which school to choose?
my son is now 15mths. i prefer private pre-school. which area you looking at? i’m looking at sengkang/punggol area.
Oic. Our sons will be together in the N1 2013 intake then
Unless you are thinking of starting him at play group at 18 mths?
I am in the process of compiling the different registration dates of various kindys. But because I'm also considering private preschools, I will also compile their waiting list lengths. FYI, registration for Chiltern House (and etc...) waiting list has already started this month.
I have been calling up those in the north, central and west areas. Let me know if u're interested to know these, and/or add your research for northeast area. I'm sure other parents would like to know too. The info out there is such a mess, I just want to organize things for easier planning
hi there,
of course i'm interested.. love to see what you got.
i think i giving up chiltern coz of the distant.. i wanna put him in playgroup but apparently those that i call is all FULL.
let me know if u have those near me...most importantly is the teachers n if it will benefit the kid... :rahrah: -
Tried to post a table but it could not show here. Any idea how to post tables in this forum?
I propose having the following columns:
[list]- [*]Name of kindy/preschool
- [*]Registration system (waiting list/physical Q)
- [*]Priority given to
- [*](For general public) waiting list/physical Q starts on
- [*]Latest known number in waiting list/physical Q
- [*]Expected date of confirmation/invitation to enroll
- [*]Waiting list booking fee (non-refundable)
- [*]Fees per month/per term (before subsidy)
[/list]Currently I have some of the above info for Chiltern House, EtonHouse, Marymount Kindergarten, St James Church Kindergarten, Barker Road Methodist Church Kindergarten, Nanyang Kindergarten, Newton Kindergarten. Will be calling up to verify/add more soon, since by now the first week of school havoc should have died down abit.
If you have any suggestions or special requests, please let me know k...
Schoolhouse by the bay also not bad. Learning ladder.com.sg
Not sure Abt table -
Hi I have started a new thread for my compiled list:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=30809&p=688069#p688069
We can still discuss the \"soft\" factors for choosing a preschool here, if u like
Have u visited Pat's yet? Can try to bring yr son along...cos most impt is yr son likes the envt & teachers there. -
Hi zac’s mum,
May i know which location are you looking at? -
I hv yet to visit any yet. But will be doing tat soon… It’s quite tough to make decision. Have u?
Mneo, I understand…especially I think northeast area u got a lot of choices! Too many to choose from also headache sometimes.
Discuss with yr hubby ba…see what’s impt to both of u.
For us, we notice that most of the preschools dun have a solid curriculum. When I ask, they will say, "Oh, kids at this young age learn thru play, so we set up various stations for hands-on play." Personally, this thing I also can do at home lor.
So we narrow down to those which offer something really different & special. Chiltern House is known for training kids in public speaking (they take turns to perform at morning assembly). But we’re also concerned that private preschools dun prepare kids enough for P1. So we’re turning to more structured kindys instead.
Mimama, distance is not a factor for me, since my place quite central. Are u also looking for a preschool? How old is yr child? -
i think schoolhouse by the bay in Katong CC is not bad coz i talk to the OM and she is really nice n patient. its run by a canadian n they have seperate english n chinese classes. on top of that they have other activity in the noon if u r in for full day. but my only problem is transport since their bus driver dun pick up fm punggol.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.