2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    9.4k Posts 546 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
      vlim

less kiasu liao:
      vlim:

Just curious anyone doesn't get their 1 st choice 3 rd language?

Hi vlim, my dd did not get her 1st and only choice, French.
      Strangely, the letter we received from school says unsucessful, but her name was on the successful list in school. The school office told us the the computer made a mistake.

Oh is it... So she won't be taking any third Lang then?.... French must be very popular.

Selfan4ever.05005423

Admiralty

Ahmad Ibrahim
        Anderson
        Ang Mo Kio
        Anglican High E:248
        ACS(Barker Road)
        ACS(I) E&IB: 247
        Assumption English
        Balestier Hill
        Bartley
        Beatty
        Bedok Green
        Bedok North
        Bedok South
        Bedok Town
        Bedok View
        Bendemeer
        Bishan Park
        Boon Lay
        Bowen
        Broadrick
        Bukit Batok E:222
        Bukit Merah
        Bukit Panjang Government High
        Bukit View
        Canberra
        Catholic High
        Cedar Girls IP: 258/O’level:
        Changkat Changi
        Chestnut Drive
        CHIJ Katong Convent E:224
        CHIJ(Toa Payoh)
        CHIJ Saint Joseph’s Convent
        CHIJ Saint Nicholas Girls 249
        CHIJ Saint Theresa’s Convent
        Chong Boon
        Christ Church E: 201
        Chua Chu Kang
        Chung Cheng High(Main)
        Chung Cheng High(Yishun)
        Clementi Town E:229
        Clementi Woods
        Commonwealth E:236
        Compassvale
        Coral
        Crescent Girls E:243
        Damai
        Deyi
        Dunearn
        Dunman High E:257
        Dunman
        East Spring
        East View
        Edgefield
        Evergreen
        Fairfield Methodist
        Fajar
        First Toa Payoh
        Fuchun
        Fuhua
        Gan Eng Seng
        Geylang Methodist
        Greendale
        Greenridge
        Greenview
        Guangyang
        Hai Sing Catholic
        Henderson
        Hillgrove
        Holy Innocent’s High
        Hing Kah
        Hougang
        Hua Yi
        Hwa Chong Instituition IP: 258
        Juyuan
        Jurong
        Jurong West
        Jurongville
        Juying
        Kent Ridge
        Kranji E:230
        kuo Chuan Presbyterian
        Loyang
        Macpherson
        Manjusri
        Maris Stella High E;232
        Marsiling
        Mayflower
        Methodist Girls E:250
        Montfort
        Nan Chiau High E: 234
        Nan Hua High
        Nanyang Girls High IP:262
        National Junior College IP:258
        Naval Base
        New Town
        Ngee Ann
        North View
        North Vista
        Northbrooks
        Northland
        Orchard Park
        Outram
        Pasir Ris Crest
        Pasir Ris
        Paya Lebar Methodist Girls
        Pei Hwa
        Peicai
        Peirce
        Ping Yi
        Pioneer
        Prebyterian
        Punggol
        Queenstown
        Queensway
        Raffles Girls IP:261
        Raffles Instituition Ip:261
        Regent
        River Valley High IP:254
        Riverside
        Sembawang
        Seng Kang
        Serangoon Garden
        Serangoon
        Shuqun
        Si Ling
        Siglap
        Singapore Chinese Girls E:248
        Springfield
        Saint Andrews
        Saint Anthony’s Cannosian
        Saint Gabriel’s
        Saint Hilda’s
        Saint Joseph Instituition E:242
        Saint Margaret’s E:240
        Saint Patrick’s
        Swiss Cottage E:235
        Tampines
        Tanglin
        Tanjong Katong Girls
        Tanjong Katong
        Teck Whye
        Temasek
        Unity E:219
        Victoria IP: 255/E: 247
        West Spring E: 222
        Westwood E:210
        Whitley
        Woodgrove
        Woodlands Ring
        Woodlands
        Xinmin
        Yio Chu Kang
        Yishun
        Yishun Town E:232
        Yuan Ching E:214
        Yuhua
        Yusof Ishak
        Yuying
        Zhenghua
        Zhonghua

less kiasu liao

vlim:
          less kiasu liao:

[quote=\"vlim\"]Just curious anyone doesn't get their 1 st choice 3 rd language?

Hi vlim, my dd did not get her 1st and only choice, French.
          Strangely, the letter we received from school says unsucessful, but her name was on the successful list in school. The school office told us the the computer made a mistake.

Oh is it... So she won't be taking any third Lang then?.... French must be very popular.[/quote]She says she has no interest in the others. In our experience with her older brothers, we also felt she will likely drop out after a while even if she takes French......On the unsuccessful list, there were children who chose other languages too.
          Wonder if they were rated based on T score here too.

Snow Crystal

Wanna go RI...:
            Appealed to ri. Have a CO to ACSI Though. Still no reply... Any DSA CO Appeals have received reply? Very very anxious... Fingers crossed . 267 score.

:xedfingers:
            It seems that from this year onwards DSA CO Appeals are not allowed. We have not heard of any successful cases because of the strict adherence of MOE directive for no DSA Appeal. Go refer to thread DSA Appeal 2011 in this forum. Move on and be happy in your new school! All the best!

• O Offline
              oliveminx

Verysuperkiasu:
              oliveminx:

As I recall from last time, the clothes came back with plenty of mud. We made a mistake of letting him wear the brand new RI PE shirts and shorts...

really ah???? then can we don't let him wear the RI T shirt? Thought maybe i should email Year 1 Head Mr Lim to see if they can bring other T-shirts instead.

I just remembered that they had shot a video of the camp to be shown at a later time so maybe that's why they wanted everyone to wear the RI PE attire.

Ding

Hey. Sorry what type of questions will be asked during an interview for appealing to another sec school. (Dunman)

sth like what will you benefit from the school? or? then how should we answer them as I am not really good in interviews.

help? thanks!

VALyap

Snow Crystal:
                  Wanna go RI...:

Appealed to ri. Have a CO to ACSI Though. Still no reply... Any DSA CO Appeals have received reply? Very very anxious... Fingers crossed . 267 score.

It seems that from this year onwards DSA CO Appeals are not allowed. We have not heard of any successful cases because of the strict adherence of MOE directive for no DSA Appeal. Go refer to thread DSA Appeal 2011 in this forum. Move on and be happy in your new school! All the best!

move on…….so far heard that those that had accepted earlier DSA CO, their appeal not successful. MOE is dead serious about it. 🙏

jtoh

VALyap:
                    Snow Crystal:

[quote=\"Wanna go RI...\"]Appealed to ri. Have a CO to ACSI Though. Still no reply... Any DSA CO Appeals have received reply? Very very anxious... Fingers crossed . 267 score.

move on…….so far heard that those that had accepted earlier DSA CO, their appeal not successful. MOE is dead serious about it. 🙏[/quote]Have students actually heard back from schools telling them they've been rejected or is it that students haven't heard from schools at all? It's been the weekend and holidays so schools might start calling tomorrow if students haven't heard yet? Not giving false hope here. Just wondering.

Pen88n

Ding:
                      Hey. Sorry what type of questions will be asked during an interview for appealing to another sec school. (Dunman)

sth like what will you benefit from the school? or? then how should we answer them as I am not really good in interviews.

help? thanks!
                      I can't format interview answers for you, but I would like to alert you that since you are appealing for a sap sch, be prepared for a bilingual interview (just in case).

ilikecats

Has anyone here attended the appeal interview and had been rejected? I would like to know about it. Thks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 924 / 944