Maths Assessment Books

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    819 Posts 107 Posters 635.8k Views 1 Watching
      Maple leaf

chamonix:
      Maple leaf:

I thoiught the Fabian Ng's PSP and Onsponge are the toughest. I had just greceived my order on Tuesday. I flipped the P3 book and find it quite easy.
      When my P1 DS came home,I let him try.
      True enough, he took less then 10 secs to solve each question. :moneyflies:
      He says the P4 one also easy peasy. Alamark, I have yet to let him attempt but looks not so easy.
      Can anybody tell me Fabian Ng one is more challenging.
      Personally, I like onsponge layout very much.
      Is the - A* Maths topical,too? Does it has examples?
      Tks 😄

If your ds is looking for real challenges, let him try solving questions without any teaching or examples. The ultimate challenge would be to solve upper primary questions/papers with minimal teaching and guidance. 😄

My K2 daughter is working on P2 Challenging 4-in-1 Maths on her own without any help. Just one section a day. I have yet to teach her P2 maths. Neither has she mastered multiplication nor division. But she solves most of the questions using her own methods. Pretty interesting. You might want to try it out with your ds.

Have you introduced your son Murderous Maths yet? This series is my son's favourite. He's still trying to grapple with some of the concepts introduced in the books. But beware of in-depth questions. Mine asked me how to work out square root of 5 last year. He doesn't want the calculator but the details of deriving the result. :stupid:

PS: My daughter was tested in May by the authority where we are based to have achieved Sg P1 standard. That's why we are letting her do P2 Maths. A very good chance she would be tested again next year.

Hi,chamoni,

Murderous Maths did not catch DS attention. I didn't browse it but DS and DH said that \"too simple\" I was a bit diappointed. However, he was hooked on the Science series instead.
      Where are u located?How come yr DD needs to take Math proficiency tests?

I am a lazy or (busy?) mom, so I hardly have the patient to teach DS. Workbooks with examples are better. So far, I just verbally tell him what is dec. or fractions. I don't think he can do problem sums without having a rough idea what is diameter or circumference.
      Now,without any coaching,I guage his standard as doing P5 Maths normal assessment books with no problem but need guidance for challenging problem sums.
      I have actually stop letting him do any uplevel Maths since beginning of P1. Now that school holidays coming. Thought of getting him to do some work b4 he comes to bother me. He is happy when he see numbers.. 😂
      Ya, like yr DS too, will ask me that kind of square root questions.

Maple leaf

BeContented:

to make it easier for those wondering which 3 books we are referring to....
        http://i44.tinypic.com/ix8oxe.jpg\"> http://i43.tinypic.com/10oqo3t.jpg\"> http://i41.tinypic.com/54eg7c.jpg\">

According to my son, he listed them in the order of difficulty....Challenging being easiest, A*Maths hardest.
        Similar to alng, my DS has started A* in P5. Since P6 is basically a revision of P5, they only start doing it when the topic has been covered.

To be frank, DS is rather independent in his Maths, so I can be quite hands-off....guess except to gather feedback from DS, I dun have much idea too 😉

As for PSP by Fabian Ng, DS claimed easy when I asked him to flip thru', so I din buy for him. However, P4 DD's school uses it. She seems to be coping fine with it (her Maths quite OK too, but elder DS stronger). This holiday I'll be introducing the above 3 books to her as well. Probably will be able to gather some feedback from her by Mar? (Fabian vs Challenging vs Conquer vs A*).
        Tks 4 yr tips. Is the A* Maths available at Popular.?

• 2 Offline
          24hr-mum

wow, i really envy maple leaf’s DS. no need tuition. can u let him try math olympiad and see is it?

wat is murderous math?

for fabian, i know of a friend’s gal whose father finished teaching her P4 math (she is now P3), and he passed me the P3 PSP sayg too easy for her girl.

i nvr tried fabian. i only ask my p3 gal (she is 1 jan bb, so actually she is youngest in sch. so p2 age actually) try some onsponge (quite challenging for her) and sch exam pprs.

