All About Life Without Maids
Mine with me coming to 7years. Yes, got 4kids.My MIL is a nice lady so ok but anyway told DH that better not stay together as relationship still good. Anyway, she may not want to stay with us. Will be getting my father to help drive kids around as he is retired and a part time cleaning company to handle the chores plus get my kids to do some chores.
It was a constant struggle to come to this decision for the past 2years but finally had DH’s blessing to do so. DH even told her that we can help her look to save agent fee but when asked for her preference, she say expat. DH then told her nicely about the "lifestyle" vs "earn money" concept. Work for expat, with more off days and freedom, means more money spent…as what yr DH says. Work for locals, more "controlled" in terms of such things, wont get distracted so easily. Straight after we moved to our current place which is full of expats, she changed to a new HP and got herself FB and now also want to join this group of maids to work for expats. , DH told her that all these years, we never ever scold her if our kids get hurt under her care but we told her if she became so distracted like some of those expat maids downstairs and something happened to kids under her care, she will hv to bear the consequences. THose maids are doing their employers a great disservice if u asked me.
Sorry got to go now…talk again later. -
u took 2 yrs to decide to terminate her?
for me, the decision started some time ago too. she also got a new HP that has FB but i think she saving $ so hvnt started using FB. actually she has been loyal, cos when my godma asked her whethr to go help her relative she rejected, saying she has contract to finish under me. but while she has no major problem, she doesnt quite like my elder girl cos my elder girl always fight wif my younger girl. she took care of my younger girl and loves her a lot. but to my elder girl she can really b bochap and some remarks are quite uncalled for. anyway becos she is taking home leave my dh say maybe just let her go then. i didnt expect her to ask for transfer. but i know she will insist and since i was the ‘broke the contract’, i thot of helping her but she has never been frank on her expectations (unlike ur maid), so i only got to know that she wanted angmoh few weeks after i told her abt the release. i think all pinoy maids who worked long enuf, enuf to netwk ard, will aim for angmohs…let them be…angmohs like to drink and smoke…totally opp from the nice homely environment at my plc… -
i thnk angmohs are like that. there was once my maid went for her day off to meet her friends. she said her maid friend brought the employer kids along. (huh??) for my mine, she only has one day off in ev two mths after working for me for 4 years, started first day off in jun only. i usu dont let her go out on her own. i bring kids to classes myslf or wf her along but she nvr go out wf my kids aloone. i do mktg myself oor wf her but not she alone. the only contact she has is her hp and when she meet my friends’ maids or maids in our condo when washg car or picking kids from sch bus. and she has friends who are already here. she is still responsible in her work and no hanky panky but still she can be influenced to aim for angmohs and asking for fb, and even asking for domestic flights when taking home leave. maybe cos work too long for me liao…
Hi 24hr Mum
Are we OT here? Maybe I PM u to continue… -
btw thinkg of getg electrolux standg cordless vacuum cleaner cos light n i hated hvg to drag a heavy mach ard. also saw a karcher electric broom. any suggestn whc better?
24hr-mum:
................................................. best to have no mil too. (mil worse than maid)
:evil: no mil???? then all dhs would be 孙无空
Hi mummies,
I would like to check if anyone know which website to so called take the test if want to engage a maid. I am very new in this line but I can’t survive liao. I need a helper. Could someone share with me how is the procedure and which country one is better… Thanks -
go singapore poly (if i dun rem wrongly) to register and pay by credit card. they will gv u a pass word. then u take the test online.
can also take in person…
u go MOM website to chk. -
24hr-mum:
btw thinkg of getg electrolux standg cordless vacuum cleaner cos light n i hated hvg to drag a heavy mach ard. also saw a karcher electric broom. any suggestn whc better?
Go for the electrolux standing cordless vacuum (this is my 2nd coming 3rd yr and still going strong) I don't know much about the Karcher but I once had a philips electric broom and it can't sweep well. Can't pick up tiny particles. -
Eh....can't get the joke. Care to explain?24hr-mum:
................................................. best to have no mil too. (mil worse than maid)
:evil: no mil???? then all dhs would be 孙无空
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.