[Fun Poll] How satisfied are u with ur child(ren) results?

317 Posts 55 Posters 57.4k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      ZacK

BigDevil:
      Busymom:

BigD, as usual, you are the mata who can read between the lines or just think more than the rest of us?

Kekeke...if you had only posted the question and asked for answer, I would have said teddy bear and toy car.

But since you talked about how your DD got back 2 points she originally lost, I figured there must be an ambiguity in the question lor. šŸ˜„

Hahaha.... I think the school should award both sets of answers correct.... Maybe I was just putting on my primary school level thinking cap or maybe I have always had my primary school level thinking cap on :oops: ... Taking things quite simplistically :scared:

Busymom:

To not go :offtopic: I hereby vote for - \"Happy, better than expected..\" :love: For without tuition, hey DD1 didn't fail. šŸ˜‚ Phew!

Later evening will see DD2's report. šŸ™

:congrats: in advance!

Sure it will be better than alright! :rahrah:

Wow Busymom! You must've got a super crystal ball!
        It WAS definitely waaaayyy more than awrite for DD2!
        :love:

DD2 topped her class for English and came in second (by 1 mark) for Maths.
        She was also ranked 1st in class and was streamed to the creamest class for next year's P3. :please:

This angelic mischievous lil monkey of mine came back with a slight pout and sad eyes and said to me, \"Mom, i have something to tell you. U ready anot?\" I gulped a bit first then put an arm around her shoulder and said yes. Then she screamed, \"I GOT INTO THE 1ST CLASS!!!!!\" When i asked how she knew, she said her frenz were all excited over her report book and screamed too. She was the only one who got in. Due to all that class allocation excitement, she didn't even know or realize the school indicated class position for year end results - that's when she asked, \"How'd you know abt class position... where is it stated in the report book...?\" :roll: Blur. šŸ˜†

I casually ehemm... mentioned to hubs abt my having met all KPIs this year.. :rotflmao:

He gemme a corner grin and quipped, \"So uhh.. meaning PB get A issit?\" :evil:

Duh. :slapshead: Aberden. :roll:

Gave him his first son.. check. :idea:
          Settle home affairs with little intervention from him.. check. :idea:
          Cooking, cleaning, washing, ironing, other obedient wifey \"duties\"... check. :idea:
          Caring for the children & minding their studies without tuition & his extra $... check! :idea:

Soooo..... :rubhands:

Chenonceau

She was also ranked 1st in class and was streamed to the creamest class for next year's P3. :please:

:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

Oh yeh! This mommy didn't have to lift a finger to cook or clean the last couple of days. What a great break! Watched a lot of tv/movies with hubs as well. Went shopping. Spent time with gramps. Or just do nothing. šŸ˜‰ Gonna take time to chillax n rejuvenate before even looking thru next year's materials.

:boogie:

I'm very happy not only cos they did very well in their studies, as I've always believed life is never and should never be just about academics. There were plenty to read n reflect in their reports which stated how their teachers n frenz could count on their leadership n friendship.. that they were responsible kids with neat work which amplified how they take pride in the things they do.. how polite/respectful they were for authoritative figures and seniors.. etc..

Good reports aside, despite their busy schedule... my two girls also help out with the housework n the baby on a daily basis. Hubs too. :love: Guess I don't really have that much to complain about being a SAHP. Because we don't have a helper, each one of us has a role to play n individual responsibilities. It takes the unnecessary stress away so that we can all stay sane n happy. Being bogged down with stuff can make home relations unpleasant for adults and children alike. At times, we just decide to drop everything n do nothing. šŸ˜‰

It was nice to receive pleasant surprise texts from both their teachers saying, \"Your daughter is such a joy to teach..\" :please: Now that had me smiling in my sleep for I am thankful for them being the good kids they are. :love: DD2 (shockingly!) once again received the most well-behaved award for final term. Quite perplexed, I remember inquiring how she was even considered for the award in the first place for no one would believe me what a hyper non-stop-talking mischievous lil monkey she is! I was then informed that as she was usually quite quick with her work, she would help her peers in need which also included a special needs child who took extremely long to grasp concepts. The teacher applauded her patience and resilience for even when the child gave her a hard time, she thought of other ways to help her understand. The teacher admitted she didn't have the patience n that DD2 was truly something.

I asked DD2 about it. First thing she asked was how I knew abt it (she never told me!).. After sharing what her teacher confided in me she opened up n said she felt for her friend. I asked how she managed esp when the fren did give her a hard time. DD2 replied, \"I learnt from u mom. I remember u saying if at first we don't succeed try another way. You were very patient with us, so like your style.. I just wanted to make it fun for her n wanted to help her understand, so she could finish her work. It was challenging sometimes. Teacher would get fed up with her at times n poor thing she always got scolding. I really tried. Tried the best I could mom. Sometimes it worked sometimes it didn't as the girl forgets easily n wud give up. She didn't always remember I was nice to her too but it's ok. Felt good to help.\"

Did time fly by so fast? For my lil chimp has grown up so much.

And my lil jie has come a long way (a decade long) from the sickly premature baby I lost sleep over to the healthy n the more confident her today.

After too many years of life's challenges that sought out to drown me deep if I gave up (long struggling ILs saga).. of an almost forgotten love n almost broken marriage (again root of saga).. and of God's constant tests that seem to steadily befall on me.. today I truly realize the meaning of what didn't kill me only made me stronger and in that strength I found my journey n purpose in life worthwhile. It has all been worth it.

