Raffles Girls' Primary

7.2k Posts 564 Posters 2.9m Views 1 Watching
      Luanee

ER and ooioo’s names updated on first page.

Tania and Anon, dont mind sharing which levels are ur girls at now?

Any other new parents here??

KSP

Oops!!! Checking attendent now.

Who is not here? Please put up you hand.

rivervalley

Hi Luanee,

My daughter is in P1.

moonee

Tania:
            ER:

I hope parents here don't mind my saying my 5 cents share here. I agree sleep and rest is important and it seems to be top on the mind of parents here. Then why not enrol in a school near home? Sometimes, you can't have the cake and eat it too.

I put my girl on the bus because I am a working mum. I am also one who whine when my girl is dropped off 5 minutes later. But if you think about it, do you think the driver not want to start his day later and end earlier too? Everyone is just trying to make a living in an expensive city we live in.

I like yr post too. :goodpost:

Why dun parents enrol their kids in a school near home? :?

agree, after all raffles is just a government school like any other 😄

• O Offline
              ooioo

Hi Moonee, Tania, ER,

I totally agree with all of you that if given a choice, putting your child in a school near by is the right choice, that is why MOE have the 1,2 km thing for P1 registration.

My girl was from a neighbourhood school, we used to walk to school everyday, then MOE says that she is special and the nearest special school is RGPS. So now i am stuck in this position, else my girl used to wake up 6.50am and is the first few to arrive in her school.

But the giss of the matter is that sch bus transport here sucks big time, why so many parents, who are not well to do enough to drive, and send our kids have to suffer from lousy services.

If the students are working adults and if the school is a corporate/company, they will arrvie only 5,10 minutes before office/school hour starts.

Just because students/ children don’t complaint, their timing is shifted to ridiculous hours and timing

MummySTay

ooioo,

Do you mind telling us where exactly you stay?

kayamilo

Totally empathise with parents of morning session here. My daughter just transited to the morning session this year (in P3) and has to get up by 5.30am to board the bus at 6.10am. Nonetheless, she has taken it in her stride and is very positive about it.

I’m actually writing to ask if any parent in the Eastern/Central area may be interested in sharing a return cab home on Friday afternoons, when my daughter only gets dismissed at 2.30pm. Otherwise, she ends up having to wait for 2 hours for the 4.30pm CCA bus to bring her home. We live near the Stadium. Please do message me. Thanks!!!

aqeqiq

The weekend is finally here for me so I can chat a bit.

Sympathise with parents and children who live far from school. We used to live near ang mo kio and had to rush my dd to school through traffic. We are now closer but as I wake up at 5.30, I know how sian it is especially when one is not naturally a morning person. There is definitely wisdom in choosing a school near home if one can help it.

Tania

MummySTay:
                      ooioo,

Do you mind telling us where exactly you stay?
                      She stays near CCK/Dairy Farm area.

Luanee

rivervalley:
                        Hi Luanee,

My daughter is in P1.
                        Thanks, updated and welcome to the RGPS family..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 360 / 721

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies