DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching

TREX8:
      I just thought that it was strange for RGS to send out this email to those with CO from RGS. I mean, if you have gotten a CO from RGS and wanted to go to RGS, then the idea of transfer does not apply. If you have gotten CO from other schools besides RGS and choose to forgo RGS, then again, the idea of transfer does not apply, regardless of the eventual psle T-score.

If RGS' intention is to inform parents/students that the school is not going to entertain transfer requests made if they have already accepted DSA offers from other schools but choose to appeal to RGS upon release of PSLE results, then the group in which the email was sent out to is not the correct target audience. (Of course, whether RGS is going to honour its email contents and not accept appeal from those who have already committed to another school is another issue altogether).

So I find it very strange when I received this email cos
      - seems that RGS is the only school that has sent it out (did other parents with DDs successfully DSAed to RGS also received it or am I just a \"lucky parent\"?)
      - seems like the email was sent to the wrong target group

Receiving the email is no big deal but I am just puzzled that's all??

[quote=\"TREX8\"]Checked my email after submitting DSA option online and got an email from RGS. The gist of the email is to highlight that

\"DSA is a two way commitment - schools will honour the offer made to the student and the student, should likewise, commit to the school once he/she accepted the offer. Thus schools should not accept transfer requests by DSA student solely based on PSLE results, however well these students have done in the recent PSLE.\"

This part sounds like something generic from MOE. So far, only received email from RGS, nothing from NYGH nor SOTA. Any other schools send out this letter?

Guess it could be part of MOE's directive to discourage transfers after accepting a DSA offer.

[/quote]the wordings do sound like 'template' MOE email to schools about the transfers which happens year after year. so may be this time is the 1st time MOE sends the reminder to schools

after Nov 24, we shall know

jtoh

I was thinking the same thing last night about RGS reaching the wrong target audience. But then I thought it would be odd for RGS to email students who had COs in other schools but were earlier rejected by RGS.

So I thought maybe MOE sent a reminder to all schools not to entertain transfers this year and different schools are taking their own approach to reminding students about it. RGS sends emails (albeit to the wrong audience), HCI in its principal's speech etc. The message will get around to the students to take DSA choices seriously this year. Some other schools may not bother to inform the students because this is not a new rule but something that's been stated clearly in MOE site for years.

We shall see what happens after 24 Nov.

TREX8:
        I just thought that it was strange for RGS to send out this email to those with CO from RGS. I mean, if you have gotten a CO from RGS and wanted to go to RGS, then the idea of transfer does not apply. If you have gotten CO from other schools besides RGS and choose to forgo RGS, then again, the idea of transfer does not apply, regardless of the eventual psle T-score.

If RGS' intention is to inform parents/students that the school is not going to entertain transfer requests made if they have already accepted DSA offers from other schools but choose to appeal to RGS upon release of PSLE results, then the group in which the email was sent out to is not the correct target audience. (Of course, whether RGS is going to honour its email contents and not accept appeal from those who have already committed to another school is another issue altogether).

- seems that RGS is the only school that has sent it out (did other parents with DDs successfully DSAed to RGS also received it or am I just a \"lucky parent\"?)

[quote=\"TREX8\"]Checked my email after submitting DSA option online and got an email from RGS. The gist of the email is to highlight that

\"DSA is a two way commitment - schools will honour the offer made to the student and the student, should likewise, commit to the school once he/she accepted the offer. Thus schools should not accept transfer requests by DSA student solely based on PSLE results, however well these students have done in the recent PSLE.\"

This part sounds like something generic from MOE. So far, only received email from RGS, nothing from NYGH nor SOTA. Any other schools send out this letter?

Guess it could be part of MOE's directive to discourage transfers after accepting a DSA offer.

Tinkerbelle

TREX8:

Hi Trex8,
          I also receive the 'Acceptance of Offer' email from RGS after submitting the DSA preference form online yesterday. Like you, I was surprised when I read the email. Completely agree with you that the email seems to be targeting the wrong audience.

The strangest thing was the email ended with:

We hope you will consider our offer to you carefully and we look forward to you joining the RGS family in 2012.

:scratchhead: I was thinking why do we need to consider their offer carefully when we have just submitted our preference? This statement seems more applicable before parents submit their preference online. πŸ˜‰

vlim

Tinkerbelle:
            TREX8:

Hi Trex8,
            I also receive the 'Acceptance of Offer' email from RGS after submitting the DSA preference form online yesterday. Like you, I was surprised when I read the email. Completely agree with you that the email seems to be

targeting the wrong audience.

We hope you will consider our offer to you carefully and we look forward to you joining the RGS family in 2012.

:scratchhead: I was thinking why do we need to consider their offer carefully when we have just submitted our preference? This statement seems more applicable before parents submit their preference online. πŸ˜‰

In case u change your mind ... We r allow to amend our submission from now till 28/10 for onetime only ... πŸ˜‰

Strparent

vlim:
              Tinkerbelle:

I also receive the 'Acceptance of Offer' email from RGS after submitting the DSA preference form online yesterday.

In case u change your mind ... We r allow to amend our submission from now till 28/10 for onetime only ... πŸ˜‰

vlim,
              [quote]\"DSA is a two way commitment - schools will honour the offer made to the student and the student, should likewise, commit to the school once he/she accepted the offer. Thus schools should not accept transfer requests by DSA student solely based on PSLE results, however well these students have done in the recent PSLE.\"[/quote]I think it is a diplomatic way of saying -

You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
              you have chosen us as 1st choice and we accept and reserve a spot for yr DD.
              Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun make us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor.

CloudeeDaz

Strparent:

vlim,
                I think it is a diplomatic way of saying - You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
                Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun me us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor.
                ah..... put it lidat i can undersatand oredi.. πŸ˜†

MandyMummy

CloudeeDaz:
                  Strparent:

vlim,
                  I think it is a diplomatic way of saying - You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
                  Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun me us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor.

Thanks, Strparent, lidat I oso can understand. Maybe Schools should have two sets of instructions, in Singlish and in formal English to cater to parents like me. :rotflmao:

TwaTau

Received a letter from NUSHS last week, telling us about their school achievement and also to remind us to put them as first choice. Strangely, in the same letter there was a form for us to indicate our 2nd language preference and we are to submit this form by 30 Oct 2011. Reason they gave was to facilitate them to make arrangement when the school starts in 2012. The school sure has unique logistical problem not seen in other school??

CloudeeDaz:
                      Strparent:

vlim,

actually the mahuan is on the parents who need to do some foot work

schools who give successful appeal result has a pre-printed letter, just fill in the student's name etc and there is a portion at the bottom that say the posted school agree to release the student. the posted school only need do one thing - rubber stamp with school chop and the clerk has been authorised to sign on behalf of the P.

vlim

Strparent:
                        vlim:

vlim,

In short ... 'don't play play with us' πŸ˜† ...... U want apple I give u apple. Now u got more money you want to eat dragon fruits instead ... πŸ˜‰ πŸ¦† :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 863 / 919