Soo... final verdict on a holistic scale of the balance of the girl's academic results.. emotional quotient.. being responsible AND happy children, I'd give it the first choice vote on this thread's poll - Pleasantly surprised vote... for a fulfilling year that went beyond my wildest dreams cos I didn't have any expectations to begin with. šŸ˜„

Busymom:

[quote=\"buds\"]Pen88n, I thought it was :evil: enuff to see Chen's proposed caning of teachers... but your proposal for canning careless teachers is way more sadistic.

Self confessed KPO reading this thread .....

Above comment hilarious leh .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

You KPO or free? šŸ˜†[/quote]If u ask me...

Personally, I think it's both, Busymom!
                šŸ˜†

rocklee

Dear Buds

:congrats: Well done! You are an excellent mum and certainly a role model for many of us here.

Keep up the good work!

Cheers

Aaaww Rocklee...

:thankyou:

You've been a great source of solace for me thru my tough days.
                    I will always remember that. :hugs:

peapot

Wow buds! That 's impressive! How did you get such great kids! Amazing! Great kids who help out mommy and a dH who helps and support u. What more can u ask for?

insider:

Soo... final verdict on a holistic scale of the balance of the girl's academic results.. emotional quotient.. being responsible AND happy children, I'd give it the first choice vote on this thread's poll - Pleasantly surprised vote... for a fulfilling year that went beyond my wildest dreams cos I didn't have any expectations to begin with. šŸ˜„

Hey buddy...can actually see your face beaming with pride on my screen!

the happiness when seeing kids' good academic performance is like watching the beauty of a transient firework.

the joy when seeing kids' with high EQ is like a big candle glowing warm and strong.

your baby will enjoy 'good shades' from your elder ones coz the role models are there and you can really enjoy the fruit of your hard labour.

Best Wishes!

Heyya insider-jie.. both the girls' academic results were honestly this year's bonus for me. The big prize really went to the acknowledgment from all their teachers wtih regards to their emotional well-being. It tells me a lot of things about them and how they are in school... especially as a parent who has the children out of the house for 6hrs (and sometimes even longer!) of the day in school.

Values are something that we CAN inculcate / nurture in our children but we are not able to necessarily see whether it sunk in and whether it IS a part of them.. how they present themselves outside the house and without parental supervision šŸ˜“... especially when the child was usually with us when they were younger. We would be around to nip certain things in the bud when stuff happens.. we may be able to explain the goings-on of the ways of the society and modern world.. we might be fortunate enough as well to take advantage of the many teachable moments during the child-raising years. Parents naturally want good children and it IS a lot of work.. as the saying goes... \"It takes a village to raise a child..\" It was from the heart to heart talk with their passionate teachers and the wonderful little notes that the teachers write on post-its or in their pupil diaries that i get to know them better at how they fare in not just IQ that's for sure but also the EQ. It is extremely heart warming to know teachers are observant of other skills and strengths of our children apart from the required academics. It gives me that.. yes.. what you said.. \"beaming pride\" of being a parent.. their parent.. a parent of my two girls. It takes so much away.. takes away the weariness from the daily mommy tasks, the lack of sleep & me-time. To be perfectly honest, it made me feel that hey... i did something right. I wasn't a bad mommy after all. My MIL kept hinting to me subtly at first.. subsequently more arrowed and eventually she said it to my face how bad i was at this mommy thing. It made me lose self-worth but i never stopped trying to give my children my best.. and all my love.. without having to get them or myself to hate her. Her daily dose of verbal and emotional abuse was deep and extremely hurtful i doubt it can totally heal but it didn't wear me down surprisingly... but instead it only made me stronger. I also had endless support from my family and very close frenz and of course the many many buddies i made from cyberspace ie. this forum itself! :love:

That was why, i slowly took in everything beautiful printed on the report and read the teachers' text a few times over and savoured them. It was enough to make me smile in my sleep. I guess i'm okay.. i didn't do too bad. Hee.

In my prayers i never fail to thank God for giving me the strength to see through the many adversities in my life (thus far.. šŸ˜“...) and for the good children i have.. and for seeing thru my struggles with me with my marriage life and sanity. I have stopped putting the blame on Him. šŸ˜‚ For with the serenity that came with prayers (and of course a helluva lotta work!), i made it thru it all... anyhow. šŸ™

The baby... yes... buds chubs is blessed to have sisters who dote on him to the point of smothering him to bits. Just today, i woke up to a clean living room and their (girls' room) all vacuumed and mopped. :please: I was soo tired i (or rather we - chubs and me mah..) slept thru it all! Chubs & hubs have not been feeling too well... They offered to feed chubs his food and his milk while they said i should enjoy a nice hot shower today instead of my normally rushed ones. They said they could handle chubs for me. :love:

As for reward offers, they both declined rewards of any kind. :siao: šŸ˜† DD2 said something similar to me like last year : No rewards. She reasoned... \"Don't need rewards from you mom.. you're not working remember? Just a hug from you will do, for i couldn't have done it without you. If i get $ again this year from the very-important-person like last year.. i will give YOU a treat instead at our favourite Swensens restaurant. But if you must, a trip to Mac Donalds is enuff. No more than that.\"

DD1's reply was.. \"You were right all along mom. You didn't actually get anything out of everything you have done for us.. with us.. We did! We are just happy for doing so well and getting into good classes with hopefully less playful classmates and pray there are no more bullies too. (Her ultimate bully went down to the last three classes.) I'm happy that you're happy. For me, just no work for me arh.. i want time off from all the stress.. and thanks for giving us free play with our iPods. If you decide to bring us anywhere special or get anything, that's your choice okay. I'm not asking for anything.

Subtle hinting this wan.. cheh.. :roll: She's trying to work my usual reverse psychology trick on me! :wrongmove: šŸ˜‚

It's been a great year.. and hopefully better years ahead as well. Thank you, jie for dropping by and sharing your best wishes. :please: I really appreciate it. :hugs:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 32