Nan Chiau Primary
larkspur:
Just want to ask on the timetable, they have this called CME, anyone knows wat is this? Also wat is FTGP?
CME - Civics &Moral Education
FTGP- Form Teacher Guidance Period
(The abbreviation behind the class timetable)
I checked the timetable again but i still din see the abbreviation you mentioned leh. Behind the class timetable is the table of which teaher teaching which subject. The only abbreviation i see is the CL which represents chinese, El for English and TL for Tamil. No mention of the abbreviation of CME and FTGP. Dun tell me different again[/quote]
My DD timetable show all the subject abbreviation. The timetable was dated 29 dec 2011.[/quote]
Mine too hv the subject abbreviation behind the class timetable. Perhaps you want to chk with the school admin. Without the abbreviation of each subject, it is quite difficult to identify which textbk to bring each day. -
ectanz:
I checked the timetable again but i still din see the abbreviation you mentioned leh. Behind the class timetable is the table of which teaher teaching which subject. The only abbreviation i see is the CL which represents chinese, El for English and TL for Tamil. No mention of the abbreviation of CME and FTGP. Dun tell me different again[/quote]larkspur:
Just want to ask on the timetable, they have this called CME, anyone knows wat is this? Also wat is FTGP?
CME - Civics &Moral Education
FTGP- Form Teacher Guidance Period
(The abbreviation behind the class timetable)
My DD timetable show all the subject abbreviation. The timetable was dated 29 dec 2011.[/quote]
Mine too hv the subject abbreviation behind the class timetable. Perhaps you want to chk with the school admin. Without the abbreviation of each subject, it is quite difficult to identify which textbk to bring each day.[/quote]
aiyoo dun tell me timetable also got variation. Do you mean to say it is stated behind the timetable for each abbreviation eg English, they stated which english books to bring, for Chinese whether that day have di zi gui or just the chinese textbook? -
Behind the timetable show only abbreviation for each subjects and teachers.
Art Art & Craft
CME Civil & Moral Education
FTGP Form teacher guidance period
MA math
PE Physical education
HE health education
MU music
SS Social Studies
EL English
CL Chinese -
smurf28:
mine different, only subject and subject teachers. Behind the timetable i see the below:Behind the timetable show only abbreviation for each subjects and teachers.
Art Art & Craft
MA math
PE Physical education
HE health education
MU music
SS Social Studies
EL English
CL Chinese
Art
English
Social Studies
Maths
Health Education
P.E.
Music
Mother Tongue: CL
The timetable has CME and FTGP but you see the above, there is no mention at all -
larkspur:
The inconsistency already happened in past yrs. I wonder who actually supported the teachers in all this admin work. Simple things like timetable should be at least standardised. Sigh.
mine different, only subject and subject teachers. Behind the timetable i see the below:smurf28:
Behind the timetable show only abbreviation for each subjects and teachers.
Art Art & Craft
MA math
PE Physical education
HE health education
MU music
SS Social Studies
EL English
CL Chinese
Art
English
Social Studies
Maths
Health Education
P.E.
Music
The timetable has CME and FTGP but you see the above, there is no mention at all
Going forward, you will be used to a lot of funny things. If the teacher teaches few subjects, your kids may be asked to bring Maths Textbook on a day without Maths and use it during Arts lessons
Cheers!
timtim:
The inconsistency already happened in past yrs. I wonder who actually supported the teachers in all this admin work. Simple things like timetable should be at least standardised. Sigh.
mine different, only subject and subject teachers. Behind the timetable i see the below:larkspur:
[quote=\"smurf28\"]Behind the timetable show only abbreviation for each subjects and teachers.
Art Art & Craft
MA math
PE Physical education
HE health education
MU music
SS Social Studies
EL English
CL Chinese
Art
English
Social Studies
Maths
Health Education
P.E.
Music
The timetable has CME and FTGP but you see the above, there is no mention at all
Going forward, you will be used to a lot of funny things. If the teacher teaches few subjects, your kids may be asked to bring Maths Textbook on a day without Maths and use it during Arts lessons
Cheers![/quote]Aiyoo really can faint liao. i realised these 3 days i have been busy finding out information, not like some of my frens just packed their children to school and that's it.
Now i will just wait and see when they are going to annouce the compulsory basketball and speech and drama. anyway i just signed my girl for the alumni program. No point waiting for school anymore -
timtim:
I strike it out and saved $9...won't be stupid for the 2nd time.[/quote]
Ya, I recalled that this hv been discussed before in the previous posting but don't understand why the CL cards are listed in the booklist as compulsory. The book store juz packed inside the box. No choice lah!ectanz:
Sadly the CL cards won't be used at all. Think this has been shared in this forum before. So you can keep at home and use it yourself. Hee hee
I did the same thing for P2 last yr & guess what? I had to rush to Popular (sch bookshop no stock) to buy the set of 2A & 2B cards for DS to use during the LAST few days of term 4!!
So it really depends on individual teachers.
Likewise for books, homework, chinese ็ฌ่ฎฐ etc...different teachers will hv different ways of doing things.
DS had to submit his 2B maths text & workbook b4 June sch hol. Guess teacher didn't want them to learn in advance & feel bored in class.
So it will b v confusing if u tried to check w other classes. If really urgent, try calling sch to check w teachers directly (leave a msg w the admin) if they hv yet to give out their email addresses or just write a note to teacher in handbook (DS still doesn't receive his yet.
).
ectanz:
thanks. i also called n office told me parents can bring it in. was asking my DS what to bring n he insisted that teacher said not compulsory during assembly yesterday. think DS is afraid to bring to wrong place. will do for him.
Hi dombry, juz call the school admin this afternoon regarding the donation issue. She replied that P1 newies can pass their donation to their teacher.dombry:
re: food donation
we can't bring them on Kids' behalf? i was going to do it on fri.
re:timetable
dun Hav any problems but surprised that there are so many differences between classes. if same teacher teaches 2 or more subjects, will teacher inform Kids beforehand the subject will be switched?
also when is the handbook going to be issued? -
timtim:
DS' science/art teacher had just briefed them on this.
Cheers!
dombry:
thanks. i also called n office told me parents can bring it in. was asking my DS what to bring n he insisted that teacher said not compulsory during assembly yesterday. think DS is afraid to bring to wrong place. will do for him.
Hi dombry, juz call the school admin this afternoon regarding the donation issue. She replied that P1 newies can pass their donation to their teacher.ectanz:
[quote=\"dombry\"]re: food donation
we can't bring them on Kids' behalf? i was going to do it on fri.
re:timetable
dun Hav any problems but surprised that there are so many differences between classes. if same teacher teaches 2 or more subjects, will teacher inform Kids beforehand the subject will be switched?
also when is the handbook going to be issued?[/quote]From past experiences, what office said might not b what teachers will (or willing to) do. There is an obvious communication breakdown between the depts or the front line staff was just trying to placate callers. So best to check w teachers.
Re: usually teachers will inform class if need to bring books that r different from time-table.
Re food donation:
Was it so early last yr? Things hv yet to settle down (the bookshop Q is so long & teachers r requesting for outstanding books/items), DS is bringing tons of books for submission today & tomo. Yet food donation drive now? :siao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.