Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
Yes certainly you can Chenon... :hugs: :hugs:Chenonceau:
[quote=\"ksi\"]Chenon dear, don't feel tired. I believe the idea of sharing resources is an agreeable one but the implementation is to be discussed. What piggy says is true too, getting teachers to share what they hv prepared is an uphill task. Perhaps there should be a curriculum team in MOE, not just discussing framework n give guidelines to schools only but detail content sharing. For MOE to invest in content is a given. For MOE to protect their investment of their content is also a must since tuition is so lucrative in SG. However I am sure there is a way around this but takes longer. If MOE does not want to go big in content development, at least use the curriculum team to research on good materials available in the market to be put into the book list as options for purchase. For mandatory ones, work on a subsidy with publishers for bulk book purchase to ensure all children get at least decent mandatory textbooks.
Yeah... I guess I owe Piggy a little apology... it's been a crabby day all day. :imsorry: Piggy.
Seriously though... why are we so kind to MOE huh? If they dun wanna put resources into content development? They dun wanna? What has what they wanna do got anything to do with anything huh? Nobody asked my son whether he wanna write Chinese compos more difficult than his textbook passages to pass his compo leh...
Top civil servants in MOE are paid a pretty penny... probably more money in ONE year than the old lady who clears my plates at the hawker centre has made in her lifetime. Dun wanna? It isn't dun wanna... it's whether they SHOULD.
Oh ksi...
May I borrow your shoulder?
You know regardless of how big packages people get, no one sticks out their neck so easily. It usually takes people a very long time to make decisions. I also mentioned that MOE working on content is a GIVEN, no 2 ways about it.[/quote]Making textbooks more comprehensive *or more adequate) necessarily means adding to the content of the current textbooks, and many teachers themselves may feel unconfident of having to cover more syllabus? Especially teachers of weaker classes? I'm not sure - just wondering aloud. This is because, there are many good resources available that everyone seems to know of (like onsponge math, TAS's creative writing book etc) that are in the market and are accessible to all teachers. Some schools and teachers require that students procure extra books beyond the textbook. Some school-based proprietary material exists, and structurally, I can understand why schools and teachers selfishly keep them to themselves, because they want to help their own kids and they are measured on this count. It is their hard work. At the same time, there are enterprising enough current and former teachers who have devised resources for the market.
I think there's nothing stopping teachers from churning out their own resources, and we should encourage them to, because they are they ones who can customize best to their students' learning needs. It is our good fortune if our children are taught by such dedicated teachers. Speaking of which, a gold-prized worksheet to one student, might be useless to another student. It is not just the resource per se, but how it is presented and whether it is suited for the child's learning need at that point in time.
At the same time, I believe there is a need to 'level the playing field' in a sense that the syllabus requirements must be refined, updated and true to what it will test. Secondly, the MOE should publish sample or equivalent questions. Third, never mind if MOE curriculum specialists have no time or are unable to produce good resources. A database of good learning resources, even endorsing those created by commercial entities, should be made available to everyone.
Poor teachers are probably overwhelmed - esp those who have to handle multiple subjects. -
doodbug:
Perhaps opposition politicians will have more guts to TELL these civil servants what to do. I've been a loyal PAP supporter all these years but increasingly, I realise that the PAP has so much baggage with the civil service that it may be healthier for the country to have a clear change.
But Chenonceau, unlike politicians, the faceless civil servants are not accountable to the people, are they? They face a different set of incentives?
LKY used to berate the civil servants he inherited from the British to move with the times. Today, our civil servants paint beautiful pictures of past glories and use these to justify the system failures of today, and our Minister is mesmerised by the beauty of the painting... and loses touch. -
doodbug:
Not something that occurred to me... but... whoa! :goodpost:Chenonceau:
I absolutely understand. If you had asked me in end-P4, I would have maintained that we have a world class system too. Besides, I ain't on a warpath... I'm on something of a ladylike, gentle mission. Voilà ! A bit of nuance there...

Oh oh Chenonceau and many other KSP mommies, I think I am probably more critical. My kids are not near P5, and yet I don't feel that the education system is worldclass on many counts.
First, it is extremely narrow, and doesn't embrace going 'broad' before going 'deep'. Granted, the system is GREAT at producing mathematical and analytical kids, and for the languages, it hones exam-smart students. However, the content of our syllabus at the Primary School level is nowhere as broad and rich as in Western countries. Can you imagine, within our system, it is completely fathomable that top PSLE kids are good at the 4 subjects, but have no appreciation or knowledge of geographical manmade or natural landmarks, where the USA or China is, major historical events and their learning points, anything about Singapore's culture and history, major sporting feats, or any inkling or appreciation for major literary works, or musical or artistic works. Our world is...so narrow. Has anyone watched 'Are you smarter than a fifth grader?' - It gives an idea of what 5th graders in the US are exposed to. Certainly, they are nowhere as good in model mathematics or ratios or whatever. However, I firmly believe that content specialisation and depth can be picked up later in life. Learning calculus at 10, 12, 14 or 16 - is there a huge impediment to acquiring it later?
Broadness of vision gives one so much more appreciation of specific disciplines in future. It helps children appreciate so much of life and this world. Life is beyond English, Mother Tongue, Math and Science - unfortunately, this is the paradigm of life for many Singaporean children.
