[Fun Poll] How satisfied are u with ur child(ren) results?

317 Posts 55 Posters 57.4k Views 1 Watching

This year... top school in Singapore. šŸ˜‰

silverhorse:

Yesterday, DD2 received a big envelope from MOE. Inside was an Edusave application form and something different from last year. It was a certificate signed by the MP congratulating her for being amongst the top 25% in her stream/cohort and also for exemplary behaviour for the past year. It's nice that the mail was addressed directly to her and not us (her parents) cos it makes it all the more special. šŸ˜‰

DD2 was over the moon to receive the recognition. :love:

Hi buds,

Congrats to you and your DD. I'm sure she's very thrilled and more motivated!

She was top 5 last year and received the same cash award last year also for top 25% in her cohort / stream and with that $ ... she really treated me to Swensens dinner.. (she said for my hard work teaching her.. :love:) But no cert. Only had our family picture taken (with my then newborn baby some more - i just delivered like only less than 2 weeks) with the MP representing our cluster. But i was so busy with the newborn, new house, their new school routine (they are transfer students) that i forgot to download the picture from the given webbie. Soo.. no picture up our wall and i blame myself for that. :stupid: I even lost the webbie link. 😢

This year, despite the many different things/situations to adapt to... she pushed herself (even she still can't believe that she's 1st this year!) to do better than the year before. Yes, silverhorse.. she is extremely overjoyed! šŸ˜„ Hope she can stay motivated next year.. as there'd be other changes yet again to her life. šŸ™
        silverhorse:
        Read your posts -- very inspiring!
        Thanks.. :oops:
        Still keeping myself motivated.. :xedfingers:
        silverhorse:
        Fighting!
        Not in physical sense tho.. šŸ˜‚

In mind.. spirit.. and will..
        Till the end. Like i shared earlier some things are worth \"fighting\" for.. šŸ˜‰

711mum:
          :congrats: buds, smartmummy and 3Boys, you and your kids have done a good job!

Thanks, 711mum.. šŸ˜„

Picolo:
            I am thankful that ds1 managed to maintain no. 8 in std and will con't HCL next year at P5, and ds2 managed to get into the 2nd P4 class next year despite a below std-avg CL score.. phew! This holiday is the time to brush up on his CL...

8th in level.. WOW!
            Congrats to ur DS!

No mean feat! :salute:
            Especially at P4 level.

• Y Offline
              yqyq

Yesterday, DD2 received a big envelope from MOE. Inside was an Edusave application form and something different from last year. It was a certificate signed by the MP congratulating her for being amongst the top 25% in her stream/cohort and also for exemplary behaviour for the past year. It's nice that the mail was addressed directly to her and not us (her parents) cos it makes it all the more special. šŸ˜‰

yes, this year different compares to last year, at least have the MP signed Certificate šŸ™‚

Yes yqyq, i agree.. :hi5: At least this year have..

Mebbe they should allow photo-taking with MP while the kiddies
                receive it too, cos i'm sure some of the recipients of the motivational
                award are not eligible for the edusave merit bursary application. :snuggles:

If no income ceiling, then all deserving children will get the $. šŸ˜„

Just4Fun:
                  smartmummy:

I realised that my mistake :stupid: ,how can I solve this problem?TIA

P1 and P2 he got role model cert. :please:

Make him a medal lor .. or buy him one ... those selling in the gift shops that comes with the wordings... BEST STUDENT of the year ! :rahrah: .

Actually @ Universal Studios even the Best Mother In Law trophy, medal, plaque (you name it!) they oso have! :yikes:

Phew, so much to catch up on!

Missed reading you around, 3Boys... :please:
                    DS1 thankfully pulled up his socks in time at year end, after slouching around for 9 months.
                    Sooo... :idea:... your fault too ain't it... since you allowed him to slouch. :spank:
                    Managed to get a subject prize for the P2 standard, and position prize in class.
                    Issit safe to guess that the subject prize was for Mother Tongue? šŸ˜‰
                    So, not a bad showing considering we were panicking at mid-year at a really mediocre academic performance.
                    You panic? :roll:
                    You're cool daddy lar..
                    I'm sure you didn't.. :boogie:
                    Lessons learnt;

1) You snooze, you lose. He's not going to forget that in a hurry after the scolding he got earlier in the year!
                    2) Its never too late to put in effort. Massive amounts in the end, thanks to his PARENTS and, no small measure, himself. Much fewer careless errors at his year end papers than previously.
                    3) Competition is stiff. He's kinda sore at relinquishing position to his chief academic rival in class, by a single point. But hey, refer point 1)
                    These lesson pointers above....
                    For boi boi or for the PARENTS? šŸ˜‚

A growing up year for him definitely, after sailing through P1 the previous year.
                    For yourself too i'm sure as you've grown a year wiser with the children's academic prepz. šŸ˜„

Write more in our usual mundane yet fun threads for we really need to brush up on our angmoh (English) come next year. Pweeeaase? :please:

HAPPYH

smartmummy:

Hi buds!
                      My son also got the Edusave cert for top 25% and good conduct in school.Today morning my DH opened and we laminated the cert and keep in safe place.I am happy than my son when I saw the cert.When he was in K1, I told him if u top in PSLE they will give gold medal.Last year(P2) he is second in class and got cert,but he was not happy.cos he said they never gave him gold medal only a cert.I realised that my mistake :stupid: ,how can I solve this problem?TIA
                      P1 and P2 he got role model cert. :please:

Dear All,

Good to see your comments here.

My daughter also received this cert stating that she is within top 25%. We thought top 25% in that particular school. So we are not very impressed. Now curious to find out whether this 25% is from that school or from that particular GRC.

She is also first in her class and received the cert from school with S$ 30 popular voucher. Another reason to go to popular šŸ˜„

But she did very badly in her maths in SA2. Since she did the rest of the FA tests well, she managed to float to the top in her class. But after that incident, she lost interest/confidence in Maths.

• Y Offline
                        yqyq

I think 25% refer to the individual school. correct me if i'm wrong šŸ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 30 / 32