All About Montessori
For now, you mean to the ends of Singapore bah?

Hi buds,
now yes, when they are older, who knows
Hi Budscantbearit2:
Buds has been an inspiration in all e Montessori threads. :salute: I have learnt a few tips fr her...
I've purchased from them before so i observed the price hikes are quite substantial. Plus some of their items are also China made. Some China made ones are pretty much ok if you aren't fussy and if it's meant for homeschool. There are different quality grades between the different companies/manufacturers.
As for more extensive parent-programmes, i will keep you in the loop cantbearit2.. I really got sooo many requests.
So i supposed it'd be good to put into action. Only thing is i will only cater for closed-group only... no big-scale. To buds' kakis... we'll keep in touch. 
I hope you can keep me in the loop too as I would like to learn more about the Montessori methods as well.
I have just purchased some Montessori materials from Right To Learn
and the quality is as good as the once that I ordered from USA as well as price is also reasonable as I save on the huge shipping charges from USA.
The China ones are mostly the smaller size ones that are made in China which I did not buy as not real size as the original Montessori materials.
Let me know when you plan to start and what courses are you planning please ! -
Nope... not true, China-made and Thai-made ones are comparable if not better than some I've bought from enrighten or right2learn or whatever it is they call it now. I purchased from direct distributor. Similar specifications if not exactly the same, but again who cares since I'm not exactly running a centre or franchise chain, so no biggie. No shipping cost incurred. Value for money. Excellent quality. The miniature versions are from those family kits they come in as a bundle, well yeah, still ok for parents intending to homeschool / for personal home use. From your postings I do understand you are very much pro-enrighten products cause most, if not all your postings in diff threads within the forum seem to be highly recommending them... either products or workshop of sorts... almost like promoting / doing sales which made me think you were their sales rep... or mebbe owner *gasp*... (that's only me n my sense of perception talking)
... but it is really a matter of preference for us parents especially stay home mothers who may not have the financial resources like working mothers may have. Hence my sharings in this forum have always been to benefit all parents in general with options to either purchase materials or DIY them and with pointers on how they CAN guide their own children at home with aid of clear lesson plans and ideas at no cost. I assume you know pretty much everything since you've attended all enrighten's workshops or programmes n worked on what you've learnt with the many stuffs you've bought to date. You did also mention that you found the presentations enough n comparable to someone doing the Dip itself in one of your replies to a parent here. Hence I honestly find you're already quite the expert for a parent who's only looking to teach own children. 
products or workshop of sorts... almost like promoting / doing sales which made me think you were their sales rep... or mebbe owner *gasp*... (that's only me n my sense of perception talking)
... but it is really a matter of preference for us parents especially stay home mothers who may not have the financial resources like working mothers may have. Hence my sharings in this forum have always been to benefit all parents in general with options to either purchase materials or DIY them and with pointers on how they CAN guide their own children at home with aid of clear lesson plans and ideas at no cost. I assume you know pretty much everything since you've attended all enrighten's workshops or programmes n worked on what you've learnt with the many stuffs you've bought to date. You did also mention that you found the presentations enough n comparable to someone doing the Dip itself in one of your replies to a parent here. Hence I honestly find you're already quite the expert for a parent who's only looking to teach own children. 
Hey Buds
No lah .. I am not their sales rep or anything like that! I am just a mother with 2 kids trying her best to save money and homeschooling my kids.
I only attended the intro and the maths workshop ( not all)
The phonics I learn from your various post and also thru the web and reading books - so I don't think I am an expert yet. You are the expert that is why I want to join u and learn from you as well! -
I seem to have also read your enrighten recommendation in other forums as well.. :evil: So, it's not entirely incorrect to presume you might be a sales rep isn't it?

Sorry arh.. you mentioned you wanted to save $ by homeschooling your two kiddies. I'm just a little confused here cos you indicated in your profile that your elder child (boy) was born Apr 2000, which makes him 11yrs old oredi and should be doing psle nx year and your younger (girl) is a May 2005 baby which makes her already in K2... :scratchhead: I'm sure she should already have completed all aspects of the English Language isn't it? So when you say you homeschool your children... do you mean to share that you homeschool / will homeschool both of them all through primary school education? :scratchhead: Bbbb.... bbbuut.... you shared very recently that you have purchased the Ants On The Apple book from enrighten a couple of posts back? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=606044#p606044. Can't be that you're in the process of only teaching single letter sounds to your daughter right? She's gonna be in P1 nx yr correct?
