All About Church/Clan/Society Membership

1.9k Posts 321 Posters 863.6k Views 1 Watching
      Littlefly

Need some advises here.

If we join as SHHK member, do we still need to do PV just to 'play safe'?
      How active do we need to be before we get a letter? I heard that members need to volunteer actively to have higher chances.

Would SHHK still recommend a seat in 2B if we stay >1km but <2km from their schools?

Having said that, if we fail in 2B, then can we switch to apply a different school (within 1km)? My interpretation is that based on balloting result in 2011, it seemed a gone case if we stay >1km if we fail to secure a seat in 2B.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/registration-2011-p1-phase-2c?page=5

hquek

Hi littlefly,

If you join clan, you can do pv work for shhk to increase chance that shhk give you a letter. There is NO guarantee they will give it to you even if you clock 40 hours and above. Other stuff like tenure of membership comes into play. I don’t think they will discriminate if you stay far away, but I won’t know. And in any case, most shhk schools are pretty impossible to get into if you stay more than 2km. So you may want to consider if you should even do that.

PV in school will guarantee you a letter to qualify for 2B once you hit their required hours.

I’m assuming you refer to what happens if you fail in 2B. In that case, you are free to apply for any school in Singapore under 2c. There is no requirement you must try the same school.

That said, my recommendation is to use 2b very wisely. 2c is more difficult to get into becos it’s open to all.

Littlefly

Thanks Hquek. Agree that 2B is critical but luck is something we cannot influence.

SHHK schools staff told me balloting is required even at 2B and cut-off those outside 1km. Currently we stay within 1-2km of the SHHK schools so means our chance is as good as zero even if we get the letter from SHHK or clocking PV hours.

Another option left is to move <1km of the choice schools but if luck is not on our end then we move for nothing and my child would have to end up travelling far out just to attend a less than desired school.

For 2B, when we fail to secure a seat in School A, then its Phase 2C?
          If fail 2C in school B, can try 2C in school C ? what is 2C supp?

Hi littlefly,

If you join clan, you can do pv work for shhk to increase chance that shhk give you a letter. There is NO guarantee they will give it to you even if you clock 40 hours and above. Other stuff like tenure of membership comes into play. I don't think they will discriminate if you stay far away, but I won't know. And in any case, most shhk schools are pretty impossible to get into if you stay more than 2km. So you may want to consider if you should even do that.

PV in school will guarantee you a letter to qualify for 2B once you hit their required hours.

I'm assuming you refer to what happens if you fail in 2B. In that case, you are free to apply for any school in Singapore under 2c. There is no requirement you must try the same school.

That said, my recommendation is to use 2b very wisely. 2c is more difficult to get into becos it's open to all.

• tankeeT Offline
            tankee

Littlefly:

For 2B, when we fail to secure a seat in School A, then its Phase 2C?
            If fail 2C in school B, can try 2C in school C ? what is 2C supp?

if fails in 2B, you are allowed to apply for the same school under 2C.

if fails in 2C in school B, you can only school C in 2C supplementary. Or you can opt for MOE to do the allocation in 2C supplementary

Littlefly

Thanks Tankee.

Littlefly

This process is indeed nightmarish - even the pv program of my secondary choice is full and have to be waitlisted!

Mickey1975

can i check did anyone call up SHHK to enquire about the date for submission for the referral letter?

I called up and was told that the application form would only be available in Apr 2012…Just checking if someone else called and got a difference reply.
                  Thanks

larkspur

Mickey1975:
                    can i check did anyone call up SHHK to enquire about the date for submission for the referral letter?

I called up and was told that the application form would only be available in Apr 2012...Just checking if someone else called and got a difference reply.
                    Thanks
                    The availability of the form is normally from Apr onwards every year. My fren who is still volunteering in SHHK acitivities registering this year told me that the staff told her forms will be ready in from mid apr.I think if you are volunteering in the activities, you will be informed by the SHHK staffs. but heard from my fren that staff in SHHK told her this year members going to do registration for Nan chiau in coming june hit a record high. they have 1 long list of members going to register this year. my fren was so worried that she is clocking 60 hours of volunteer work already and planning to clock close to 80 hours just to be safe as most of the members she gets to know most have membership of close to 4 years and my fren is members for 4.5 years in june

Mickey1975

thanks for the reply.

heard from a friend that each executive members of the SHHK have a wild card for the referral letter…not stated in the website thus dunno whether is it just another ‘rumour’…

larkspur

Mickey1975:
                        thanks for the reply.

heard from a friend that each executive members of the SHHK have a wild card for the referral letter...not stated in the website thus dunno whether is it just another 'rumour'..
                        Not sure what you mean by executive members. are you referring to the committee members and the management( the council level such as the chairman, excutive chairman, treasurer etc)? They can only do 1 referral per member. i ever saw one mummy approaching a committee member asking for her permission to put the committee member's name in her referral form as the SHHK staff will call up the committee member to check that the person is indeed doing the referral. The committee member told the mummy that she cant be her referral as each committe member can do only 1 referral and she has done that for another mummy.But having a referral from committee or council member does not guarantee you to have the referral letter, you need to put in volunteer hours too cos now they are very strict on this. i did 40+ hours of volunteer and got a referral from council level( the referral is a fren's fren's boss). Imagine i have to choop the referral 1.5 years before i register my girl that time with the help of my fren's fren and that the committee are very strict that you have to do volunteer hours before they want to recommend you to have the recommendation letter.

But if you volunteer many hours liao, dun need the referral loh . For me being a kiasu mummy, i just want double protection

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 108 / 193