All About Montessori
I'm no expert but like to search internet.
I once came across a blog or site by an overseas mummy who made her own golden beads. It can be done. It's like doing beading but use sturdier wire.
May I know how much does a maths workshop cost? Thanks
I thought the shop has a cheaper China made version of the beads? The colour of the beads is more yellow than golden. -
Err....I have DIY quite a no. of stuff for phonics (& still doing). Dun tink I still have time 4 maths DIY.I'm no expert but like to search internet.
I once came across a blog or site by an overseas mummy who made her own golden beads. It can be done. It's like doing beading but use sturdier wire.
May I know how much does a maths workshop cost? Thanks
As for e maths workshop, I tink it is ard $400 plus. As i've paid for it quite some time ago, i can't remember e exact amt. :oops: U may wish to keep a lookout for e workshop next yr.
cantbearit2:
I can't make it for the workshop, timing not right and bb with me. I was just trying to make a comparison of the cost for that and teaching manual. Thanks
Err....I have DIY quite a no. of stuff for phonics (& still doing). Dun tink I still have time 4 maths DIY.
As for e maths workshop, I tink it is ard $400 plus. As i've paid for it quite some time ago, i can't remember e exact amt. :oops: U may wish to keep a lookout for e workshop next yr.
LOL . :xedfingers: .. Buds you are really getting serious! The Ants on Apple Book was for a gift ... and my daughter has completed the single sounds but still not that good at reading lah.. Still need to do a lot of work with her.I seem to have also read your enrighten recommendation in other forums as well.. :evil: So, it's not entirely incorrect to presume you might be a sales rep isn't it?

Sorry arh.. you mentioned you wanted to save $ by homeschooling your two kiddies. I'm just a little confused here cos you indicated in your profile that your elder child (boy) was born Apr 2000, which makes him 11yrs old oredi and should be doing psle nx year and your younger (girl) is a May 2005 baby which makes her already in K2... :scratchhead: I'm sure she should already have completed all aspects of the English Language isn't it? So when you say you homeschool your children... do you mean to share that you homeschool / will homeschool both of them all through primary school education? :scratchhead: Bbbb.... bbbuut.... you shared very recently that you have purchased the Ants On The Apple book from enrighten a couple of posts back? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=606044#p606044. Can't be that you're in the process of only teaching single letter sounds to your daughter right? She's gonna be in P1 nx yr correct?
I do have lao hua yen so i initially thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.. :?
Btw, i have strongly emphasized that i am no expert. Never was and never will be. All that i have shared are based on genuine sharings of my teaching journey and also my personal experiences as a parent. Since i have been on both sides of the fence (educator and parent), i can try to rationalize and as much as possible... or run through certain grey areas parents may have doubts with; pertaining to education in general or the Montessori Method of Education.
I am not fully homeschooling but actually jsut supplementing at home only ... but still onsider myself a long way away ... Please I don't want to be in your bad books!
cantbearit2:
Buds, u R back!!!
Dun get too excited. I happened to have some time.. tts abt it.
Plus all the sweet PMs & messages i've been receiving from u
guys here really make me miss all of you. :love:cantbearit2:
You ARE definitely in the loop babe.Yes!!!! Pleeeeease keep me in e loop. :thankyou:

Will keep you posted okie?cantbearit2:
MOST IMPORTANT?I have no lobang to buy reasonably price items but yet in a hurry to teach my DD2. thus I bought quite a few thgs fr enrighten too. Actually I did some comparison on e pricing but unfortunately i can't compare e quality as i have not ordered fr overseas yet. Thru e current workshop, a lot of us mummies r scouring e internet to do some comparison. Esp for e more ex items like the golden beads.
:moneyflies: Sad to say, tis is e MOST IMPORTANT maths material to me so have to spend a bit.
We mummies r consolidating our requirements & have not ordered yet.
In a hurry? :frustrated:
Dun fret. I'm coming to your rescue now. :hugs:
Here are other quick alternatives. :imanangel:
Here's the link for the base ten set from Growing Fun. Best bargain, babe. $29.90 nia!
http://www.growingfun.com/product_details.cgi?PROD_ID=600
The operations felt mat is also quite expensive.
http://www.bambini-montessori.com/price_list.htm
You can DIY, you can purchase a thick green felt material & line
your columns with fabric paint, big enough to work the base ten set
from Growing Fun. The thicker ones at Spotlight can work fine too cept'
won't be able to roll it oni.
Here's another link of a set of blue linking base ten starter set
from The Learning Store for $66.90.
http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=874
You can buy from here too. They have a membership account with
KiasuParents as well. Their nick is the name of their store.
http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=1756 -
I thought the shop has a cheaper China made version of the beads? The colour of the beads is more yellow than golden.
Which shop? Enrighten's wan oso yellow. Montessori beads of poor quality have sharp finish at certain edges. Watch out for those. I dun quite fancy those with the wires sticking out on both ends. Looks unsightly especially for the thousand cube but of course still can use laa. I have the Growing Fun base ten set, the actual golden beads and also the wooden ones. Kiasu anot arh?
I have a serious fetish. Buying too many materials.
But they are sooo good & i love all of them. :please:
Serious problem hor. -
Hi there,
I noticed you visited Whitelodge. Did you like the school? I am thinking about sending my 18 months old there but not sure if it is a good choice. Hope to hear some thoughts from you. -
Hi buds,
The shop is enrighten lor. I did not get becos my fingers did not like the feel........
I know it's silly and I will suffer aching fingers...........I did not buy the foam sheet to make LMA......
It's my itchy, curious fingers' fault. I went to purchase it, then the itchy, curious fingers had to peel open the plastic, very carefully, and touch the foam. The fingers sent msg to brain that they did not like the feel,
the brain command the feet to walk away.... :faint: I sealed the package to the original state.
I wandered to the paper section and found coloured hard cardboard. My fingers fingered the board and think it felt like thin wood and liked the finish on the board..........sent signal to brain and brain decide to select one to try................. :faint: paper from wood mah :rotflmao:
But since the cardboard rather thick and \"solid\" , I went to buy a pair of big scissors :faint:
so silly and itchy backside right?? -
I can't make it for the workshop, timing not right and bb with me. I was just trying to make a comparison of the cost for that and teaching manual. Thanks
Hee...IM getting e manuals online too. Couldn't resist cos there's botany, zoology, maths, language etc....
:thankyou: U're a gem!!!
Dun get too excited. I happened to have some time.. tts abt it.
Plus all the sweet PMs & messages i've been receiving from u
guys here really make me miss all of you. :love:
You ARE definitely in the loop babe.
Will keep you posted okie?
MOST IMPORTANT?
In a hurry? :frustrated:
Dun fret. I'm coming to your rescue now. :hugs:
Here are other quick alternatives. :imanangel:
Here's the link for the base ten set from Growing Fun. Best bargain, babe. $29.90 nia!
http://www.growingfun.com/product_details.cgi?PROD_ID=600
The operations felt mat is also quite expensive.
http://www.bambini-montessori.com/price_list.htm
You can DIY, you can purchase a thick green felt material & line
your columns with fabric paint, big enough to work the base ten set
from Growing Fun. The thicker ones at Spotlight can work fine too cept'
won't be able to roll it oni.
Here's another link of a set of blue linking base ten starter set
from The Learning Store for $66.90.
http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=874
You can buy from here too. They have a membership account with
KiasuParents as well. Their nick is the name of their store.
http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=1756
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.