I do have lao hua yen so i initially thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.. :?
Btw, i have strongly emphasized that i am no expert. Never was and never will be. All that i have shared are based on genuine sharings of my teaching journey and also my personal experiences as a parent. Since i have been on both sides of the fence (educator and parent), i can try to rationalize and as much as possible... or run through certain grey areas parents may have doubts with; pertaining to education in general or the Montessori Method of Education. -
Hi all,
erm... can i seek for advise? Im wished to ask if those Montessori phonics and maths enrichment lessons conducted by normal childcare (non-montessori) are equally good as compare to those Montessori Enrichment centres? TIA
Nope. I doubt so. Because most of them aren't full-fledged Montessorians. Attending one or two crash courses or workshops of sorts does not make one a Montessorian at all. It takes a very long time to understand, to live and breathe the Montessori experience for an educator herself before imparting all that knowledge, experience and patience to see through the programme with conviction to the children. Unless perhaps a full-fledged Montessorian is only running the enrichment part in that normal childcare then perhaps it can be possible that it can be of relatively comparable quality bah.
As for IF a parent were to ask if a Montessori childcare and a Montessori enrichment centre were to provide / offer comparable quality of those two subject enrichment lessons... Hmmm... Equally good? :scratchhead:
They're exactly the same.. well they should be. The only difference is that childcare hours run from 7-7pm for full day or 7-1pm for half day, which means that the timetable can be dragged to schedule Maths can either be everyday or alternate days where the same curriculum is taught to the children. Just a matter of enrichment may finish faster (not equating to children understanding it faster or better though). But childcare set-up children get more practice... more hands-on... more concrete foundation.
For enrichment programme is usually for those children who are not in any childcare or even kindergarten or/and aren't in a Montessori kindergarten or childcare set-up and the current kindergarten/childcare they are attending does not really prepare Mathematics foundation that well as compared to the Montessori Math. They attend weekly classes of 1hr or 1.5hrs in a span of saaaayyyy... 1yr to 1.5yrs to finish an entire programme, unlike children in a Montessori environment who may get hands-on experience on a daily basis or on alternate days when scheduled in between getting to get the other wholesome / holistic areas of the Montessori Method like grace and courtesy, music appreciation, art, geography, cultural studies, practical life and soo many more!
Did i just confuse you more? :oops: -
Hi Buds, have u heard about the Montessori enrichment by BARKER ROAD METHODIST KINDERGARTEN. it is held for 3 hrs Mon-Fri. I just wonder whether it will be well equipped w Montessori curriculumn.
Buds, u R back!!!
Just read this and saw your PM as well. Will reply to you shortly..
Thank you for dropping your note & appreciating my work / sharings.
You certainly made my day, cantbearit2! :snuggles:
Yes, Montessori offers non-threatening.. non-pressurizing learning environment at yours and your child's comfortable pace. Yes as well to some materials being more worth to purchase than DIY especially if you're looking to teach more than one child. However, i find the pricing for enrighten products have seen a hike over the years. Hence i prefer to look for other options wherever possible. I've purchased from them before so i observed the price hikes are quite substantial. Plus some of their items are also China made. Some China made ones are pretty much ok if you aren't fussy and if it's meant for homeschool. There are different quality grades between the different companies/manufacturers.
As for more extensive parent-programmes, i will keep you in the loop cantbearit2.. I really got sooo many requests.
So i supposed it'd be good to put into action. Only thing is i will only cater for closed-group only... no big-scale. To buds' kakis... we'll keep in touch. 
Yes!!!! Pleeeeease keep me in e loop. :thankyou:
I have no lobang to buy reasonably price items but yet in a hurry to teach my DD2. thus I bought quite a few thgs fr enrighten too. Actually I did some comparison on e pricing but unfortunately i can't compare e quality as i have not ordered fr overseas yet.
Thru e current workshop, a lot of us mummies r scouring e internet to do some comparison. Esp for e more ex items like the golden beads.
:moneyflies: Sad to say, tis is e MOST IMPORTANT maths material to me so have to spend a bit.
We mummies r consolidating our requirements & have not ordered yet.
As for e price hike in Enrighten, i have no basis to compare too since I only started buying fr not so long ago. :scratchhead:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.