A* is for P6 only right? so can only tried when they are P5?

• 2 Offline
            24hr-mum

hi maple leaf

How does ur DS fare in eng and chinese?
            he prob is GEP calibre.

Maple leaf

plum-cake:
              Maple leaf:

I thoiught the Fabian Ng's PSP and Onsponge are the toughest. I had just greceived my order on Tuesday. I flipped the P3 book and find it quite easy.
              When my P1 DS came home,I let him try.
              True enough, he took less then 10 secs to solve each question. :moneyflies:
              He says the P4 one also easy peasy. Alamark,
              Tks 😄

wow, I guess, the school math period is going to be boring for your ds. :nailbite:

Hi,plum-cake,
              Yes, poor fella, got to bear with it.But he didn't complain. Instead, it was his younger sibling (nursey) complained that school is so boring and refused to go to school everyday claiming that already she knows all. I have to literally drag the unwilling fella up the schoolbus. Luckily, the elder one has no such problem but recently turning to gamimg now.

Maple leaf

24hr-mum:
                wow, i really envy maple leaf's DS. no need tuition. can u let him try math olympiad and see is it?

wat is murderous math?

for fabian, i know of a friend's gal whose father finished teaching her P4 math (she is now P3), and he passed me the P3 PSP sayg too easy for her girl.

i nvr tried fabian. i only ask my p3 gal (she is 1 jan bb, so actually she is youngest in sch. so p2 age actually) try some onsponge (quite challenging for her) and sch exam pprs.

A* is for P6 only right? so can only tried when they are P5?
                hi, 24hr mum,
                Murderous Math is just like a Math comics book.

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

my k2 boy also everyday say dun wanna go sch. from k1 til now. headache.

Maple leaf

24hr-mum:
                    hi maple leaf

How does ur DS fare in eng and chinese?
                    he prob is GEP calibre.
                    full marks.
                    P1 still hard to say one lah.. They say only they turned 9 yrs old then confirm smart. so GEP tested at P3.
                    Some kids' cognitive skills develop slower.

BeContented

Maple leaf:

Tks 4 yr tips. Is the A* Maths available at Popular.?
                      Hi MapleLeaf,
                      Dun think so.....think gotta order thru' them.

From the look of it, your son may be a genius in Maths. Maybe you should try to source online resources or introduce him to even more cheem stuff? My DS is just stronger in Maths as compared to other subjects, but never and will not be that good as the potential shown by your son. So you should really fuel his passion 😉 I have posted a thread asking how to stretch kids with interest and potential in Maths before, some advices received and I have extracted for your reference, see below 🙂
                      - Books by Martin Gardner
                      - Edward Zaccaro's books
                      - online resources
                      http://mathforum.org/dr/math/
                      http://www.khanacademy.org/
                      http://www.montereyinstitute.org/courses/

Guess after I have the above info, I did take a look at Edward's book, I nearly flipped and I know my son will not be keen at all....so I have left it there.....such things really need the passion to do it.

Btw, one of the top PSLE 2010 boy - Sheldon is only 11. But apparently, he has already obtained his 'O' & 'A' certs (with distinction I think) on his own accord. Perhaps we will have another 'Sheldon' :rahrah: Guess this is about all the info I know which may be helpful. All the best.

• 2 Offline
                        24hr-mum

ya i agree. tho my girl copes well when she was p1, as in all band 1, given that she is 1 yr younger than her peers as she is 1 jan bb, she has nvr scored full marks or anything close. bcos her carelessness n immaturity shows.

but to me, since maths is a subject u neednt worry, why dont u focus on his languages? languages harder to excel cos it is borderless and the answers are subjective…at the end of the day when we work, i personally think languages may be more useful…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 82

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018
                        barkhasinghB
                        barkhasingh