All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 765.9k Views 1 Watching
      Peachmelba

Celyw:
      jeanieg:

I have a K2 girl going to P1 next year. She is currently taking I Can Read and is learning to read short stories. She can read words and short sentences by the phonics way. Next year ICR will be going into Oral Comprehension and Creative Writing, etc. Am thinking of stopping her lessons in Dec as I think P1 should be covering those topics and I also do not want to overwhelm her with too much stuff to learn.

Anyone has any experience in this to share?

hi jeanieg, same my child going P1 next year and going to complete ICR by this november so intend to stop him and see he can manage in pri school b4 deciding what enhancement he need..

Hi both,
      My boy going to P1 as well, finished ICR but I am thinking to get other enrichment centre as I don't know exactly how P1 will be.

Anyone can help on which centre that good for lower primary?

Thanks šŸ˜„

Myeo:
        I teach my girl myself for math and english. While she can do plus and minus up to 100, i have difficulty in trying to make her understand multiplication tables. She can only do 2 and 3.

Any suggestions?
        Many suggestions and ideas here at this link.
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4120

Have fun!

my ds2 (K2 next yr) rolls his eyes and go 'what??? no freedom?' when i try to get him to do more than 6 pages of math (about 4 Q on each page). šŸ˜“ i'm in for a tough ride next yr tryng to prepare him for P1. šŸ˜“

Wuah-seh! Didn't know jeda very ks! :yikes:
          Jedababe.. D is bery advance liao lor. Take it easy...
          Unless of course you want him go straight to banded class!

Quixation..

You can prepare DD for these.

1. Tackling Oral Exams
            > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/tackling-primary-school-oral-examinations

2. Tackling Show & Tell
            > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/p1-show-tell

3. Writing short sentences independently
            > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/encouraging-your-child-keep-diary

4. Written Expression
            > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/p1-written-expression

5. Soft Skills
            > Leadership skills.. (delegating work) when tasked to do project work.
            > Interpersonal skills.. (how to work well with everyone)
            > Handling $.. (to enjoy recess!)

She should be waaayyy more than prepared liao having attended Montessori preschool for early childhood education. The Science n Geography covered in Montessori schools goes beyond P1. If she finishes/graduates from the Montessori school, she would've covered Grammar as well. So I say she's reali reali doing ok n on the right track. Breathe easy my fren. :celebrate:

You got #2 oredi? :evil:

my ds2 (K2 next yr) rolls his eyes and go 'what??? no freedom?' when i try to get him to do more than 6 pages of math (about 4 Q on each page). šŸ˜“ i'm in for a tough ride next yr tryng to prepare him for P1. šŸ˜“

Wuah-seh! Didn't know jeda very ks! :yikes:
              Jedababe.. D is bery advance liao lor. Take it easy...
              Unless of course you want him go straight to banded class!

hahaah....gonna be more ks abit. i was much more ks during my ds1 time. for ds2, more relaxed....cos he 'eat soft, no eat hard'. šŸ˜“

libran269

Quixation..

You can prepare DD for these.

1. Tackling Oral Exams
                > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/tackling-primary-school-oral-examinations

2. Tackling Show & Tell
                > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/p1-show-tell

3. Writing short sentences independently
                > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/encouraging-your-child-keep-diary

4. Written Expression
                > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/p1-written-expression

5. Soft Skills
                > Leadership skills.. (delegating work) when tasked to do project work.
                > Interpersonal skills.. (how to work well with everyone)
                > Handling $.. (to enjoy recess!)

She should be waaayyy more than prepared liao having attended Montessori preschool for early childhood education. The Science n Geography covered in Montessori schools goes beyond P1. If she finishes/graduates from the Montessori school, she would've covered Grammar as well. So I say she's reali reali doing ok n on the right track. Breathe easy my fren. :celebrate:

You got #2 oredi? :evil:
                Buds, these links are quite helpful.
                My DD is in N2 and going to K1 next year. She has show & tell at her preschool. But my dd doesnt rehearse, I just know from her teacher that she says a sentence or two. She is too playful. Probably thinking her to put in some speech & drama classes.

Any experiences to share? Any one?

• Lynn2L Offline
                  Lynn2

Hi ksp,

May I just asked how do u get boy interested in reading story book on their own?DS can read but not interested.No story line seems to interest him.I think he is lazy.Anyone has got suggestion?Thank you.

Can you pls share what are the various books that your child is reading?thanks again.

Cheers

• tankeeT Offline
                    tankee

Lynn2:
                    Hi ksp,

May I just asked how do u get boy interested in reading story book on their own?DS can read but not interested.No story line seems to interest him.I think he is lazy.Anyone has got suggestion?Thank you.

Can you pls share what are the various books that your child is reading?thanks again.

Cheers

does he like Dinosaurs?

There is a series called \"Dinosaurs Cove\". About 2 boys that are able to travel back in time and their advantures in prehistoric world. The books are available in the library.

mummy of 2

DS started to be keen on independent reading after being introduced to usborne young reading series. There are many titles and of various genre so can pick those that appeal more. The books are available in NLB. After that he progressed to magic school bus chapter books and now reading Roald Dahl.

libran269

Lynn2:
                        Hi ksp,

Cheers
                        Hi Lynn2, How old is your son? My dd is 4 years old, she reads Peter & Jane and can read other books too. But not motivated, tried various subjects of her interest. Same.. seems lazy to read

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 120 / 131