Tks, autumnbronze and cherrygal.
Can join the RC as a member? -
wan2bdad:
Can.Tks, autumnbronze and cherrygal.
Can join the RC as a member?
Btw how old is your child?
Born in which year? -
cherrygal:
I asked before and they said they may discontinue the PV programme. So it will be safer if you join the grassroots at that area now.[/quote]I've been waiting for Rosyth to open their PV application for 2008 child BUT they suddenly stop recruiting this year!!!!!!autumnbronze:
[quote=\"wan2bdad\"]Need some help, I plan to apply as a PV at Rosyth next year for my DS primary 1 intake, does Primary accepts PV?
Hi there,
From what I have heard, they are not taking in PVs next year.
You may want to call the school to double confirm.
:stupid: I called & asked the school but they couldn't give me a reason lor... :rant:
Guess Rosyth has too many current students’ parents still volunteering so no real use for Phase 2B PVs any more.
Your only chance is to move within 1km and join RC now. Minimum 2 years active participation. -
cherrygal:
I stay within 1km of rosyth, thot of joining RC but my hse falls in different GRC zone with Rosyth, and heard we cannot join other Area RC/NC rite? Haiz...Guess Rosyth has too many current students' parents still volunteering so no real use for Phase 2B PVs any more.
Your only chance is to move within 1km and join RC now. Minimum 2 years active participation. -
NoeNothinG:
I stay within 1km of rosyth, thot of joining RC but my hse falls in different GRC zone with Rosyth, and heard we cannot join other Area RC/NC rite? Haiz...
The PA only issues letters for volunteers to apply schools within the same GRC as the RC/NC you volunteered at. You either beg AMK GRC to allow you to volunteer at one of their RCs (check at the CC) or you move again. If not, just try at Phase 2C (1km). -
Fighting for a popular school is simply too stressful - move house within 1km, buy/rent 2nd property, school volunteer 40 - 60hrs, RC/NC volunteer many more hours, end up at phase 2B only and still may not get in…
I was tearing my hair out that day over this P1 thing when my parents reminded me that ultimately, if the parents are rich, the kids will still be pushed into universities and good jobs despite their average grades or average primary schools. There are so many examples… -
cherrygal:
Already checked, the answer is no... Heard Even yes u can only join as associate member, which not eligible for p1 priority registration...NoeNothinG:
I stay within 1km of rosyth, thot of joining RC but my hse falls in different GRC zone with Rosyth, and heard we cannot join other Area RC/NC rite? Haiz...
The PA only issues letters for volunteers to apply schools within the same GRC as the RC/NC you volunteered at. You either beg AMK GRC to allow you to volunteer at one of their RCs (check at the CC) or you move again. If not, just try at Phase 2C (1km).
Try balloting at 2C... Hmm, we juz tried last yr & got balloted OUT!! Not sure if we can take it one more time, ha... Ha... Ha... Haiz -
Then if you really want Rosyth, you must move again to the same GRC to volunteer. That’s a small sacrifice for your dream. If you can’t move or buy another property because of Minimum Occupation Period (flat) etc, then just leave it. There are other schools around the area that are not too bad - St Gabriel’s, CHIJ OLGC, Xinmin Primary etc…
I know how you feel. I drawn up so many "P1 strategies" that I got so tired and stressed up. Some strategies even required me to buy/rent 2 or more properties and volunteer at both school and GRC level. Super kiasu… -
Cherrygal,
We juz moved here one year ago, not possible to move again (in short period), Wont it sound silly if we move again juz wan to be in that GRC zone? Dun think we will go to that kind of extend… Sound crazy ler… Haha!
There r only 2 schools within 1km of my hse, which rosyth n xin min… To me since both only require balloting in 2c so might as well try the better one, hehe… St Gabriel cannot la, outside 2km so sun think got chance…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.