Is CCA compulsory from P3 onwards ? What are some of the "popular" CCAs, or rather , those can be used as as a "DSA" advantage ? -
drickymummy:
Personally, I feel that the \"best\" n expensive kindy does not necessary produce the most capable kids..I put my Ds in a church kindy that seems to be doing the most minimum to what I feel can be better.. Rather than getting worried if Ds can cope with primary sch with just the kindy's cirruculum, I have been teaching him myself during early years.. I rather he just enjoy the company of friends in sch n pick up good social skills rather than being the best reader in class..dyh:
[quote=\"hl124273\"]Hi, I have a DD going K2 next year, and Pei Hwa in the following year .. and now I wonder if it matters whether a kid comes from a top notch kindy or it doesn't matter? Will be intersted to hear from all of you whose kids are already in PHPPS and are coping well .. does kindy matter ? I see many of my friends sending their kids to Pat's schoolhouse .. does it really matter, as in they prepare the kids better for P1 ? My gal is attending Montessori childcare .. definitely not the cream of the crop but I think it's ok as they seem to be well rounded .. of couse they aren't exposed to the high tech stuffs taught in Pat's schoolhouse from what I heard.
I think it does not really matter which kindy. Parent involvement is most important, read to the kid when they are young to cultivate reading habit.
Montessori method does not work well in some cases. have a friend who put his child in such centre. as their method is more western style and focus on all-round ability and less work, the academic part may suffer. his child did not do well in primay school and the kid has to go for tuitions to catch up. he admitted on hind sight, he would not have put the kid there.
actually nothing wrong with the centre method, just that it does not seem to fit the exam results oriented nature of the school system here.
He can barely read independent till almost 2nd half of K2 with v simple books..but he just picked up in improved by the time he is in P1.. Read alot with your kid to encourage reading habits, introduce variety of books..I made a big mistake of doing almost all genre in English except Chinese!
Montessori sure has it's goodness in the method like it's math.. If taught well..child shd have a good foundation ... They focus lots of teaching in qty which is v impt foundation for math ...u can now do thinking maths with your child like problem solving. Play lots of thinking games that involve solving puzzles..that help sharpens their ability to analysize a problem. As for stuff like computer skills ...just play more games lor....
So far, my younger DD told me she has learnt grammar - specifically, conjunctions, gender nouns, personal pronouns etc in school at K1 level, and math too .. not sure if these are sufficient compared to the other schools that are more academic focused but overall she's seems to be happy with the montessori system .. I hope I wont panic when she enters P1! On hingsight, I felt I could do more for my older DD in P2 going P3 to prepare her for PHPPS and being more involved in her daily revision. There wasn't much home work per se, so hence I was more relaxed. -
:congrats: to happymama! Top 20 in PH is 'dun play play' catergory hor!
Recently I spoke to a couple who were retired MOE principals. They told me that from their experience, they found out that as long as parents play an active role to support and guide their children, the kids will automatically do well academically. Getting into U will not be a problem.Happy Mama:
I would also like to highlight that different kids εΌηͺ at different pace. Take DD for example. She wasn't as good when she first entered Pri 1, but now, she has made a quantum leap and progressed on to top 20 position in standard (based on our findings). So parents, don't despair and don't give up if your kids have not εΌηͺ. η»§η»ε ζ²Ή!!!
They also mentioned that it's important the family unit is intact, as children are really vulnerable to the effect of a broken family.
:goodpost: :goodpost: :goodpost: to bro mark's posts. Indeed..support from family for the kids is of utmost importance. To think that our kids have to brave the tough environment in their tender years, to provide them a warm and cosy home to lend supportive hands and shoulders will make them stronger in person. That, will enable them to walk a long way.
Bro Mark, you should write a reflection too. Talking about reflection, eh..where is Uncl....Bro trap? -
IJJ:
:thankyou: IJJ.
IJJ:
Talking about reflection, eh..where is Uncl....Bro trap?
Coming coming
Very busy at work .. just returned from overseas trip ... still suffering from jetlag. Maybe in Dec. -
Wow that's rocket leap ... Congrats.IJJ:
:thankyou: IJJ.
Next year would be Top 10 liao .... Jia you :rahrah: :rahrah: -
Trapwithin:
Trapwithin, I'm waiting to read your reflection too.Coming coming
Very busy at work .. just returned from overseas trip ... still suffering from jetlag. Maybe in Dec.
:rahrah:
dyh:
Oh, thanks dyh, at least there is one more place that I can buy from. May I know how much is it?[/quote]after the 20% discount, only $10.7[/quote]comfy:
[quote=\"comfy\"]Thanks Janet, this info. is timely as I was also thinking of where to find this book. Hope that Clementi Mall still has stocks.
I got it at IMM popular over the weekend.
Call up before going...or else make wasted trip. Better still, call IMM outlet and reserve first...many parents are going there to buy school text. -
Trapwithin:
:thankyou: Trapwithin.Wow that's rocket leap ... Congrats.
Next year would be Top 10 liao .... Jia you :rahrah: :rahrah:
Trapwithin:
It's still early for any reflection, right Bro Trap ?IJJ:
Talking about reflection, eh..where is Uncl....Bro trap?
Coming coming
Very busy at work .. just returned from overseas trip ... still suffering from jetlag. Maybe in Dec.
After Christmas, that would be a better time. For now, it's work and play.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.