24hr-mum:
Aiya, when the maid was new she's very hardworking one. After sometime, through experience and exposure, they'll slacken in performance. Just like us in work also, right? That's why I mentioned before using quarterly/bi-annual performance appraisal is one way to ensure she stays on her toes. The other thing is to get your other half involve. Maids, being females, would prefer to listen to the master of the house rather than the lady of the house. Believe me.the problems wif gvg maids privileges is they often ask for more.
my exmaid was good, but after wf us for four years, she started asking for me to provide domestic flight even tho in the past she always paid for own domestic trip by BUS herslf.
another eg, tho she uses only hp at nite when she came, she has started to use them tho just sms but also FB, during the day after major chores are done, but in the past she used to use those small pockets of time to wipe my cabinets, clean my dryer, shelves, shoes, etc.
she used to sleep in the store rm when she first came in my old hse (i had no choice cos my inlaw was staying wf me then). she had no complaints - just a mattress on the flr in the small store rm and there were some of my things there
aft i moved to a flat, and my mil moved out, i gave her a room, tho still wf some of my thgs there
now, tis yr i shifted to a small apt, cant afford a rm for her cos NOW my young kids have grown up and needed own rm.
so i let her sleep in bomb shelter (really no choice but i gave her a fan etc)i . this time, she complain that things may tumble on her if there's an earthquake, she nvr heard got maid sleep in bomb shelter etc etc etc
another instance, when i was in a flat, she used to wash my DH car - only when he was overseas - when the car was parked in open carpk. usually we try to park downstairs in front of our blk, but occassionally had to park at nx blk cos no space. she was asked to wash car only on the day before DH return from overseas. (sorry i cant drive, so i cant drive the car to wash),
she was ok until one day, she complained, when the car was parked nx blk, that \"its very far right??\"
and even tho she looked aft my no 3 as a newborn 4 yrs ago, when she asked for transfer, she said she dun want to look after newborn. sigh..
so u see. ....if u are not strict, by the time u want to be strict and take away their freedom when u realise they abusing it, its too late, they not happy, u also not happy, esp for old birds
Sometimes the maid may be tired of doing the same things over for so many years while others may want a change in environment.....just like us mah....job hopping you know.
If after trying your best (with your hubby) by talking with her she really has no intention of staying then just have to let her go lor.
Employ a new maid and make sure you don't commit the same mistakes from the lessons-learnt
Chu Liu Xiang:
:goodpost: Some good points - we often forget that a lot of us do very similar things in our jobs and maybe our bosses are moaning about us slacking off drinking coffee, reading Kiasuparents, looking for better jobs etc. It doesn't make it right but we do have to remember that maids are human too and they will do exactly the same things as many of us do all the time. They aren't saints!
Aiya, when the maid was new she's very hardworking one. After sometime, through experience and exposure, they'll slacken in performance. Just like us in work also, right? That's why I mentioned before using quarterly/bi-annual performance appraisal is one way to ensure she stays on her toes. The other thing is to get your other half involve. Maids, being females, would prefer to listen to the master of the house rather than the lady of the house. Believe me.24hr-mum:
the problems wif gvg maids privileges is they often ask for more.
my exmaid was good, but after wf us for four years, she started asking for me to provide domestic flight even tho in the past she always paid for own domestic trip by BUS herslf.
another eg, tho she uses only hp at nite when she came, she has started to use them tho just sms but also FB, during the day after major chores are done, but in the past she used to use those small pockets of time to wipe my cabinets, clean my dryer, shelves, shoes, etc.
she used to sleep in the store rm when she first came in my old hse (i had no choice cos my inlaw was staying wf me then). she had no complaints - just a mattress on the flr in the small store rm and there were some of my things there
aft i moved to a flat, and my mil moved out, i gave her a room, tho still wf some of my thgs there
now, tis yr i shifted to a small apt, cant afford a rm for her cos NOW my young kids have grown up and needed own rm.
so i let her sleep in bomb shelter (really no choice but i gave her a fan etc)i . this time, she complain that things may tumble on her if there's an earthquake, she nvr heard got maid sleep in bomb shelter etc etc etc
another instance, when i was in a flat, she used to wash my DH car - only when he was overseas - when the car was parked in open carpk. usually we try to park downstairs in front of our blk, but occassionally had to park at nx blk cos no space. she was asked to wash car only on the day before DH return from overseas. (sorry i cant drive, so i cant drive the car to wash),
she was ok until one day, she complained, when the car was parked nx blk, that \"its very far right??\"
and even tho she looked aft my no 3 as a newborn 4 yrs ago, when she asked for transfer, she said she dun want to look after newborn. sigh..
so u see. ....if u are not strict, by the time u want to be strict and take away their freedom when u realise they abusing it, its too late, they not happy, u also not happy, esp for old birds
Sometimes the maid may be tired of doing the same things over for so many years while others may want a change in environment.....just like us mah....job hopping you know.