Sorry if this sounds out of this world. -
doodbug:
Another :goodpost:
Making textbooks more comprehensive *or more adequate) necessarily means adding to the content of the current textbooks, and many teachers themselves may feel unconfident of having to cover more syllabus? Especially teachers of weaker classes? I'm not sure - just wondering aloud. This is because, there are many good resources available that everyone seems to know of (like onsponge math, TAS's creative writing book etc) that are in the market and are accessible to all teachers. Some schools and teachers require that students procure extra books beyond the textbook. Some school-based proprietary material exists, and structurally, I can understand why schools and teachers selfishly keep them to themselves, because they want to help their own kids and they are measured on this count. It is their hard work. At the same time, there are enterprising enough current and former teachers who have devised resources for the market.
I think there's nothing stopping teachers from churning out their own resources, and we should encourage them to, because they are they ones who can customize best to their students' learning needs. It is our good fortune if our children are taught by such dedicated teachers. Speaking of which, a gold-prized worksheet to one student, might be useless to another student. It is not just the resource per se, but how it is presented and whether it is suited for the child's learning need at that point in time.
At the same time, I believe there is a need to 'level the playing field' in a sense that the syllabus requirements must be refined, updated and true to what it will test. Secondly, the MOE should publish sample or equivalent questions. Third, never mind if MOE curriculum specialists have no time or are unable to produce good resources. A database of good learning resources, even endorsing those created by commercial entities, should be made available to everyone.
Poor teachers are probably overwhelmed - esp those who have to handle multiple subjects.
Doodie... keep on writing. You write beautifully and you think clearly. Write more. Start a blog. Write to the press. Write here. Write in other forums or facebook. -
nani:
:goodpost: :celebrate:Dear Chenonceau
Just to let you know, I'm quietly following you :oops: ...What you say is exactly how I feel as a MOTHER...I'm just not good with words :oops: . A big :thankyou: , \"I\" REALLY need people like you.
All else to me is sai hei...haiz...super super tired with the system :slapshead: :stupid: -
kitty2:
:hugs: Thank you so much both. Let's all speak up... to every person we can. In every small way.
:goodpost: :celebrate:nani:
Dear Chenonceau
Just to let you know, I'm quietly following you :oops: ...What you say is exactly how I feel as a MOTHER...I'm just not good with words :oops: . A big :thankyou: , \"I\" REALLY need people like you.
All else to me is sai hei...haiz...super super tired with the system :slapshead: :stupid:
It's amazing isn't it. Our MOE thinks it is world class when...
(1) its textbooks look like chick lit
(2) it makes each school and teacher write its own teaching resources
(3) it recruits sex fiends
(4) it drives our children to meet KPIs, and when a few of them make it in US varsities, it congratulates itself.
Wow... MOE's top civil servants have delusions of grandeur. -
nani:
Ah Heng and his staff got come in here and read wan or not :roll: :rant: ...27 pages liao if he still don't come in..bery hard to catch up one lei :skeptical:
Alamak, Ah Heng won't read lah. He must be busy thinking how to con the rest of the world how world class SINGAPORE education system is. US just got conned. -
Bingo!! :goodpost:
Perhaps opposition politicians will have more guts to TELL these civil servants what to do. I've been a loyal PAP supporter all these years but increasingly, I realise that the PAP has so much baggage with the civil service that it may be healthier for the country to have a clear change.doodbug:
But Chenonceau, unlike politicians, the faceless civil servants are not accountable to the people, are they? They face a different set of incentives?
LKY used to berate the civil servants he inherited from the British to move with the times. Today, our civil servants paint beautiful pictures of past glories and use these to justify the system failures of today, and our Minister is mesmerised by the beauty of the painting... and loses touch.
Not only education..medical and police as well. Here's another convo :
Child: But doesn't mean opposition will be able to do a good job?
Parent: But if I already know the current party not doing their job well why don't I give the other party a chance to proof themselves?
wake up wake up..speak up speak up :please: -
No true leh, I remember the girl who did so well who later appeared in Brands' advertisements - there was much credit given to her parents for bringing her to library often.
Their delusions of grandeur are founded upon parents/tutors' success at enriching kids.janet_lee88:
No need to top the whole cohort, but topping the kids in the top classes in the school is good enough.
MOE is blind to us. When kids of top guns do well (maybe some don't and get sent overseas), will they bother with our kids ? We still have to attend mainstream, not international schools. We pay money to tutors to teach our kids what the school teachers should be doing. When our kids do well, school gets the glory. Amazing :slapshead: -
No true leh, I remember the girl who did so well who later appeared in Brands' advertisements - there was much credit given to her parents for bringing her to library often.[/quote] :? It's still parents bring right? Not the school bring? Bring to library is also parent enrich kids what... My kid has no enrichment class but I also bring to library and enrich him there. It is still my effort that the MOE is claiming glory for.
Their delusions of grandeur are founded upon parents/tutors' success at enriching kids.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]No need to top the whole cohort, but topping the kids in the top classes in the school is good enough.
MOE is blind to us. When kids of top guns do well (maybe some don't and get sent overseas), will they bother with our kids ? We still have to attend mainstream, not international schools. We pay money to tutors to teach our kids what the school teachers should be doing. When our kids do well, school gets the glory. Amazing :slapshead:
:? Which part not true hah?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.