Paya Lebar Methodist Girl's School (Secondary)
Hi ptmom, glad to have a ‘new’ addition. Must visit this site more often, ok?
Hope there’s a parent from S3 joining so I can enquire about what to expect in S2. -
My alma mater is NYGH/HCJC. Wish the clock can be turned back to those good old days where fond memories still linger at one corner of my mind. Hey Zhenx we may have met each other at the bus stop outside HCJC or at the opposite road. I think let's better stop discussing this issue before we progress to asking which year we graduated and deducing our age
Welcome ptmom. Hope to see more parents with kids in PLMGSS sharing in this forum, be it new learning tips/growing pains of their teenage girls etc. More power to PLMGSS and may it see its banding status improve by leaps and bounds in 2012 and beyond! -
UnLuckyOrLucky:
My alma mater is NYGH/HCJC. Wish the clock can be turned back to those good old days where fond memories still linger at one corner of my mind. Hey Zhenx we may have met each other at the bus stop outside HCJC or at the opposite road. I think let's better stop discussing this issue before we progress to asking which year we graduated and deducing our age
Welcome ptmom. Hope to see more parents with kids in PLMGSS sharing in this forum, be it new learning tips/growing pains of their teenage girls etc. More power to PLMGSS and may it see its banding status improve by leaps and bounds in 2012 and beyond!
I missed that Tues Newpaper but managed to view a brief report in e-newpaper. :stompfeet:
How's your girl adapting to S1? Now still in honeymoon? I remember the schedule after Sept holidays was very tight last year. Very little time to prepare for EOY exam and the pressure was worse than psle. :imconstipated: Hope your DD doesn't experience that. :?: -
I wonder if this forum mainly caters to those parents of top schools like RGS/RI/NYGH/HCI etc.. or parents worried sick about their child's P1 registration? Otherwise, how come just the 2 of us are in this forum at most times? Maybe most of the parents of PLMGSS are not Kiasu enough
Anyway, so far my girl has been giving her thumbs-up to the food served in PLMGSS canteen. Sushi/sandwich/hokkien mee and all that. I think the canteen serves delicious yet healthy food. She really loves the food there.
She has been shortlisted for the school's netball team but I'm worried that this may be too harsh a CCA for her due to possible intensive training that may be expected of her. What's your opinion on this? What's your girl's CCA if you may share? Does she enjoy it and how frequently is she expected to stay back for practice weekly?
Furthermore she plays Piano/Violin so I'm just concerned her fingers may be hurt in such sports. Do share. And I do hope that some kind parents out there from PLMGSS with kids studying in Sec 3 and up would come forward and share with you some precious tips or your Sec 2 daughter too
Since always only 2 of us, I’ll do away with the quote. Maybe most parents do not know about this link.
My girls agrees that the food is much tastier than her pri sch’s.
My girl is in the Girls’ Brigade. Her strength is in music cos she also take piano but she is not very keen to learn a new instrument like harp or handbell so we respect her choice. Anyway GB has bible study, drill and community work so it fits the bill. Her CCA is once a week for lower sec and non-NCO. Otherwise twice. So far, only mar and sept holidays have CCA activities. None in jun and dec holidays which is great.
Sports CCA is very competitive. Your girl must be very good at it. My girl’s classmate appealed for 2nd audit to get in. She is our neighbour so we get to see her training (by jogging) very hard to build stamina. Pimples also develops badly but it depends on individual hygiene and body. Initially she showed my girl her bruised hands due to training but ok now. They are v busy when there’s competition. She trains during Dec holidays too. If your girl is very keen in netball, I think it’s good way to keep fit. I think you can check CCA timetable from sch website on the frequency of training. -
One more thing, is your girl in the music aesthetics class? Mine was in S1. We thought that ‘music at o level’ can replace a humanity subject in S4. Then we realise that only ‘higher music’ can and it requires the pupil to play 2 musical instruments. So she has quit the class this year. I saw that 100% pupils got distinction for higher music in 2011 so perhaps your girl can try.
Sorry unluckyorlucky. My girl's friend is from the volleyball team, not netball. :siao: Similar only.
Yes, I do hope my girl will be able to enter their Music Aesthetic programme if given a chance. Let’s see.
I’d thought that getting into a IP school is like securing a passport to a prestigious JC, but I was wrong. My Sec4 girl in NYGH told me that a few of her friends in Sec 3 were retained due to poor grades. And also, if anyone in Sec4 gets a Mean Subject Grade (MSG) >3, she will not be promoted to HCI. Sad eh?
Also, I was told that China churns out top graduates in the order of 5 million or more per year, so you can imagine the stiff competition our young ones will face in future, not only against them but also the cream of the crop from other regions. I do think pure academic excellence alone is not sufficient if one wants a secure a living in future (a decent one of course). Look at this earth teeming with 7 billion people and growing, and yet more stomachs being left unfilled. If the heat of our daily toil at this present age is getting to us, what more for our kids in another 10-20 years from now? Sorry if sounded too preachy. -
Wah, you very ‘cheem’ leh. Indeed, just yesterday, my friend told me her girl’s S3 class (a certain A school in AMK ) has 7 additions of Chinese scholars. They are picked for competitions and the former S2 local top students got to ‘kao bian zhan’. Aliens invasion is already manifesting itself in leaps and bounds. Heard about it from my nephew in RI many years back. He felt unfairly treated but I thot it only pertained to top schools. We used to have Asean scholars in our JC too right? But they don’t post any ‘threat’. Now I heard even schools with COP around 230 have invited Chi scholars into their schools to boost academic results.
Btw, music aesthetics don’t require any selection/audition, min G3/G5 will do. Just submit name when music teacher asks. S1 lesson starts after S2 because it’s the same teacher. So got to wait for 1h 10 min.
May I ask, for CCA, can uniform group pupil achieve the 2 points bonus by S4 if she is just an ordinary member who attends regularly?
Does your elder one need/have time for tuition or assessment books? -
To be honest, I am as clueless as you where this CCA bonus points are concerned. Just know that if one score an 'A', he/she will be entitled to 2 bonus points.
Yesteraday in Parents meet Teacher session for my Sec 4 girl, they briefed about the various H1, H2 subjects, but strangely nothing was mentioned about CCA or maybe I didn't stay back for Q&A session. The China thingy also came out from there.
My elder girl didn't buy any assessment book for her studies. She just relied on friends (group study in the Starbucks Cafe in Coronation Plaza can you believe this?) and teachers for help. Theirs are IP programme so daily work carries some weightage and then final exams carry something like 50% that sort of thing. So it's like consistent efforts are needed throughout the year. Just heard them emphasizing this year is so so important for them so better don't mess up etc etc...
China thingy also came out from there 
Please don't use my elder girl as a good example because last time I toiled and sweat and burnt midnight oil for subjects like Geography/History but I look at the way she studies I couldn't stand it. She studies with her i-gadgets on or beside her and makes me wonder even more how she can concentrate like that. And she must go to bed early or she can't concentrate the next day. Anyway, so it's different folks different strokes.
Yah... to say that I don't feel a tinge of sourness whenever I saw these FT in our schools or other places is lying. I know their presence here are good for our Singapore but still... ..hmm the feelings is no good if you ask me.
But what to do? I guess this is the only way for us to be on our toes at all times right
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.