DSA Appeal 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    310 Posts 70 Posters 94.3k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      zeemimi

We never discussed at length with our boy about this issue. But he himself was asked during his DSA interview about this particular issue, and he promised to put the school as 1st preference. When I asked him about it later if he would want to consider another school if he did very well, he said \"cannot - I promised already\". In a way, I am proud of him for that. On the other hand, he actually is not in the situation to choose in the end. *haha*
      phankao,

you've got a fine young man there! :rahrah: And u do hv reason to be proud of his moral integrity. It doesn't matter if he was in a situation to choose finally.

less kiasu liao

I decided, together with dd, not to dsa to Cedar IP and chope a place first, as Jtoh said, because it probably will not be her 1st choice school should she do as expected from her usual school results. The thing is, we found out later that Cedar IP accepted students based on their P6 mid year results (not outstanding acedemics or olympiad etc) who later scored lower 250++ in PSLE. Cedar’s S1 COP went up to 258, maybe as a result of this, since half the places were taken up already.

SAHM_TAN

Just trying to understand the DSA process better. For DSA via academic, during the process, is one of the aims to find out if the kid is a good fit with the school?

Pen88n

Parentathome, I understand your frustration as you are doing all this for the benefit of your kid. As a parent, we all want the best for our child, and I have always support doing it for the benefit of your kid.

But to be fair, I have to say that I heard of this no school transfer after DSA CO acceptance during the DSA period this year. The primary schools have been informing parents / kids applying DSA of this, and I heard from frens from many schools (St Hilda, NYPS, Tao Nan, Rosyth). That’s why they have been careful in deciding which sch to DSA and to / not to accept DSA CO. I even know of a case of a gal giving up her DSA CO from her 2nd choice, cos she believed she did well enough for the PSLE to qualify for her 1st choice (after the PSLE papers).

Previously, the number has been low so I think MOE closed an eye and schools all do the transfer. Last year’s appeal cases and this year’s DSA applications have increased tremendously, resulting in huge load of unnecessay admin work at the school end. Imagine, instead of applying DSA for 1-2 schools, parent end up applying DSA for 5-6 schools just to secure a place as a safety net. Schools has hundreds more of DSA application to process. When the DSA CO came along, they have to reject a few schools. Now the PSLE results are out, they submit appeals for 1-2 schools and the schools have to process transfers + fill in vacancies. It is not only your child. Multipy that by a few thousand unnecessary DSA applications and appeals, you will see the impact. It is no wonder MOE has decided to step in and put a stop to this.

I truly empathise with you on your situation, and your frustration of being in this situation. Maybe if you explore your DSA choice school, you may find it is not a bad choice afterall (if it is that bad, you will not choose it for DSA either). Maybe it is also fated - and maybe it will turn out to be a blessing in disguise for your kid. Wishing your kid a happy secondary school journey!

WeiHan

Anybody wonder why it is called confirmation offer?

The school confirmed that it is accepting the student and the student confirmed that he is accepting the offer.

You confirm something with people and then you want to break that confirmation. What does it says?

• Y Offline
                yamatomato

I have been following this dsa thread very closely. Thot that RI and RGS are accepting appeals for pupils accepted via DSA in other schools? If this is not allowed by MOE, then why are these 2 schools blatantly accepting such appeals?

Anyone know of any successful dsa appeal cases?

Personally I think this newly enforced policy by Moe has not been clearly communicated to all the affected parents. Not many are aware of this

less kiasu liao

I am also trying to understand the rational behind DSA.

Aside from the sports category, why doesn’t MOE just base posting on PSLE results and student’s choices? Appeal can be officially open up after the S1 posting to special cases like GEPpers, medal winners or bright children who do unexpectedly badly in the PSLE. This should be a small category since most who have succeeded through DSA academics would have done well anyway. Wouldn’t this do away with the current chaotic situation parents and children are facing, not to talk about the stress they had gone through during the dsa process. Also, new and inexperienced IP schools like Cedar (and more next year) my be able to admit students more ‘accurately’.

Pen88n

yamatomato:
                    I have been following this dsa thread very closely. Thot that RI and RGS are accepting appeals for pupils accepted via DSA in other schools? If this is not allowed by MOE, then why are these 2 schools blatantly accepting such appeals?

Anyone know of any successful dsa appeal cases?

Personally I think this newly enforced policy by Moe has not been clearly communicated to all the affected parents. Not many are aware of this
                    I know RI has accept the appeal submission from DSA CO cases, but have not heard of any successful case so far for DSA CO appeals. All of us are waiting to see outcome.

RGS has rejected appeal submission from DSA CO. I think they even put up notice on their website indicating this MOE directive. I remembered seeing someone post this info in ksp forum. My frens at HCI and NYGH all heard counter staff rejecting appeal submission for DSA COs after release of PSLE results.

parentathome

I have double checked the documents issued to us early this yr and the one that we signed for dsa preference and it WASN’T stated that NO dsa appealing after we accepted. So frens, pls ensure you know abt the entire process and story b4 commenting my unsatifaction. We do not argue with no grounds. We r talking abt an administration mistake that ignored what’s going on for yrs and terminate it out of a sudden to our kids.

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

less kiasu liao:
                        I am also trying to understand the rational behind DSA.

Aside from the sports category, why doesn't MOE just base posting on PSLE results and student's choices? Appeal can be officially open up after the S1 posting to special cases like GEPpers, medal winners or bright children who do unexpectedly badly in the PSLE. This should be a small category since most who have succeeded through DSA academics would have done well anyway. Wouldn't this do away with the current chaotic situation parents and children are facing, not to talk about the stress they had gone through during the dsa process. Also, new and inexperienced IP schools like Cedar (and more next year) my be able to admit students more 'accurately'.

Why only sports? How about other talents?!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 31