To migrate or not?
Hey verykiasu2010, thanks for sharing!
Yah, we won't be withdrawing our CPF money. Kekeke...need Plan B to fall back on just in case. 
it is not difficult to obtain PR in OZ, US, Canada & NZ at this point in time
some civil servants also hold multiple PRs - useful when the kids are at uni-going age -
hi shine,
congratulations on your aust pr.
and now the headache :evil: go or stay.
i dont know much about australia so no comments.
but if we go, we would keep the house in spore to generate income. also i know i wont be homeless if things dont work out in aust (goodness know how much a flat is gonna cost in the future).
going there with not much $$$ might not necessarily be a bad thing if you are able to find a job quickly or at least have some $$$ to survive for some months. also check out the benefits aust pr are entitled to and see if it could help you to cope. nothing shameful about applying for benefits if you cant cope.
i have friends who moved to other countries and they are happy. it depends on your mindset and the community you are living in.
but if you moving to aust and your kids are boys, please dont forget they have to come back to do ns. and if you are going to give up your singapore citizenship, pls make sure all the paperworks are done properly especially those for your boys. ns issue will be a major problem if paperworks are not done properly.
sometimes, if you never try, you never know.
best wishes. -
So envy... how they get hold multiple PRs?it is not difficult to obtain PR in OZ, US, Canada & NZ at this point in time
some civil servants also hold multiple PRs - useful when the kids are at uni-going age -
Hi LOLMum, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I'm tempted by your last statement to just go...
sometimes, if you never try, you never know.
best wishes.
and BTW, we've got only girls, so no NS issue.
Unfortunately, kids' age still too far from uni age and our PR can't last us till then if we don't go over. When children reach uni age, we'll be too old to apply and penniless to get approval. :sad:it is not difficult to obtain PR in OZ, US, Canada & NZ at this point in time
Oppsgal:
some countries grant PR without minimum period of residency
So envy... how they get hold multiple PRs?verykiasu2010:
some civil servants also hold multiple PRs - useful when the kids are at uni-going age
some allow longer time frame to satisfy the residency period
I find canada's most generous in cash terms -
shine:
it can be the other way round - kids get into uni there, get PR upon graduation and sponsor your PR there ....
Unfortunately, kids' age still too far from uni age and our PR can't last us till then if we don't go over. When children reach uni age, we'll be too old to apply and penniless to get approval. :sad:verykiasu2010:
it can be the other way round - kids get into uni there, get PR upon graduation and sponsor your PR there ....[/quote]Hee, by that time we old folks no need PR liao loh... Mainly for children lah...Uni fees for international students expensive leh...Children not smart enough to get scholarship mah...
Unfortunately, kids' age still too far from uni age and our PR can't last us till then if we don't go over. When children reach uni age, we'll be too old to apply and penniless to get approval. :sad:shine:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]it is not difficult to obtain PR in OZ, US, Canada & NZ at this point in time
some civil servants also hold multiple PRs - useful when the kids are at uni-going age
shine:
Australia was the only country spared of the last financial crisis and currency/economy has remained strong. Being a big country, it is much less affected by global crisis, unlike Singapore. For Singapore, it seems a little ripple elsewhere might turn out to be big waves here.
It is not true in some sense. I guess you really need to understand why OZ in some period was spared as this was only a temporary affair. The reason why it was spared is because they are supplying natural resources to China then booming industrialization. Now that China in the past months have been slowing down due to near-bubble-burst property, and you would have noticed that OZ $ is no longer that strong.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.