DSA Appeal 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    310 Posts 70 Posters 92.5k Views 1 Watching
      tisha

tisha:

What abt the moral responsibility of the school who accept and process DSA CO appeal? What is the message that they are giving? Yes, we know there is such and such a rule, but who cares?

Yup! The top 4 schools were greedy for talent. Now the top 4 have to learn to share.

Yes chen, you hit the bulls eye when you said poaching. I just wanted to highlight the schools role. If the schools had honoured the MOE directive the whole cycle would never have started.
      BTW, if as someone mentioned that the appeals have infact to go thru MOE before materializing, then wasn't MOE breaking their own rule?

tisha

Tisha... welcome back. Congrats on your son's entry to SJI. It must have been hard on you this year.
        Thanks Chen. Best wishes to your DS for his PSLE 2012.

Chenonceau

tisha:

Tisha... welcome back. Congrats on your son's entry to SJI. It must have been hard on you this year.

Ohhhhh... dun remind me... 😒 😒 😒

South African

less kiasu liao:
            I too was from the Rafflesian family (6 yrs) and share the same sentiments as pepper spice's hubby. Sure, we benefited from it, but I have friends who after so many years still remember the pressure and low self esteem they had while there from being in the low end of the cohort. On the other hand, my husband, an ACSian all his life, constantly tells me how the ACS ties continue to help all through his working life. Nowadays when his sons are on the verge of stepping out into the working world, it always amazes me how with a few emails and phone calls, his ex school mates are able to extend help, even if it is just an invitation to send CVs.

The running joke in my family is : I am already the 'daughter of a better age' (must be the best, 2nd is not good enough, a message drummed into me in all my years in Raffles), while he and the boys are always improving, since 'the best is yet to be.'
            I was at DHS's reporting day with DD. What I was most impressed with was the principal's simple message of, 'Remember you always have 2 homes, the one provided by your parents, and number 10, Tanjong Rhu. Anytime in your life, if you are in any difficulty, you can always come back here.' If the school lives up to this, I will consider it good enough for my dd.

Hi \"less Kiasu liao\", it's very encouraging to hear your sharings. I do agree with you too. I do see the connections of ACSians go far and wide in the corporate world. I sense there's more \"team spirit\" among ACSians and having Christian values, the school incalculate humility, perseverance, hopeful values which crucial to succeed later. Dont forget in our children's generation, it will be even more competitive, the kids need to be strong cognitively to succeed. πŸ˜„ :lovesite:

Pen88n

tisha:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]

Ohhhhh... dun remind me... 😒 😒 😒[/quote]Chen, we have passed the baton to you. I'm sure you will do a good job in this :rahrah: . Next year this time you will be smiling away and passing the baton to the next batch πŸ˜‰

samontheway

in terms of loyalty, (or somebody talks about immoral) who can tell me the difference between S1 appeal and DSA appleal?

in terms of moe’s DSA appeal policy, no successful cases in the past years? and anybody is highlightly alerted during open-house that moe would firmly implement the policy to 2012 cohort?

• Y Offline
                  yamatomato

I think whoever out there should stop bashing the parents (whose kids have a dsa co and now want to transfer) of being immoral. It all boils down to demand and supply. If a sch out there is willing to take in the dsaed pupils and with that the dsaed sch can then release the place to someone on the waiting list, I dun see why not. Stop acting like a saint! It is really no big deal. From what understand, these parents dun sign a contract,

jtoh

MOE made it possible for parents to be immoral because it didn't have an explicit rule for the situation? :? Why would you blame a government for treating you like an adult who can be trusted to know what is right and wrong?

We're always saying our government is paternalistic, and for once when there is some flexibility, people have gone ahead to game the system to such a large extent that it becomes acceptable to dishonor a commitment. It's almost like in some other countries, corruption is a way of life. This is not MOE's fault. It's because Singaporeans are such children that we must be told exactly what we should and should not do.

In yet other countries, newpapers were placed unlocked on a stand and people left money whenever they took a paper, because it was the right thing to do... and out of respect/trust for their clientele, vendors leave the papers out for easy access. It is not called \"allowing clients to be immoral\". It is called \"respecting and trusting clients\". I always tell my kids that if they don't set their own limits, I will step in to set them, and I sure never give any warning. This is exactly what MOE has done.

I am guessing that in line with the new drive to have MORE good schools, MOE wishes to distribute top talent amongst the various good schools. As such, the 4 top schools are not allowed to poach talent which has signed on to other schools. The upside for parents is that if you've a very high t-score, you'll be on that school's watch list, and have your pick of the developmental opportunities the school has to offer. A bit like being in the best class in P5 and P6. This can work out better for your kid than having to compete with the rest of the best for such opportunities? The school will probably pay extra attention to your child because your child is their shining beacon of hope for glory.
                    :goodpost:

Pen88n

If MOE and the schs are willing to take in the appeals of the DSA CO cases, there will not be discussion here. The crux of the issue is MOE and the schs are not approving the DSA CO appeals for transfer now, and the parents (and kids) are feeling "unfair".

The truth is appeal is still an appeal and it is subjected to approval and it has its risk of not being approved. As DSA CO case, you cannot demand that your transfer be approved just because you are above the COP of the sch. Even if the schs has been accepting transfers in the past, it does not mean they must accept now. Same with S1 posting appeal, some sch has rejected despite being at the COP (past year they might have accepted). They have every right to reject you and they do not need to give you the criteria. So, where is the "unfairness" in this case?

• Y Offline
                        yamatomato

But there is at least one sch we know accepting it. this will trigger down to the other schools

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 31