DSA Appeal 2011
I am also trying to understand the rational behind DSA.
Aside from the sports category, why doesn’t MOE just base posting on PSLE results and student’s choices? Appeal can be officially open up after the S1 posting to special cases like GEPpers, medal winners or bright children who do unexpectedly badly in the PSLE. This should be a small category since most who have succeeded through DSA academics would have done well anyway. Wouldn’t this do away with the current chaotic situation parents and children are facing, not to talk about the stress they had gone through during the dsa process. Also, new and inexperienced IP schools like Cedar (and more next year) my be able to admit students more ‘accurately’. -
yamatomato:
I know RI has accept the appeal submission from DSA CO cases, but have not heard of any successful case so far for DSA CO appeals. All of us are waiting to see outcome.I have been following this dsa thread very closely. Thot that RI and RGS are accepting appeals for pupils accepted via DSA in other schools? If this is not allowed by MOE, then why are these 2 schools blatantly accepting such appeals?
Anyone know of any successful dsa appeal cases?
Personally I think this newly enforced policy by Moe has not been clearly communicated to all the affected parents. Not many are aware of this
RGS has rejected appeal submission from DSA CO. I think they even put up notice on their website indicating this MOE directive. I remembered seeing someone post this info in ksp forum. My frens at HCI and NYGH all heard counter staff rejecting appeal submission for DSA COs after release of PSLE results. -
I have double checked the documents issued to us early this yr and the one that we signed for dsa preference and it WASN’T stated that NO dsa appealing after we accepted. So frens, pls ensure you know abt the entire process and story b4 commenting my unsatifaction. We do not argue with no grounds. We r talking abt an administration mistake that ignored what’s going on for yrs and terminate it out of a sudden to our kids.
less kiasu liao:
Aside from the sports category, why doesn't MOE just base posting on PSLE results and student's choices? Appeal can be officially open up after the S1 posting to special cases like GEPpers, medal winners or bright children who do unexpectedly badly in the PSLE. This should be a small category since most who have succeeded through DSA academics would have done well anyway. Wouldn't this do away with the current chaotic situation parents and children are facing, not to talk about the stress they had gone through during the dsa process. Also, new and inexperienced IP schools like Cedar (and more next year) my be able to admit students more 'accurately'.
Why only sports? How about other talents?! -
Ya ya ... Phankao .. Less Kiasu Liao has left out music talent ..less kiasu liao:
Aside from the sports category, why doesn't MOE just base posting on PSLE results and student's choices? Appeal can be officially open up after the S1 posting to special cases like GEPpers, medal winners or bright children who do unexpectedly badly in the PSLE. This should be a small category since most who have succeeded through DSA academics would have done well anyway. Wouldn't this do away with the current chaotic situation parents and children are facing, not to talk about the stress they had gone through during the dsa process. Also, new and inexperienced IP schools like Cedar (and more next year) my be able to admit students more 'accurately'.
Why only sports? How about other talents?!
parentathome:
I have double checked the documents issued to us early this yr and the one that we signed for dsa preference and it WASN'T stated that NO dsa appealing after we accepted. So frens, pls ensure you know abt the entire process and story b4 commenting my unsatifaction. We do not argue with no grounds. We r talking abt an administration mistake that ignored what's going on for yrs and terminate it out of a sudden to our kids.
It is also not stated that you can appeal
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/dsa-sec/files/2011-dsa-sec-stages-large.jpg -
We never discussed at length with our boy about this issue. But he himself was asked during his DSA interview about this particular issue, and he promised to put the school as 1st preference. When I asked him about it later if he would want to consider another school if he did very well, he said \"cannot - I promised already\". In a way, I am proud of him for that. On the other hand, he actually is not in the situation to choose in the end. *haha*[/quote]What a proud moment for a mother. :please:Snow Crystal:
[quote=\"ycpang\"]It is morally wrong not to honour the DSA offered. If u don't apprecaite it, why accept it at the first place???
Most parents and students appreciate each CO. They also discuss like crazy and deliberate before making that decision to accept a CO that is 2nd choice.
:nailbite:
Sharing your pride. :love:
A promise IS a promise, right? -
vlim:
Ya ya ... Phankao .. Less Kiasu Liao has left out music talent ..phankao:
[quote=\"less kiasu liao\"]I am also trying to understand the rational behind DSA.
[/quote]My apologies for the oversight, other talents too.
vlim:
Ya ya ... Phankao .. Less Kiasu Liao has left out music talent ..phankao:
[quote=\"less kiasu liao\"]I am also trying to understand the rational behind DSA.
[/quote]plus other talents too, lah. So many. Dance, Math, Science, etc, etc.
parentathome:
I have double checked the documents issued to us early this yr and the one that we signed for dsa preference and it WASN'T stated that NO dsa appealing after we accepted. So frens, pls ensure you know abt the entire process and story b4 commenting my unsatifaction. We do not argue with no grounds. We r talking abt an administration mistake that ignored what's going on for yrs and terminate it out of a sudden to our kids.
If the school gives you an CO, then tell u later that sorry we cannot honour the CO, is this OK with you?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.