Club 2006 Kids
reiner:
can try Bali for short-getaway. Groupon have a few deal ( the deal on $189 for 3D2n at Bali Hard rock just endedplanning holidays? any suggestion for short trip?
hi crystalbelle
you engage tutor ofr your Yr06 kid? pte tutor, 1-to-1 eh? wa!! make me panic leh...
do you get your kid to do assessment books?
)
Also if you have budget, can try Club med at Puket. I went with my 2 kids this year and it was very relaxing. They have mini club for my son ( F.O.C ) They will help you take care of your kids and allow some time for yourself. Of course there are a few activities but if you are looking for shopping and stuff then club med will not be the one for you. It is really more for relaxing and familing bonding ( in another words, sit and do nothing ) Their buffet spread are really very good so gain a few kilos when back in singapore. :yikes:
She will start coaching my son tomorrow. More of a preparatory lesson for my son. As my son is poor in reading, i have also enrol him in 1 year phonics/reading and K2 english P1 preparatory class. Recommended by one of my collegues whose daughter score aggv 256 in PSLE this year. I have also change him from Chidcare to Kindergarten. As childcare no matter how good it is, it is still very much focusing on taking care of the children most of the time. So instead of spending the money and time on that, my opinion ( personally preference ) is that he can spend the whole 3 hours kindergarten focusing on study and prepare him to get use to the life in P1 which will have similar structure. He will have to get use to fact that teacher is there is teach and not there as a playmate or care-taker..
Now i am also giving him a bit of assessment but it is more for building up his vocab and focusing very much in reading. Everyday 2-3 different storybooks... Cause i check out Ai-tong P1 exam paper, it really \"freak\" me out. e.g The _____ of \" Goldilocks and three bears\" is in the woods. 1. plots 2. setting 3. characters... :scared: :nailbite: -
smartmummy:
We're going to Penang ( again! )
genting highlandreiner:
planning holidays? any suggestion for short trip?
hi crystalbelle
you engage tutor ofr your Yr06 kid? pte tutor, 1-to-1 eh? wa!! make me panic leh...
do you get your kid to do assessment books?
KL
Lankawi
DS2 math teacher ( Enrichment ) says that by June next year, I can go download problem sums ( P1 ) to let him start doing… to prep him up for P1 maths.
For English, I’d also bought him vocab and grammar assessment to start with as I am not putting him through any English enrichment classes. ( he’s attending Berries and Enopi math now). -
doing K1 assessment books eh?
will you expose your kid to P1 assessment books now? or when @ P1 eh?
my girl doesnt like to write lor… so bot those thin assessment books for her to try out…
reading? like chapter books? my kid is unwillling to read now… arrggh!!!
hi crystalbelle,
wow… you have lot of choices of schools lor… we dont have lor… only 2 sch within 2km… NO 1km one lor… and somemore these are the SAP sch… HOT! HOT! leh… slim chance… looking for backup… sainz!!! -
reiner:
Reiner,doing K1 assessment books eh?
my girl doesnt like to write lor.... so bot those thin assessment books for her to try out....
reading? like chapter books? my kid is unwillling to read now... arrggh!!!!
hi crystalbelle,
wow... you have lot of choices of schools lor.... we dont have lor... only 2 sch within 2km.... NO 1km one lor.... and somemore these are the SAP sch... HOT! HOT! leh... slim chance... looking for backup.... sainz!!!!
I just started DS2 on K2 assessment books. Towards end of 2012, I'll try some P1 work for him la... see how it goes.
For reading, I suggest you try rhyming books like Dr Seuss books. ( The Cat In the Hat, Green Ham and Eggs). Its funny and children would love it. -
She will start coaching my son tomorrow. More of a preparatory lesson for my son. As my son is poor in reading, i have also enrol him in 1 year phonics/reading and K2 english P1 preparatory
what you mean \"poor in reading\"? phonics - no teach in childcare ctr? my kid cc no enforce phonics so me do with her by myself... (no spare monies to go enrichment lor)... given her a spelling list on monday nite (12words, animals name) then tues get her to spell out... not bad she's able to listen to the sound... but gotta pardon my \"sounding\" lor... me always \"lau hong\" keke... she can read upto P &J book 10... but not keen of other books, beside those science topics.... and we gotta read to her lor... how to motivate her?? -
reiner:
Hi Reiner,doing K1 assessment books eh?
my girl doesnt like to write lor.... so bot those thin assessment books for her to try out....
reading? like chapter books? my kid is unwillling to read now... arrggh!!!!
hi crystalbelle,
wow... you have lot of choices of schools lor.... we dont have lor... only 2 sch within 2km.... NO 1km one lor.... and somemore these are the SAP sch... HOT! HOT! leh... slim chance... looking for backup.... sainz!!!!
Do you have parents / sibling living near to any school of your choice. As if you have, you can apply for \"Statutary Declaration\". But you must go down to MOE during the P1 registration period. The grandparents/ Silbing must not be working and must declare they your kid is under their care. Then you can apply school of your choice under the 1-2km ( even though they are staying within 1km, your kid will apply together with the kids with address within 1-2km ) Hope this helps..
Hi Club 2006 mummies and daddies ,
My DS tuition teacher will be coming tomorrow and she says that there are a lots of assessment in Popular that have picture and creative stuff that the kids like? Once she brought the books, i will share with all the mummies and daddies of club 2006...
Hi Reiner,
My DS also not like to write but he likes to draw a lot. So i would just leave papers around and when he start drawing. I will get involved and then asked him to complete his drawing with writting like a story books. This slowly get him bit more excited about writting..
I engage my DS and DD more to storybooks. Boys are more into gagets and animals lifestyle. I just read to him yesterday on \" MARCH MARCH MARCH ANTS\". Its a long book but it really have some interesting stuff that both of us can talk about. But when it coming to the key words on \" Queen ants & males ants will do the mating in the air\"... i stumble on how to explain mating :oops: -
reiner:
Hi Reiner,She will start coaching my son tomorrow. More of a preparatory lesson for my son. As my son is poor in reading, i have also enrol him in 1 year phonics/reading and K2 english P1 preparatory
what you mean \"poor in reading\"? phonics - no teach in childcare ctr? my kid cc no enforce phonics so me do with her by myself... (no spare monies to go enrichment lor)... given her a spelling list on monday nite (12words, animals name) then tues get her to spell out... not bad she's able to listen to the sound... but gotta pardon my \"sounding\" lor... me always \"lau hong\" keke... she can read upto P &J book 10... but not keen of other books, beside those science topics.... and we gotta read to her lor... how to motivate her??
His teacher in K1 childcare say that he still cannot read by himself from a\" fresh \" book. And that phonics is good from age 0-4 and once they pass that age, it really have to depend words on sight like what we have been taught before. So hopefully he can still catch up on his phonics next year.. I am pretty bad myself but will try to pick up phonics too.
Do you know where i can learn phonics ? -
hi sliverhorse,
she can read Dr Seuss books The Cat In the Hat, Green Ham and Eggs, etc… how to get her to read chapter books? or am i too ambitous liao eh? -
me learnt thru leapfrog dvd… haha… pick up from there lor… think SMH has mummy conducting phonics class…
me is staying with in-law so using their address…
do share what are the assessment books yo… thanks…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.