Advice Needed!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    35 Posts 11 Posters 7.0k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      Yewniffler171

Hi people. I have posted in another post about this. So, I got 258 in the PSLE and MERIT for HMT. I want to go to an IP school. And should I give Nygh a go?

MandyMummy

Yewniffler171:
        Hi people. I have posted in another forum about this. So, I got 258 in the PSLE and MERIT for HMT. I want to go to an IP school. And should I give Nygh a go?

Very risky leh. What are your 2nd and 3rd choices? πŸ˜„

• Y Offline
          Yewniffler171

I do not know. It should be RV or NJC but dun know order. But then plus HMT will be 260. Only 2 marks away. Then NJC is 257 COP. I may consider appealing for NYGH using my UNSW awards and being third in school this year.

MandyMummy

Yewniffler171:
            I do not know. It should be RV or NJC but dun know order. But then plus HMT will be 260. Only 2 marks away. Then NJC is 257 COP. I may consider appealing for NYGH using my UNSW awards and being third in school this year.

NJC's COP should be higher than RV's. They are both good, RV a bit stricter. RV is a SAP school, so there are some special requirements on HCL that you may want to take note of.
            Go ahead and appeal to NYGH if you are not posted there. No harm trying. But your second choice should be a good one. πŸ˜„

• Y Offline
              Yewniffler171

Ok Thanks for your advice. Should I appeal to Nygh?

Coz I am only 2 marks away and have UNSW awards.

MandyMummy

Yewniffler171:
                Ok Thanks for your advice. Should I appeal to Nygh?

Coz I am only 2 marks away and have UNSW awards.
                I would, no harm trying. You never know unless you tried. πŸ˜„

• Y Offline
                  Yewniffler171

Oh. Ok:) Thanks for the great advice.

However, I am still pondering over something.
                  I should have this.
                  1st: NYGH
                  2ND :NJC
                  3RD: RV.
                  (not sure for order of rv and njc tho)

then what about the rest? Should I fill the other 3 choices? Because I think RV should be able to get in. But then also should I include RGS in? Their COP is 260.

And for 3rd lan, I am definitely choosing Jap. Should I choose others for the 2nd and 3rd choice?

MandyMummy

Yewniffler171:

I should have this.

then what about the rest? Should I fill the other 3 choices? Because I think RV should be able to get in. But then also should I include RGS in? Their COP is 260.

And for 3rd lan, I am definitely choosing Jap. Should I choose others for the 2nd and 3rd choice?
                    Do you want to go RGS? If you want to appeal to NYGH, it's better to put as 1st choice.
                    You can ignore RGS or put it as 2nd choice and move everything down.
                    You can also put Cedar as 5th choice. I would filled up all choices lah, but highly unlikely that you will be posted to your 4th choice and below.
                    IMHO. πŸ˜„

jtoh

Yewniffler171:

I should have this.

Do you like RGS? At 258, your chances aren't that high of getting into RGS. Why not just stick to your current 1st, 2nd and 3rd choices and fill up 4th/5th/6th with safe options. Cedar, MGS, DHS, SCGS are possible options and all are good schools. I think if you don't get NYGH you should get NJC. And you can appeal to NYGH after the posting results are out. When you appeal, just get ready all your certs, awards etc and wow them. πŸ™‚

Desperate mother

Hi, my son scored 216 for his PSLE. We currently stay near old airport road. There are not many schools that he can apply for. Would appreciate your advice. Thanks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 4

qqtang0526Q
                        qqtang0526
                        InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker