Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
CCA is not compulsory in son's school...if he takes CCA as well, he won't have time to sleep this year.
CCA is not compulsory in some schools. Well, at least I know of some students who do not have CCAs since they were P5.Champion:
Hi! hi! Thought that CCA is compulsory from P3 onwards :? At least for what I see in my DDs' school, you have to choose one unless you have a valid reason to opt out
It’s still good to give the child a CCA lah… even if not with the school. My DS tried out 3 CCAs in school, but he didn’t really engage with any of the 3. In the end we found a sport outside school which he loves. I intend to let him continue right through the year, right up to PSLE.
I also make sure he jogs daily… boy mah… later got NS. I dun want him to collapse and die in NS. -
CCA is not compulsory in son's school...if he takes CCA as well, he won't have time to sleep this year.[/quote]
CCA is not compulsory in some schools. Well, at least I know of some students who do not have CCAs since they were P5.qms:
[quote=\"Champion\"]Hi! hi! Thought that CCA is compulsory from P3 onwards :? At least for what I see in my DDs' school, you have to choose one unless you have a valid reason to opt out
Good morning mummy Janet :snuggles:
Yes, dd1 has CCA twice per week and it is 2 hours each time :skeptical: -
CCA is compulsory in our school in upper primary so no escape for us to bring in medals and trophies...:). So for us is not about strategy for DSA, it is called 'bo pian' and the hours are very long.
CCA in daughter's school is compulsory from P3 or P4.
Good Morning Mummies
Sometimes, learning is more effective if you don’t bother about it for a while. The CCA allows him to think about things other than academics… and this clears his head. So, when he comes back, he is full of energy and has cleared his head. A few times, we have found that he just can’t do something… but when we take time off and come back, it appears so easy.
CCA is important, whether compulsory or not. -
Sometimes, learning is more effective if you don't bother about it for a while.
I'm doing something that contradicts myself - telling myself to allow mys on to go easy on CA1 but yet my migraine is acting up bcos I don't want him to do too badly for it. :stupid: It's driving me crazy.
Went out yest...but my mind is on this stupid CA. -
At primary school level, after 12 hrs in school, n still hv hw to chase, it can be quite siong for some kids. So with short hours to complete hw after shower n dinner, good resources can speed up hw. That is the crux of bringing cca into the picture, not abt cca per se.

Janet, relax... If already prepared just let go and let the child perform his best. -
At primary school level, after 12 hours in school, n still hv hw to chase, it can be quite siong for some kids. So with short hours to complete hw after shower n dinner, good resources can speed up hw. That is the crux of bringing cca into the picture, not abt cca per se.

Yes lor... with good resources, the child can bone up on his own. All through the ages, good students have been those who put in independent study hours without the Teacher. All through the ages too, this meant reading. My DS however, has nothing much to read if I don't give him extra readings to do. -
Janet, relax... If already prepared just let go and let the child perform his best.
Not what I would describe as 'prepared'...he hasn't touched any CA1 paper at all. That is what worries me. Finishing school hw daily is an accomplishment already. :imdrowning:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.