Montessori Phonics - Introduction To Single Letter Sounds

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    253 Posts 34 Posters 97.3k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

Hi buds, just 35 more to go šŸ•ŗ distracted or else finished liao heehee

Straight forward letters (straight lines) are less challenging to cut out if one is using pen knife or a bigger, sharper n heavier scissors when cutting cardboard material.

It's the curvy letters that are deadly. :nailbite:

Can't imagine myself having to cut out 10 letter eeeeees.. :scared:

iLoveChubby

Hi buds!

I have recently started my DS2 in a weekly phonics class, he seems to be doing quite ok.. (maybe because the teacher is sweet and pretty.. sigh.. :slapshead: )

I hv heard abt Montessori as far back in 2005 when i enrolled my DS1 into a Montessori school, fast forward to 2011...I would still like to leave it to the experts (= teachers) to teach my DS2 Montessori phonics because simply, i dont thk i m cut-out to be a teacher.. just cant explain something over & over, it makes me boil... :mad: :mad:

Altho' I cant teach, I am diligently reading to my DS2 every single night as he likes books (but he still cant blend words lah, still under \"very light pink\" scheme)..

Aiya lor-sor so long... actually I would like to know if you have any recommended story books that goes kinda hand-in-hand with montessori phonics.
          I mean I am reading ALL SORTS of books right now to him with ALL SORTS OF WORDS flying around, I dont really thk he is absorbing any words except enjoying the storyline.
          I want to read something \"structured and more in sequence\" so that when he goes to his wkly class, the story books' words kinda blends to what he learns at his class (Hmmm got such things or not ah?... :scratchhead: )

I am not sure if Peter & Jane series can be considered as an option but i thk my DS2 will fall asleep if i read that series.
          I know you are extremely busy and pls knock my head :spank: ...if i miss out any of your threads if you have ever recommended such books.. (i really did search but cant find ley... :sad: )

:thankyou:

Not limited to books, hun... šŸ˜‰

Here are the links that uhmm you may have missed. :pokeeye:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/fun-phonics-resources

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1927

Hope these help. šŸ˜„

Here are some articles that may or may not already be in existing threads.

This link links you to all of http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/blog/3115

iLoveChubby

Hi buds

:oops: :imsorry: I deserved that knock on my head..

A big :thankyou: for the links, i have just added them to my FAVOURITES and will definitely be burning some midnight oil and spending my coming weekends enjoying your threads... :rahrah: :rahrah:

Technically, i only poked you in the eye.. šŸ˜†

Secondly, so cute of you to describe your child's pace as
                  \"at the very light pink scheme\".. :rotflmao:

Lastly, if Peter & Jane doesn't excite him AND you.. šŸ˜‚
                  Here are other thematic readers you can try..

iLoveChubby

Technically, i only poked you in the eye.. šŸ˜†

Secondly, so cute of you to describe your child's pace as
                    \"at the very light pink scheme\".. :rotflmao:

Lastly, if Peter & Jane doesn't excite him AND you.. šŸ˜‚
                    Here are other thematic readers you can try..
                    Thanks for not :spank: m and only :pokeeye: me....

I hv diligently finished all the pages under your thread on \"fun materials, books & games\", hv jotted down what to look out for.. on my way to attack popular, sep 21 & other related websites.

I knew i need to do SOMETHING when the following happened not too long ago..
                    I showed my DS a jar of jam and asked him, \"What is this, using the letter j ?\"
                    His reply : \" /j/! /j/! (sound of \"j\", mummy was smiling..).... KAYA!\"
                    I thought ok, before i blew my top, i chose another more obvious object - his cap and asked \"So how abt this, using the letter c?\"
                    His reply : \"/c/! /c/!.... HAT!\"
                    That's it. :mad:

Anyway will update / share if i were to find any interesting books / resources.

Sorry, forgot to link you up to the Thematic Readers.

Here it is.. > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3082&hilit=thematic+readers

Wuah-seh! :yikes: You ARE very diligent all right.. :salute:
                      Thought you saving them for the weekends. šŸ˜†
                      Happy attacking! :evil: I know now where your
                      year-end bonus will be going to. :moneyflies:

Your boi-boi just being cheeky bah.. šŸ˜†
                      He knows his letter sounds that's for sure.
                      At least that part is covered. :boogie:

Is he still at single letter sounds stage?

Here's something you can play with him as fun reinforcement. šŸ˜„
                      > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=39937#p39937

iLoveChubby

Hi buds

He has attended a few phonics lessons, teacher feedback that he knows almost all the sounds (s'times he is alittle confused over 1-2 letter sounds) - he is doing 3-letter blending at each lesson now e.g. cab, tab etc.

I am glad he is looking forward to his class now as the teacher was really nice and engaging. I thk he is also v curious of the montessori materials placed at the low shelves...
                        Given a choice...hmm.... i would love him to study in a montessori environment....

Somehow I did not manage to get to see many phonics reader books at Popular .. maybe I shd travel to Bras Basah branch which shd hv one of the most collections...
                        I only managed to get the following phonics readers books fr Pelangi which i thk it is good enough for one who is starting to do blending.
                        Its only $3 per copy!...Set of 12.

http://i42.tinypic.com/30wrrc9.jpg\">

Also want to recommend another set of books i bought from Growing Fun 6 yrs ago (still avail) - the WOW book series - which i thk it's great and fun to read for beginners.
                        I have bot afew sets for my frens' kids who like them alot too!

http://i40.tinypic.com/2czas88.jpg\">

Hmm i thk i shd post on the Fun Materials, Books & Games for phonics thread to \"revive\" the thread... hv been quiet for almost half a yr! :boogie:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 26