maybe i can spend a bit more time in the kitchen.

very irritating to have to drop whatever 1 is doing to do school run or send for tuition etc. especially when both are in different schools have different dismissal time and different time slot for tuition at different places.

dont fancy being a permanent babysitter. too tired already... 😉
            :hi5: same here. after spending last few years running day-in & out, doing things half-way here & there, I too don't fancy being a permanent babysitter.
            I won't even agree to babysit nephew & nieces on regular basis 😉 :oops:

• 2 Offline
              24hr-mum

after being maidless, do u still hand wash clothes for those which are delicate or white color?

do u separate whites from other clothes or do u have any special wash to mach washh white clothes without losg their whiteness?
              where can i get those bra-savers whc is a hard plastic casing to keep ur bras so that they wont b crushed inside the washing mach?

LOLMum

yes, you must separate the whites from the rest...................

i dont have any special wash/detergent to keep the white but if you put them out to sun, please make sure you turn the inside out which might do the trick.

for lace/delicate items, i put them in the net and dump into machine. i dont handwash cos my skin is already getting a bit rough now with the constant cleaning of everything in the house.

i got a bra laundrey bag with metal frame at both end from i think is daiso. so far so good.

http://i56.tinypic.com/swq1d2.jpg\">

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

i have finally read this whole thread from page 1 till now…

i think all maids are the same. even if they were good in first two yrs, after workg for u sometime, even tho they are still quite problem free (like mine, as in she doesnt gv me hanky panky or major issues) but they can become fussier and more demanding. i posted her release in another thread and arranged a number of interviews for her. in the end she rejected all and prefer to work for angmoh whom she found thru her friend, and the angmoh is going to pay her $500 ($50 more than curr pay), weekly sunday off, and half day on public holiday.

in the first two years she was really good. third year only, not so humble anymore. this year she even asked for domestic flight besides international flight back. workwise she is still ok. but perhaps my tolerance is low. once they start being picky, i dont fancy keeping them esp my kids are older now and i not wkg. i rather save the money for tuition.

some quesitons to ask:
                  will thermal pot be better than slow cooker since both can cook over a long time but thermal can keep warm n save electricity?

for parents who have preschool and pri sch gg kids, do u wake the preschooler up to go cc when u send the pri sch kids to pri sch in the am? assuming they dont take sch bus??

• 2 Offline
                    24hr-mum

actually besides cooking and washing, whc can be solved in some ways, i find the most challening part of being maidless (to be) is how to settle the constant bickering among my three kids (8, 6, 4). my youngest love to copy whatever her gor gor and jie jie do or have. and number 1 refuse to give in, number two the same. if i dont watch them for a minute, someone will be scratched or someone will whine n cry…until i whip out my 宝剑 the magic cane…

Breadandmuffins

24hr Mum, my maid also like yours,very good with kids and housework but along the way, got very distracted, so we told her that we are not renewing her last saturday, sunday let her go agent. ask me to sign transfer letter yesterday and asked her if she needed our help in finding one. Thought of putting in this forum, but my guess is right…she wanted ang mo too…so going maidless next yr too.

Pen88n

SMH FOREST:
                        Pen88n:

I had a babysitter looking after my gal when she was young. Later, when she went childcare for the whole day, we continued with her taking sch bus to the babysitter's place. She showered my gal and gave her dinner. We picked her up after work. I liked the fact that my babysitter was a SAHM with primary sch kids and she provided wholesome, balanced, home-cooked meal.

At times when my gal was sick, she would not attend childcare and babysitter would look after her instead. My babysitter was very easy going and her whole family treated my gal like their own kid. Luckily my gal was not the sickly type, at most a day or 2 of absence a month.

My babysitter is now looking after 2 (and at times 3) babies at home - she is that popular!

not easy to find good babysitters around? usually, how do u go around asking for babysitters? any tips?

I was lucky I got a good babysitter thru NTUC childcare recommendation scheme quite some time back (no need to pay any fee!). We were staying in a more secluded area, so my babysitter also did not get babies to look after as her place was not that convenient to many people (it was convenient to me 😉 ).

She did not need the income, but she was bored and wanted to babysit. We visited her and we liked the environment + her kids were well-behaved. They visited us too and her hubby was ok to accept my kid. So, deal done!

She has since moved to a \"younger\" housing estate, so many babies to look after now :rotflmao: When we last visited her last Christmas, she had 3 babies at her place. Now, she had 2 babies left!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 81 / 245