Apply HDB New Flat Income > $8,000, Can Appeal?

91 Posts 16 Posters 33.5k Views 1 Watching
    • qmsQ Offline
      qms

smurf:
      I dun think it's only just $670. currently, we are paying around $800 cash for a house which cost around 480k. imagine a 700k house??

Hi smurf!

$670 is just an estimate. The actual amount depends on the age group of the couple, because the age group determines how many percentage of the 34.5% CPF contribution goes towards Ordinary/Special/Medisave accounts.

Like what jedamum said, the final amount is also dependent on the loan amount and tenure. If I am not wrong, you are not taking up a 30-year loan, right?

• qmsQ Offline
        qms

winth:
        We bought a more than 20 year old flat at a high premium. It was announced for SERs, my ILs made the loudest noise cos it was 45K COV for that run-down place.

Flats that have been earmarked for SERs are definitely more worth it. In fact, you got a good deal by just paying $45k COV. For SERs flats, buyers are usually willing to pay much more than that.

Perhaps Titank would like to look for flats with SERs potential? However, it is anybody's guess whether the flats will eventually go through SERs.

smurf

smurf:

...there are many other cost involved too. stamp duty, agent fee, lawyer fee, renovation cost, interests, so its not only 700k. Interest rate is the hefty one.

Actually, the cost estimates above have already taken into consideration stamp duties, etc. Agent fee? There is no agent fee if you buy direct from HDB, right? Maybe I forgot to indicate this. The calculation was made assuming the couple bought the flat directly from HDB.

think stamp duty is paid separately if I remember correctly. ya, no agent fee if buy directly from HDB.:)

smurf

smurf:

I dun think it's only just $670. currently, we are paying around $800 cash for a house which cost around 480k. imagine a 700k house??

Hi smurf!

$670 is just an estimate. The actual amount depends on the age group of the couple, because the age group determines how many percentage of the 34.5% CPF contribution goes towards Ordinary/Special/Medisave accounts.

Like what jedamum said, the final amount is also dependent on the loan amount and tenure. If I am not wrong, you are not taking up a 30-year loan, right?

we are taking slightly shorter than 30 yr loan, but still $800 is a lot to pay. can u imagine your CPF all wipe out and still have to fork out cash, plus, it doesn't include renovation and stamp duty? also, you dun have any CPF UNTIL the loan are all paid up? and then when old, no CPF? šŸ˜›

• qmsQ Offline
              qms

smurf:
              think stamp duty is paid separately if I remember correctly. ya, no agent fee if buy directly from HDB.:)

Hi Smurf!

Stamp duty has already been taken into consideration in the calculation, regardless what mode you pay.

smurf

is it? I remember when I paid, it wasn't leh. maybe need to ask lawyer again. :?

smurf

winth:

We bought a more than 20 year old flat at a high premium. It was announced for SERs, my ILs made the loudest noise cos it was 45K COV for that run-down place.

Flats that have been earmarked for SERs are definitely more worth it. In fact, you got a good deal by just paying $45k COV. For SERs flats, buyers are usually willing to pay much more than that.

Perhaps Titank would like to look for flats with SERs potential? However, it is anybody's guess whether the flats will eventually go through SERs.

how to know if a certain block is SERs? :?

• qmsQ Offline
                    qms

smurf:
                    how to know if a certain block is SERs? :?

It is usually announced to the press. However, by then, you will need to pay a premium to buy a flat. There will also be a sudden surge of sellers.

If you want to buy a flat before any announcement is made (at the risk that the place may not get en-bloc eventually, of course), you have to be familiar with the area. Usually, the old flats are the ones slated for en-bloc. Next, you need to look at the buildings. If the flats are old, and the structures are such that main upgrading (e.g. the type where a small room will be added) is not possible, possibility of en-bloc will be higher, too, etc etc.

Above are just my own observation on the flats that have been announced for en-bloc so far, so please don't hold me responsible. šŸ˜‰ :siam:

hquek

btw, flats already announced for SERS come with own set of criteria. Buyer must not own pte property, must not have combined income more than 8K. Link to their criteria below:

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10220p.nsf/WPDis/Selective%20En%20bloc%20Redevelopment%20Scheme%20%28e-SERS%29Policies%20-%20Buying%20a%20Resale%20Flat%20Announced%20Under%20SERS?OpenDocument

If you are high income/pte property owner who already own a flat BEFORE announcement, it's ok - you'll be entitled to the replacement. But if you have not owned it, then cannot buy.

Oh, if you want to tikam to get an old flat, consider also the surroundings if there is possibility of going SERS. if they cannot redevelop, likelihood is lower.

winth:

Now, the value has doubled.
                        now we know who are the rich ones around here...:evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 10