2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
stressedoutmummy:
VS 1st day of school is a 3-day outdoor camp. Mummy has no chance to linger in the school.[/quote]oh ok, I am just curious to find out which class ds will be allocated in, plus purchase the PE T-shirts that were out-of-stock on the registration day from the school bookshop, so parrent will be allowed in the school campus on the 1st day?jtoh:
[quote=\"kitcat\"]Are you going to accompany your sec 1 ds/dd to secondary school on first day 3rd Jan except drive him/her by car there?
What do you mean by accompany your ds/dd to school? Aren't you just going to drop them off at the school? You can't accompany them into the school for the day, unless the school has expressly organized a parent activity like CCA orientation or something.
I've heard of parents who want to hang around the school on the first day of school or wander around the school. Please don't. Your kid is in Sec 1 already. He knows what to do.
[quote=\"kitcat\"]Are you going to accompany your sec 1 ds/dd to secondary school on first day 3rd Jan except drive him/her by car there?
What do you mean by accompany your ds/dd to school? Aren't you just going to drop them off at the school? You can't accompany them into the school for the day, unless the school has expressly organized a parent activity like CCA orientation or something.
I've heard of parents who want to hang around the school on the first day of school or wander around the school. Please don't. Your kid is in Sec 1 already. He knows what to do.
Schools allow it lah . Not all schools so unfriendly. eg. NJC has a whole morning of briefings which parents are allowed to sit in(actually quite boring). In fact, much of it is useful for parents to know. There are seats placed in the hall - enough for all the students plus parents. The actual orientation starts in the afternoon after lunch. Parents usually leave by then, after the briefing/lunch.[/quote]oh, seems NJC is good at communication and parents engagement, thanks for sharing. -
ilikecats:
hi, I heard nygh cop is 262 which includes HCL, your dd not in via s1 posting?
My daughter scored 260 plus 2 for her psle and had been called for interview by nygh, although the results is not known yet.South African:
Given this year 24 Dec is on Sat and 26 Dec Mon is a public hol, I think the appeal outcome is going to be delayed.
Anyone who has appealed and gotten the outcome, can you please share school, COP and if successful? This will help those who have submitted appeal know their chances as well as manage their kids' expectations.
So far, this is a compilation from the forum and frens:
- RI, 261, successful
- NYGH, 262, called for interview, not known yet
- NUS High, 26x, successful
- NUS High 25x, called for interview, not known yet
- ACSI, 247, unsuccessful
Anyone has more to add on? Let's start the ball rolling..... -
kitcat:
hi, I heard nygh cop is 262 which includes HCL, your dd not in via s1 posting?[/quote]Kticat, NYGH COP 262 means the last gal who got in NYGH has a T-score of 262. It does not mean all the 262s who applied for NYGH during the S1 posting got into NYGH. In fact, up to now, I heard 2 cases of 259+3 not accepted in via S1 posting.
My daughter scored 260 plus 2 for her psle and had been called for interview by nygh, although the results is not known yet.ilikecats:
[quote=\"South African\"]
Given this year 24 Dec is on Sat and 26 Dec Mon is a public hol, I think the appeal outcome is going to be delayed.
Anyone who has appealed and gotten the outcome, can you please share school, COP and if successful? This will help those who have submitted appeal know their chances as well as manage their kids' expectations.
So far, this is a compilation from the forum and frens:
- RI, 261, successful
- NYGH, 262, called for interview, not known yet
- NUS High, 26x, successful
- NUS High 25x, called for interview, not known yet
- ACSI, 247, unsuccessful
Anyone has more to add on? Let's start the ball rolling..... -
Pen88n:
Kticat, NYGH COP 262 means the last gal who got in NYGH has a T-score of 262. It does not mean all the 262s who applied for NYGH during the S1 posting got into NYGH. In fact, up to now, I heard 2 cases of 259+3 not accepted in via S1 posting.[/quote]Yes, I have 2 friends. One DD with 255+1 and another DS with 253+3 rejected by DHS via S1 posting although DHS COP is 256. Both appealing and no news yet.
hi, I heard nygh cop is 262 which includes HCL, your dd not in via s1 posting?kitcat:
[quote=\"ilikecats\"]
My daughter scored 260 plus 2 for her psle and had been called for interview by nygh, although the results is not known yet. -
NYGH VP during her welcome speech on 22nd Dec to the sec ones says that "there is a long wait list of 262s appealing to NYGH"
I would still send and then see what I can hang around to kaypoh about for part of the morning. Chit-chat with other parents as well. Usually I would just go to the canteen and harbour a cup of kopi to do that - observe the surroundings/environment/the older boys, then leave .... but this time I probably can only stay for a very short time. Have to send my youngest one to school too, so have to go home shortly after 8am.
What I'm saying is if the school allows it, and caters for the parents, it's fine. Some schools do hold joint briefings on the first day of school where parents are invited to join in. That's fine. But some schools have briefings/orientation etc expressly for the students that begin the first day of school. What's the point of parents hanging around during orientation? To watch their kids mingle with other children? To check out the classrooms? To see if the kids are eating lunch properly? The kids are Sec 1 already and parents have to let go.
In any case, i wouldn't hang around for lunch/dinner/break and orientation groups(!!!) - that's a job for telephoto lens while hanging around the canteen. HAHA.
The greatest no-no is accompanying your child to JC or Poly, I'd think!!! Sec 1 - 1st day ok, lah. -
ilikecats:
All the best! :rahrah:
My daughter scored 260 plus 2 for her psle and had been called for interview by nygh, although the results is not known yet. -
ycpang:
NYGH VP during her welcome speech on 22nd Dec to the sec ones says that \"there is a long wait list of 262s appealing to NYGH\"
Aiyo :yikes: but yes usually there are many kids scoring same marks in PSLE. -
Haha! I see. I'm not the sort to do that. But there are parents who do that even way into term time.
I would still send and then see what I can hang around to kaypoh about for part of the morning. Chit-chat with other parents as well. Usually I would just go to the canteen and harbour a cup of kopi to do that - observe the surroundings/environment/the older boys, then leave .... but this time I probably can only stay for a very short time. Have to send my youngest one to school too, so have to go home shortly after 8am.jtoh:
What I'm saying is if the school allows it, and caters for the parents, it's fine. Some schools do hold joint briefings on the first day of school where parents are invited to join in. That's fine. But some schools have briefings/orientation etc expressly for the students that begin the first day of school. What's the point of parents hanging around during orientation? To watch their kids mingle with other children? To check out the classrooms? To see if the kids are eating lunch properly? The kids are Sec 1 already and parents have to let go.
In any case, i wouldn't hang around for lunch/dinner/break and orientation groups(!!!) - that's a job for telephoto lens while hanging around the canteen. HAHA.
The greatest no-no is accompanying your child to JC or Poly, I'd think!!! Sec 1 - 1st day ok, lah.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.