If after trying your best (with your hubby) by talking with her she really has no intention of staying then just have to let her go lor.
Employ a new maid and make sure you don't commit the same mistakes from the lessons-learnt

wrt the use of hp, i am sure many working adults use the hp during office hours for personal matters. we just cant tell if it is personal or biz cos’ he/she can always claim it is biz call. all biz calls do not have to be very formal right? especially when both parties have been working together for a while.
been to those small shops and sometimes you see the staff more interested in their calls than serving the customers. -
will you feel strange if your previous maid who has left you for another employer keeps on messaging you, sending her regards to ask how have you been?
my previous Phinoy maid left me 2 months ago due to some small issues. We let her go before we got another maid and I was left maidless and helpess for a short while. Now have another good maid (at the moment still good and hope continue to be good ;). Somehow can't help maybe my old maid is not too happy with her current employer or she regretted her decision to leave us? -
happy to be mum:
I believe your ex-maid don't want to burn the bridge behind her, huh? If thats what her intention was then I say she's a smart girl.will you feel strange if your previous maid who has left you for another employer keeps on messaging you, sending her regards to ask how have you been?
my previous Phinoy maid left me 2 months ago due to some small issues. We let her go before we got another maid and I was left maidless and helpess for a short while. Now have another good maid (at the moment still good and hope continue to be good ;). Somehow can't help maybe my old maid is not too happy with her current employer or she regretted her decision to leave us?
i think ur maid is either unhappy, or wants u to do her a favour nx time, or just wan a spare tyre. or maybe she really missed u all?? it depends on the circumstances leading to her dismissal.
for my ex maid, i msged her on a sat nite (she left on fri am) to ask how was she? she only replied on monday morning.
then 1 wk later she msged me to ask to speak to my youngest girl whom she loves most.
then few days later, she msged me wanting me to confirm her flight as she is going home leave that wkend, and also ask me to help her pay the agt for extra luggage, claiming to pay me back later. i aksed her to call the agt direct to settle
becos i feel she shd ask her new mdm to help me (take care of her) and also how is she gg to pay me back if she decides not to comeback?
part of the reason is also i want her to try asking her new mdm to help her, and see if she can get help so easily from angmohs, compared to asking me for help when she was under me. i helped her remit money anytime she wanted, buy phonecard, pad, etc., (as if i m her maid too). i may not pay her so much but all these favours are not what any employer will do…
the angmoh didnt even bother to come and pick her from my place on her day of transfer. true, she has two kids, have no car, but her hubby? when my maid first work for me, i took a cab to collect her from her ex boss plc.
my hubby sent my maid to her new boss plc, the new boss at first didnt even want to come down to pick her, wanted her to go up herslf.
anyway i guess, when ex maid msg u, they alway hope that u can help them some day… -
24hr-mum:
i think ur maid is either unhappy, or wants u to do her a favour nx time, or just wan a spare tyre. or maybe she really missed u all?? it depends on the circumstances leading to her dismissal.
for my ex maid, i msged her on a sat nite (she left on fri am) to ask how was she? she only replied on monday morning.
then 1 wk later she msged me to ask to speak to my youngest girl whom she loves most.
then few days later, she msged me wanting me to confirm her flight as she is going home leave that wkend, and also ask me to help her pay the agt for extra luggage, claiming to pay me back later. i aksed her to call the agt direct to settle
becos i feel she shd ask her new mdm to help me (take care of her) and also how is she gg to pay me back if she decides not to comeback?
part of the reason is also i want her to try asking her new mdm to help her, and see if she can get help so easily from angmohs, compared to asking me for help when she was under me. i helped her remit money anytime she wanted, buy phonecard, pad, etc., (as if i m her maid too). i may not pay her so much but all these favours are not what any employer will do...
the angmoh didnt even bother to come and pick her from my place on her day of transfer. true, she has two kids, have no car, but her hubby? when my maid first work for me, i took a cab to collect her from her ex boss plc.
my hubby sent my maid to her new boss plc, the new boss at first didnt even want to come down to pick her, wanted her to go up herslf.
anyway i guess, when ex maid msg u, they alway hope that u can help them some day........
Hi 24hr-mum,
Currently my sis and i urgently required a caring maid who can take care of my dad on the bed.
Do you know which maid agency is good. We try so many maids from JDM but none turn out to be good. We have to send them back due to lazy, rude to my parents and telling lies.
Anyone can help us? My dad is very old and has been in hospital in and out this year. -
my only experience is with Best Home as thomson (another br at bt timah).
besthome.com where my first and onlymaid is a transfer from a relative and it seems that agency not bad. my friend aunt use that too.
u can also try orchard employment. - i did the home leave paper there. -
i think u can consider older maids, those over 40 cos they shd be more patient and they know they are old too, wont be too fussy. - i hope.
Can I find out what the procedure is like for application…after the agency applies on our behalf, how long do we normally wait before approval is given. And thereafter what other steps are there? I’m applying for transfer maid. Thanks.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.