Maths Assessment Books

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    819 Posts 107 Posters 636.5k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      optimistforum

Interestingly, my P3 sons finds the EPH Challenging Maths difficult. Stranegleyt, when in UK Year 3 (or your P2), he struggled through the P2 books. I was later told by a tutor that some of his Year 5 (P4)_ students found those questions difficult.

I therefore rate these books as one to use.

My DS2 (Uk Y2 and MOE P1) uses EPH Step by Step Maths P1, and this is brilliant).

SAHM_TAN

Maple leaf:

They mean that we are not financially well off to provide the material possesions be it gadgets or enrichments or overseas travelling that are eye-opening for the kids.They meant other family can provide both love and the above lah.
        For me, I only feel that both DH and I are not smart. Lots of time cannot answer his questions instantly.Pity DS cannot gain lots of knowledge from us. :smile
        Cannot googlle, they will urge me to get him an ipad2 for this reason.
        Not easy to be parents these days.
        It's nice to have those things but locally many places to gain knowledge as well, like museums, bks, zoo, science centre, special exhibitions etc. I think as parents we do not need to give them all the answers, we just need to let them know how to find the answers.

It is never easy, being a parent. I just follow my gut.

:offtopic: must get back to math assessment type content ๐Ÿ˜‰

metz

Maple leaf:

Hi,chamonix,
          Wow.. You are such a diligent mom. Not only research the books and also got them for yr DS. That's a handful of them. :yikes:
          Hope have time to find them . :thankyou:

How old is yr son? How come u stop the Math Hub classes?
          My DS has transferred out of BTPS last term cos' school is too far.
          Are u still letting yr DS do Maths Olympiad?
          oic, your son has been transferred out. Yes, school distance is a consideration when kids are still young.

Diligent isn't quite the word. Just a few clicks here and there, and the books would appear at my doorstep within weeks, haha. Buying books online has become a pastime since we live abroad most of the time. :moneyflies:

As for research, I wouldn't know where to start from. But thanks to another forum, I came to know about these books. There were a few mothers with maths whizz kids there and I benefitted a lot from their sharing.

He's P2, formerly from BTPS too. We couldn't wait for the Olympiad class with Maths Hub as we were preparing to leave Sg in a few months then. Hope you'll find something suitable soon to keep your ds busy. ๐Ÿ˜„

• 2 Offline
            24hr-mum

hi maple leaf

i knew my #1 was gonna so called skip year cos she is 1 jan bb, so i started her on readg early. she can read a to z at 2, and simple bks at 3 both eng n ch. till now she is still a bookworm.
            but i realise its actually no gd to be able to skip level, cos while she can cope wf p3 work tho she is only 8, it will be challenging to want her to excel or be at the top 5-10 or even 20% cos her maturity and logic hasnt set in yet as compared to her peers. this shows in comprehension, compo and math. she has to work harder than the rest. ie i must worker hard too to "nurture" her. stressful.
            i didnt think of it and just conveniently follow the MOE guideline of 2 jan - 1 jan (of following year) to be one cohort. i alwaz comfort myslf to see as 32 Dec bb๏ผŒhee

i m surprised ur DS grammar needs to be brushed up cos i thot must be a careful person then can excel in math. so a careful person shd also do well in grammar becos u need to be mindful and careful or rather, meticulous abt the rules and details in the language phrasing. my DD isnt the meticulous sort, so she suffers for grammar and math and daily routine - must remind her every day the the routine things she has been doing since p1 ๏ผš eg pack $, take out water btl, pack uniform, pack bks, write tidier, etc etc. bring bus card when gg out wf meโ€ฆcan stil forget to bring back hmwk to doโ€ฆsorry for being off topic

metz

:offtopic:

I think the most important method to nurture a child is thru' love. A child will bloosom very well in the warmth of a loving family.
              :goodpost:

Ok, back to assessment books. Do you find doing Maths assessment books really help your children? 2 tutor-friends have advised me that assessment books don't really help. Very often, their tutees are able to perform when doing assessment books. But the same performance does not show their results. A case of not enough practice?

metz

24hr-mum:
                hi maple leaf

i knew my #1 was gonna so called skip year cos she is 1 jan bb, so i started her on readg early. she can read a to z at 2, and simple bks at 3 both eng n ch. till now she is still a bookworm.
                but i realise its actually no gd to be able to skip level, cos while she can cope wf p3 work tho she is only 8, it will be challenging to want her to excel or be at the top 5-10 or even 20% cos her maturity and logic hasnt set in yet as compared to her peers. this shows in comprehension, compo and math. she has to work harder than the rest. ie i must worker hard too to \"nurture\" her. stressful.
                i didnt think of it and just conveniently follow the MOE guideline of 2 jan - 1 jan (of following year) to be one cohort. i alwaz comfort myslf to see as 32 Dec bb๏ผŒhee
                32 Dec bb?

My niece is also a year-end child, 27 Dec. Likewise, my sister also feels her daughter lacks in maturity and questions herself if she has done enough for dd. Frankly, I think my niece and your dd has done very well. So, give yourself a good pat on the shoulder. You mommies have done a very good job! ๐Ÿ˜„

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

it depends what are assessment bks are being used, whether it matches sch standards and the needs of the child, whether is it too easy or too tough. and whether the parent goes thru the answers and corrections after the child has done the assessment . my DH will ask my boy to do but he nvr check the answers ๐Ÿ˜ž

i feel must also complement wf sch exam pprs cos that is the real standard tested in sch...

BeContented

chamonix:
                    24hr-mum:

hi maple leaf

but i realise its actually no gd to be able to skip level, cos while she can cope wf p3 work tho she is only 8, it will be challenging to want her to excel or be at the top 5-10 or even 20% cos her maturity and logic hasnt set in yet as compared to her peers. this shows in comprehension, compo and math. she has to work harder than the rest. ie i must worker hard too to \"nurture\" her. stressful.

32 Dec bb?

My niece is also a year-end child, 27 Dec. Likewise, my sister also feels her daughter lacks in maturity and questions herself if she has done enough for dd. Frankly, I think my niece and your dd has done very well. So, give yourself a good pat on the shoulder. You mommies have done a very good job! ๐Ÿ˜„

Dun worry too much.....only the beginning they lag behind.....in time to come, they should catch up as long as they are not being neglected ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a 31Dec DD....her EDD was ~18Jan but since I was advised to CS, she was 'kicked out of her home' 2.5 weeks early lah. Initially xiong, and it's also because of her I became a SAHM when she was due for P1. She is doing not too bad so far.....only problem is people may find her '่€ cute' still, but what to do...big size but actually much much younger than the rest ๐Ÿ˜‰

BeContented

Maple leaf:

Hi,BeContented,
                      How old is yr son? My DS is also only stronger in Maths. So cannot be PSLE top student lah. Sheldon's mom is a PHD holder while I am not. :scared:
                      But come to think of it, if DS can do challenging P1 Maths by K1.( no guidance), and can understand P3 Maths then, I could have provided him the right resources to reach PSLE level by P1. Subsequently, groom him like Sheldon. ๐Ÿ˜†
                      But I am not breve enuff. I dunno if it is right to accelerate DS or not. Then he will be very different from other kids. But after reading Sheldon's story, it seems like he is doing fine in all aspects. I guess I will take it easy and let him do it at his own pace.
                      I didn't know there is so many resources available. Tks for sharing. ๐Ÿ˜„
                      My parents and even a close relative said that DS is very unfortunate to born in my family(DH and me) cos' we didn't nurture him well, and that he will be better off in another family . :yikes:
                      ๐Ÿ˜‚
                      And they are serious. :yikes:
                      Hi MapleLeaf,
                      Ignore that relative, everything is give & take.....academic success is not everything, I'm sure your son is happy with you ๐Ÿ™‚

My DS will be P6 next year. I started with only knowing he seems interested in Maths and have a flair in it....also didn't nurture him, only letting him do assessment book 1 level up since P1. It was only when he was selected for HA Maths and sch sent him for NMOS then I sit up and decided to let him attend the Maths Hub programme and end of P4. Maybe he can do better if we push/groom him more, but similar to you, the other subjects so so. Hence we just let him pursue it as a hobby/passion. Eventually, the child must show the desire, if they are really keen and ask for it, as parents we will definitely try to provide.
                      Your son still got a lot of time....perhaps you can just borrow some books, visit some websites and see if he latches on.....who knows, he might one day ask for more ๐Ÿ™‚ For me, when DS saw the Murderous Maths, magazines - Maths Venture/Maths Oasis, he asked for them....so I provide. As for the resources I mentioned.... :oops: sorry, I flip one book nearly faint, then I stopped liao. Didn't even visit those websites.....maybe I should but think better let DS concentrate on his PSLE first.

metz

Maple leaf:

:offtopic:

I think the most important method to nurture a child is thru' love. A child will bloosom very well in the warmth of a loving family.

They mean that we are not financially well off to provide the material possesions be it gadgets or enrichments or overseas travelling that are eye-opening for the kids.They meant other family can provide both love and the above lah.

For me, I only feel that both DH and I are not smart. Lots of time cannot answer his questions instantly.Pity DS cannot gain lots of knowledge from us. :smile
                        Cannot googlle, they will urge me to get him an ipad2 for this reason.
                        Not easy to be parents these days.

For us, we just direct the kids to books. Sg has very good libraries well-stocked with books and resources. Perhaps you can start from there to satisfy your ds's thirst for knowledge? They have a section on documentary shows too.

When we were back in Sg, the furthest we went on holiday was Genting.
                        Like that, we also never 'nurture' our kids? :scratchhead: Don't think 'nurturing' works that way...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 23 / 82

alfredchengA
                        alfredcheng