2009 GEP Screening And Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    2.0k Posts 151 Posters 471.8k Views 1 Watching
      traineeks

david59:
      wormy:

My child is facing the dilemma - HCI/RI/NUSH - To put it simply, it just seems to be a \"waste\" if he does not choose RI, which is seen by most as the top sec school. I know this comment would attract a lot of feedback and please do so for I need enlightenment. For NUSH, my worries is that should he lose passion in Math/Science midway through the course, then what's exit path? HCI - have to compete with PRC kids, am I right?

:celebrate: So, what drives your kid to excellence? Very competitive type, wanting to be the best? It takes a lot of self-determination and courage to compete with the best and not easily discouraged when losing out to others.
      If he excels best when he does not need to compete with others, NUS High would be more suitable. Also what does he hope to be when he grows up? Become a scientist, lecturer, researcher? NUS High is the place.
      Perhaps get your kid to go for a DISC test to determine what qualities and temperament he has might help.

Simple lah. Do what a kiasu parent would do...think what scholarship or career he would take in future, so...

If want to be A* scholar...
      choose NUSH. They won top school for A* talent search this year.

If want to be president scholar---
      choose HCI. HCI claims to produced the most number of president scholars. Don't know if this claim still holds.. RI will probably refute that.

If want to be top lawyer...
      choose RI. Country attorney general, best known criminal lawyer all from RI.

If want to join politics or be PM..
      choose school that produced the most PM. Of course getting used to wearing all white from young is another plus.

Just joking here. I agree with david59 that you find the environment that best suits your kid. All 3 three schools differ little in terms of academic performance but they all have quite different environments. Visit the schools and you can form impressions of culture and what drives the students in each school. Once you make a choice, do not think of \"wasted\" opportunities but try to fit in and be happy. After all he has to spend 6 years there.

vlim

:heresmyfish: Ha Ha thanks for the advise ... just wondering it need how much to study in oversea good university like Yale and Harvard... need to start saving my money in my piggy bank... :snuggles:

vlim

Info for all gep parents and non gep parents

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/forum/2009/09/selection-for-the-gep-is-fair.php :celebrate:

Full.010894Cream

vlim:
            :heresmyfish: Ha Ha thanks for the advise ... just wondering it need how much to study in oversea good university like Yale and Harvard... need to start saving my money in my piggy bank... :snuggles:

heard it's currently US$100k/yr in a normal Uni (fee, lodging, food). Anyone can confirm this?

rains

wormy:
              My child is facing the dilemma - HCI/RI/NUSH - To put it simply, it just seems to be a \"waste\" if he does not choose RI, which is seen by most as the top sec school. I know this comment would attract a lot of feedback and please do so for I need enlightenment. For NUSH, my worries is that should he lose passion in Math/Science midway through the course, then what's exit path? HCI - have to compete with PRC kids, am I right?

I can't help but wish to intrude. My husband and his best friend are from HC and they are mediocre in their achievement at best. In fact, my husband is a die-hard gambler and his buddy can't last long in jobs. And they are always complaining about their jobs.

However, they are always proud that they WERE from HC.

It thus gives me a very lousy impression of HC. What 'zi4 qiang2 bu4 xi1', 'xue2 yi3 zhi4 yong4' (school motto) - rubbish!

Now I always tell my daughter never to date anyone from HC. 'Ignore HC boys, but say yes to ACS or RI boys.'

vlim

rains:
                wormy:

I can't help but wish to intrude. My husband and his best friend are from HC and they are mediocre in their achievement at best. In fact, my husband is a die-hard gambler and his buddy can't last long in jobs. And they are always complaining about their jobs.

It thus gives me a very lousy impression of HC. What 'zi4 qiang2 bu4 xi1', 'xue2 yi3 zhi4 yong4' (school motto) - rubbish!

Now I always tell my daughter never to date anyone from HC. 'Ignore HC boys, but say yes to ACS or RI boys.'

πŸ‘… OOps I think formal HC boys are going to protest against you Ha..ah............

rains

vlim:
                  πŸ‘… OOps I think formal HC boys are going to protest against you Ha..ah............

You mean 'former'?

Even that, I think they are too lazy or incapable to do.

Wahahahahaa ...

Full.010894Cream

Just to add on. I think HCI has some morning run regime that requires them to be in school by 6.45am or ard that time.

So if u live far from there and getting there punctually is gonna be a problem, do reconsider.

karmeleon

Full.Cream:
                      Just to add on. I think HCI has some morning run regime that requires them to be in school by 6.45am or ard that time.

So if u live far from there and getting there punctually is gonna be a problem, do reconsider.
                      i heard there's school bus tho bc my fren's son takes.

ApronMama

rains:
                        wormy:

:siao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 196

mamamia0510M
                        mamamia0510
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog