Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level

526 Posts 47 Posters 114.7k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

doodbug:

ooh! Another sacred cow leh. Without private schools, MOE can hold to the claim that education is almost free and is accessible to all Singaporeans. Education is a social leveller, and there is an even playing field, it is a meritocratic society.

Once private schools are allowed, errr...MOE can't claim the above.
      😂 😂 Touché babe!

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

oh gosh chen! 1st chick lit now magazines as text books. :rotflmao:

That got me thinking actually, if when I was studying, my textbooks were chick lit and magazines, I would have bothered to thumb through them. Every year, I donate my textbooks in mint condition to the needy. My father will say one can tell how much you have studied just by looking at the condition of your books. To which I will say, one does not need textbooks to pass exams. :razz:

You clever mah... I needed my textbooks. If no need textbooks to pass exams now... then why MOE make me/us all buy? Just say no need lor...

Haiz, touchy point I guess.

It is precisely because the textbooks don't offer much in terms of pertinent info that is why I say dun need text. Notes from teachers and friends were more effective.

Goodness. :slapshead:

Chenonceau

[quote=\"Funz\"]:rotflmao:

That got me thinking actually, if when I was studying, my textbooks were chick lit and magazines, I would have bothered to thumb through them. Every year, I donate my textbooks in mint condition to the needy. My father will say one can tell how much you have studied just by looking at the condition of your books. To which I will say, one does not need textbooks to pass exams. :razz:

You clever mah... I needed my textbooks. If no need textbooks to pass exams now... then why MOE make me/us all buy? Just say no need lor...

Haiz, touchy point I guess.

It is precisely because the textbooks don't offer much in terms of pertinent info that is why I say dun need text. Notes from teachers and friends were more effective.

Goodness. :slapshead:[/quote]Seriously though... dun buy is better than buy the magazines leh... at least I save some money to buy 2 good books from tuition centres. Kekekekeke!

This highlighted one not true in secondary school at least during the time I was in school. For all the lessons I missed back then at sec 2, if without good textbooks, I would not have been able to self-learn and did well for my exams. Right now, since the difficulty have been brought downwards to primary level, good textbooks would aid revision and allow the child to have a second chance to look at some concepts explained if they missed it in school. In the past we did not have hectic CCA at primary school to glorify the school with medals and trophies but today such CCA is rampant at primary level. So all the more, revision at home or refresher at home with good textbook will allow a child to do their homework better after a hard day at CCA. Personally my child is very involved in CCA at primary level now so I can imagine if a child has no one to coach, at least good textbooks come in handy. My child is not facing any issues now but I cannot rule out CCA-hectic kids can cope with homework without any guidance and especially time is very tight. And if guidance come from parents, good textbooks will be godsend and take away the unnecessary stress.

• doodbugD Offline
              doodbug

This highlighted one not true in secondary school at least during the time I was in school. For all the lessons I missed back then at sec 2, if without good textbooks, I would not have been able to self-learn and did well for my exams. Right now, since the difficulty have been brought downwards to primary level, good textbooks would aid revision and allow the child to have a second chance to look at some concepts explained if they missed it in school. In the past we did not have hectic CCA at primary school to glorify the school with medals and trophies but today such CCA is rampant at primary level. So all the more, revision at home or refresher at home with good textbook will allow a child to do their homework better after a hard day at CCA. Personally my child is very involved in CCA at primary level now so I can imagine if a child has no one to coach, at least good textbooks come in handy. My child is not facing any issues now but I cannot rule out CCA-hectic kids can cope with homework without any guidance and especially time is very tight. And if guidance come from parents, good textbooks will be godsend and take away the unnecessary stress.

Yes yes yes that's why we need better textbooks at the Primary level!!

nani

Is cca complusory at primary school?

Chenonceau

nani:

No... CCA is not compulsory in primary school. However, many parents like to strategise and pick the CCA for their child that will best beef up their portfolio in secondary school and for DSA. Secondary schools don't allow children to choose CCAs by interest alone. Kids are tested and screened and then put into the CCA, such that the school can use the best talent to win prizes.

Hence, you are more likely to get into the CCA of your choice in secondary school if you have been trained since primary school.

Champion

nani:

No... CCA is not compulsory in primary school. However, many parents like to strategise and pick the CCA for their child that will best beef up their portfolio in secondary school and for DSA. Secondary schools don't allow children to choose CCAs by interest alone. Kids are tested and screened and then put into the CCA, such that the school can use the best talent to win prizes.

Hence, you are more likely to get into the CCA of your choice in secondary school if you have been trained since primary school.

Hi! hi! Thought that CCA is compulsory from P3 onwards :? At least for what I see in my DDs' school, you have to choose one unless you have a valid reason to opt out 🤷

:thankyou:

bebe

nani:

I thought CCA is compulsory at least for upper primary? No? CCA at lower primary is more of elective and parents can choose not to go for it.

• qmsQ Offline
                        qms

Hi! hi! Thought that CCA is compulsory from P3 onwards :? At least for what I see in my DDs' school, you have to choose one unless you have a valid reason to opt out 🤷

:thankyou:
                        CCA is not compulsory in some schools. Well, at least I know of some students who do not have CCAs since they were P5.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 37 / 53