[Alexandra/Bukit Merah/Queenstown/Tiong Bahru] Preschools
[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]
Hi mommies, i was wondering if i should enrol my daughter to a kindergarten or childcare centre...Please give your valuable views and free to share your experiences. To add on, please recommend the childares or kindergartens for my references..
Provide a little background...I have enrolled my daughter (3yrs old) to preschool apple tree at Jalan Membina, however I realised she has been doing arts everyday and most importantly, the teachers actually did the colouring, pasting of stickers and cutting for them. When i start to questioned her on her daily activities in school, she is not able to tell me which i m quite upset. I often asked her teacher hows her behaviour and etc....the teacher will tell me she is okay...thats all...so after half a year, i decided to drop her out from school as there were no improvement shown... -
Tanyong:
Hi mommies, i was wondering if i should enrol my daughter to a kindergarten or childcare centre...Please give your valuable views and free to share your experiences. To add on, please recommend the childares or kindergartens for my references..
Tanyong, have you checked the rest of this thread yet? -
Actually, i m looking at Moral Childcare as my hubby is keen in leaving her in the childcare and moreover the price is very affordable. However, i m quite uncertain as i find the hours are too long for her.
I am looking at kindergartnen and childcare now....therefore it would be great to have more references here...at least parents here have sent their kids to the school before. I believe your feedbacks will be more reliable here...:) -
[quote]Yes i did still checking out...[/quote]Tanyong:
Tanyong, have you checked the rest of this thread yet? -
Any feedbacks on Bambini Montessori childcare? It's in Tiong Bahru close to Kim Tian Road.
http://www.bambinimontessori-childcare.com/ -
//Moderator's note: Topics merged.
I know this is stupid, but I like to seek ur advice again....
Previously i have posted a month ago regarding a MMI which my girl attended and I pulled her out the next day. I started her at cherie hearts at my work place. After a month, my girl has finally stop crying badly in morning.....
the complaints i have is that i have no visibility how she is throughout the day, cos they wont write in comms book, i dont know if she pooh or if she ate well or sleep well, cos at night, the teacher is normally not her key teachers liao, her key teachers knock off at 5.
and then i have no visibilty what is covered in the circullum since the news letter is only released per semester. not those weekly or even monthly types...
other than that, i thot she is fine.
but then this week monday, my colleague brought her girl in for the first time, and she pulled out right the next day, she shared the folowing observations with me:
1) lost of time lost waiting since children are moving class to class and dining hall, most of the tmie they are lost, standing aroudn waiting
2) teachers are not engaging, sing half hearted ly etc, and then children wander, they also wont make an effort to gorup them back, er the lost sheep include my girl
3) the books are all torn and some left with cover only...... nothing to read in class
4) during art time etc, there are not enough tables and chairs, no rotation, only those who got to the tabel first time can do it, then the rest hang around in the room zo bo again. er including my girl again
5) she think there is discipline problem cos the children are not well behaved, one boy even came up beat her thrice. and nothing much teacher could do
6) inexperienced teachers. i.e speak broken english, shout at the kids and then mos tof the time lost on what to do....
actually when iw as there, i only notice point 3. for the rest, perhaps i were there, they made a point to include my girl....
I dont know if the above calls for a concern esp if my girl is like end up doing nothing the whole day there leh.
i asked her if she liek her english teacher the one who always shout and punish children in naughty corner, she said no....
i dont know if i should switch her again.... but hor, how do we assess if a child care is good without trying out u see..... ah i am in such a dillemma, and i am worried i will traumatise her by changing again..... -
I would appreciate if any of the parent here can share with me experience with the child care in the west, esp in areas like depot/alexandra to West coast. Thanks!!
You may wish to consider Lorna Whiston Pre-School
@ Alexandra, dear..
Click the blue link to go
to their website. http://www.lornawhiston.com.sg/psweb/about.html
Chief, can help merge this with Bt Panjang/Bukit Timah Pre-schools? -
Hi, thanks for the response, I have considered that, but the school is very far away, as in not accessible by public transport.....You may wish to consider Lorna Whiston Pre-School
@ Alexandra, dear..
Click the blue link to go
to their website. http://www.lornawhiston.com.sg/psweb/about.html
Chief, can help merge this with Bt Panjang/Bukit Timah Pre-schools?
u have personal experience with this school? sigh wonder if i should take the car from my hubby instead....
sorry i thot west coast is far from bt panjang....? -
Hi Winnie Eng,
You may want to consider the following childcare-
Appleland Playhouse
Address: 104C, Depot Road, #01 - 03, Singapore 103104
Contact Number: +65 63770800
To really evaluate a childcare at least have to audit a few times then you can have good decision making! Of course for FTWM can't compare with those SAHM.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.