Nan Chiau Primary

3.3k Posts 171 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
    • VeveyV Offline
      Vevey

timtim:

Going forward, you will be used to a lot of funny things. If the teacher teaches few subjects, your kids may be asked to bring Maths Textbook on a day without Maths and use it during Arts lessons πŸ™‚ Cheers!
      DS' science/art teacher had just briefed them on this.
      🀷

• VeveyV Offline
        Vevey

dombry:
        ectanz:

[quote=\"dombry\"]re: food donation

we can't bring them on Kids' behalf? i was going to do it on fri.

Hi dombry, juz call the school admin this afternoon regarding the donation issue. She replied that P1 newies can pass their donation to their teacher.

thanks. i also called n office told me parents can bring it in. was asking my DS what to bring n he insisted that teacher said not compulsory during assembly yesterday. think DS is afraid to bring to wrong place. will do for him.

re:timetable
        dun Hav any problems but surprised that there are so many differences between classes. if same teacher teaches 2 or more subjects, will teacher inform Kids beforehand the subject will be switched?

also when is the handbook going to be issued?[/quote]From past experiences, what office said might not b what teachers will (or willing to) do. There is an obvious communication breakdown between the depts or the front line staff was just trying to placate callers. So best to check w teachers.

Re: usually teachers will inform class if need to bring books that r different from time-table.

Re food donation:
        Was it so early last yr? Things hv yet to settle down (the bookshop Q is so long & teachers r requesting for outstanding books/items), DS is bringing tons of books for submission today & tomo. Yet food donation drive now? :siao:

timtim

Vevey:
          timtim:

Going forward, you will be used to a lot of funny things. If the teacher teaches few subjects, your kids may be asked to bring Maths Textbook on a day without Maths and use it during Arts lessons πŸ™‚ Cheers!

🀷

It happened when time is running out and teacher become desperate, so sacrifice \"non-essential\" subjects for the core ones. It usually happens towards end of term. I heard some school sacrifice most PE lessons to teach core subjs.

• VeveyV Offline
            Vevey

timtim:
            Vevey:

[quote=\"timtim\"]

🀷

It happened when time is running out and teacher become desperate, so sacrifice \"non-essential\" subjects for the core ones. It usually happens towards end of term. I heard some school sacrifice most PE lessons to teach core subjs.[/quote]Art will b used as Science's public holiday replacement lesson in DS' case. 🀷

dombry

vevey,

form teacher returned my call regarding maths textbook, i should have checked with her. form teacher will return when lessons commence.

re:collect books
              DS asking to put all the possible books in coz teachers will collect them anytime. Wah, heavy lei. faint

• G Offline
                gals_mama

timtim:
                Vevey:

[quote=\"timtim\"]

🀷

It happened when time is running out and teacher become desperate, so sacrifice \"non-essential\" subjects for the core ones. It usually happens towards end of term. I heard some school sacrifice most PE lessons to teach core subjs.[/quote]Think this yr may not be the same. As MOE has accepted PERI recommendations, I heard that non core subjects are taught by trained trs in that subject area for example art.

• G Offline
                  gals_mama

timtim:
                  larkspur:

[quote=\"smurf28\"]Behind the timetable show only abbreviation for each subjects and teachers.

Art Art & Craft
                  CME Civil & Moral Education
                  FTGP Form teacher guidance period
                  MA math
                  PE Physical education
                  HE health education
                  MU music
                  SS Social Studies
                  EL English
                  CL Chinese

mine different, only subject and subject teachers. Behind the timetable i see the below:

Art
                  English
                  Social Studies
                  Maths
                  Health Education
                  P.E.
                  Music
                  Mother Tongue: CL

The timetable has CME and FTGP but you see the above, there is no mention at all

The inconsistency already happened in past yrs. I wonder who actually supported the teachers in all this admin work. Simple things like timetable should be at least standardised. Sigh.

Going forward, you will be used to a lot of funny things. If the teacher teaches few subjects, your kids may be asked to bring Maths Textbook on a day without Maths and use it during Arts lessons πŸ™‚ Cheers![/quote]I asked ard n found out that trs gave differently cos they want to give their pupils a more personalised n customised timetable

• VeveyV Offline
                    Vevey

dombry:
                    vevey,

form teacher returned my call regarding maths textbook, i should have checked with her. form teacher will return when lessons commence.

DS asking to put all the possible books in coz teachers will collect them anytime. Wah, heavy lei. *faint*
                    Re book collection:
                    We tackled this differently. Only bring textbooks as per time-table & any workbook that teachers specifically told them to submit (still adds up to alot!). Teachers will close 1 eye for the 1st 1-2 weeks lah.
                    DS was quite worried on 1st day when he only brought his Journal for holiday book record submission, as we didn't hv the time-table yet. Turned out that most of his class also just brought a small bag. :evil:

dombry

Vevey:
                      dombry:

vevey,

DS asking to put all the possible books in coz teachers will collect them anytime. Wah, heavy lei. *faint*

Re book collection:
                      We tackled this differently. Only bring textbooks as per time-table & any workbook that teachers specifically told them to submit (still adds up to alot!). Teachers will close 1 eye for the 1st 1-2 weeks lah.
                      DS was quite worried on 1st day when he only brought his Journal for holiday book record submission, as we didn't hv the time-table yet. Turned out that most of his class also just brought a small bag. :evil:

thanks, told him bag will be heavy but he more anxious Abt not being able to submit the books. was also thinking now honeymoon period for all, so should be ok.

will be better prepared for #2 turn.

• G Offline
                        garbage8889

Hello all

Is Nan Chiau primary affiliated to Nan Chiau High school?

Apologies if it has been mentioned but the thread is 170 pages long and i hope someone can provide a quick reply.

Many thanks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 167 / 326

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        BokchoyB
                        Bokchoy