Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level

526 Posts 47 Posters 114.7k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
      :? Which part not true hah?

This part: When our kids do well, school gets the glory. Amazing

they said that MOE pays people well and trains teachers well. No mention at all about parent efforts and the thousands of $ parents spend on enrichment.[/quote]Yes, I do agree on the with you on this, and that it is not the parents who pump in the tuition and enrichment that got the glory. That girl was given lots of mention in the papers because she spent most of her time reading (and not tuitions) and it was a right message to highlight in the papers - and was why it tries to convince parents, I think, that it isn't tuitions and pumping in enrichments that could bring success in PSLE.

• doodbugD Offline
        doodbug

I thought I recalled another PSLE top student who was quoted as saying she completed over 200 assessment books or something?

There will be kids who do well, not because of tuition, but because they have parents who have chosen to sacrifice much time and effort to enrich their kids.

Bottom line is, tuition and enrichment, regardless of the providers, be it commercial entities or one’s parents, are necessary to doing well, or some say coping, within the current system.

• doodbugD Offline
          doodbug

doodbug:

But Chenonceau, unlike politicians, the faceless civil servants are not accountable to the people, are they? They face a different set of incentives? 🙂

Perhaps opposition politicians will have more guts to TELL these civil servants what to do. I've been a loyal PAP supporter all these years but increasingly, I realise that the PAP has so much baggage with the civil service that it may be healthier for the country to have a clear change.

LKY used to berate the civil servants he inherited from the British to move with the times. Today, our civil servants paint beautiful pictures of past glories and use these to justify the system failures of today, and our Minister is mesmerised by the beauty of the painting... and loses touch.

Also, many of our Ministers rose from the Civil Service ranks 🙂 They wrote tons of papers to justify the current system - it was their job to!

• doodbugD Offline
            doodbug

Whichever minister is appointed as EDUCATION will never understand. I can only hope we have strong enough opposition parties with integrity & honesty to step out and voice out for us. Alternatively, MORE daddies to speak out as well in ST forum.

The newly appointed civil servants are mesmerized by the beauty of past glories (sorry to have to quote), they do not know nor are aware that this is NOT like before. Things have changed...inserting more time for PE nor getting kids to buy IPADS is just conning the world how good education system is...but IT IS NOT.
            Hi Janet,

I am slightly more pessimistic here. Education is important, no doubt, but the voices for a change in education are weaker than for targetted single issues like too many S-pass holders, MRT trains, or flooding/ponding. Education is HUGE and WIDE. It's hard to put a finger on to - it's almost as broad as land planning, rather than a neater sharper problem like long queues for HDB rental flats.

So I don't think the opposition parties will choose to champion education - perhaps a small aspect of it, like raising the cohort participation or number of university places. But to tackle fundamental problems within the education system, it's hard for anyone or any party.

But, must continue to hope for a miracle right, otherwise, we rant and write (and in the process help policy makers to sharpen the thought process) for what.....

Daddy D

And most if not all MOE schools have these awards...

Singapore Quality Class
              Best Practice Award (got a lot of sub categories)
              School Distinction Award
              Sustained Achievement Award (also got a lot of sub categories)
              Excellence in Partnership
              And many more...

Pretty meaningless.... :slapshead:
              No motivation to change or do anything different, when the system has rewarded and recognize itself as the best.

Daddy 😧
                And most if not all MOE schools have these awards...

Pretty meaningless.... :slapshead:
                No motivation to change or do anything different, when the system has rewarded and recognize itself as the best.
                Some awards are well, admirable...but what are the awards for ? Ok, perhaps some schools do have best practices and also caring teachers and warm principals. What MOE is trying to do is hoodwink the world lah.

Chenonceau

Kekekekeke! Janet, I don’t think MOE is dishonest lah… they may be deluded and think they’re really great, but I dun think they intend to con anyone. They REALLY think they’re the best.

jtoh

Kekekekeke! Janet, I don't think MOE is dishonest lah... they may be deluded and think they're really great, but I dun think they intend to con anyone. They REALLY think they're the best.

:rotflmao: Chenonceau, you've got a wicked sense of humour. :rotflmao:

Kekekekeke! Janet, I don't think MOE is dishonest lah... they may be deluded and think they're really great, but I dun think they intend to con anyone. They REALLY think they're the best.

Yes, MOE is doing something which they are GOOD at...they live in a world of their own...till retirement so as not to rock the boat nor affect their appraisals.

doodbug:

Bottom line is, tuition and enrichment, regardless of the providers, be it commercial entities or one's parents, are necessary to doing well, or some say coping, within the current system.
                        This is true and therein lies the big problem we are trying to solve.....for the majority.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 29 / 53