Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
Thank God no one told me that. I was BLISSFULLY unaware and NO ONE called up. I think I would freaked out if someone told me this. Actually, I had to ask DS if he remembered correctly because I have NO recollection that he had ever got that mark... but he assured me that he got that mark for Math in P3.
Getting a Band2 or below in P1/2 could be viewed as quite a serious matter in some schools. The issue could offen be classified as the kid have learning difficulties.KSP:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]Fat Mama... we had a good laugh last night with DS 'cos we both couldn't sleep. He told me that on one occasion, he and his friends were comparing the LOWEST mark they ever got. His classmates were all flabbergasted when DS told them that he had ever gotten 64 before in lower primary. He took the prize for getting the lowest mark ever in that group of kids.
Now, he laughs about it. Back then, I think he was miserable.
Oh well... ignorance is bliss in this case.[/quote]Now this is not possible anymore...KSP.com already spills all...
Now this is not possible anymore...KSP.com already spills all... -
Fair enough. Like I mentioned, I support your cause for better resources....but I'm just trying to say, after this better resources are out, there will be other 'test' and the call for better resources will restart.
They test anyway. Might as well provide the resources so I dun have to look for them... and kiddies whose moms don't look can have.
It might never end even if we make noise. But if we don't make noise, it WILL never end.
Perhaps I'm pessimistic, in my view it will NEVER end cos' it's just human nature.Chenonceau:
DS's school imo is a lousy school, maybe in the bottom 25%? Yes I'm relaxed cos' they test reasonably. And yes, I'm blessed that DS is strong in Maths, but there are 4 subjects. He has his downs....in P4, he scored 70+ for Science and low 80s for Eng & Chin. So what does that make him - stupid? Just because some of his classmates could score 95 for Sci and 90s for Eng/Chin? No doubt I was worried and of course gave him some scoldings as I knew he could do better. But I told him, \"Do your best. If you had done your best, there's nothing to regret. In this world, there are always people who are smarter/slower than you are, accept that. Catch up if you can, but dun give up, then you'll get worse. Most importantly, daddy & mommy know you tried and we'll be proud with whatever you achieved.\" I know all these talk about self-esteem etc, yes...they should not be put down, but they should also know the reality, even kids that's there's always someone better than you are. Up to now, DS still questions me how come some of his classmates can be playing sooooo much computer daily but still did better than him......sorry, no answer, some are simply smarter and absorb better loh.Actually ah... if your school is the sort that tests reasonably and you are quite relaxed, that's nothing wrong. Or if your kid has done English or Math as CCA, and cluster whatever, then also no need worry... that should be enough enrichment-cum-CCA, and it'll help in PSLE
In due time, your kid will be ready for more ready for PSLE than we were because we didn't do CCA-cum-enrichment. DS flunked early last year some parts of the exams. Just count your blessings lor... that you made these CCA choices for your DS. We each make our choices. Sometimes, I do think I was stupid to insist that I wanted DS to take a sport to balance out the academic so even when he asked, I said no to Math Olympiad till this year, when the school asked again. There was also some literary club that he liked but I said no too and insisted on a sport.
On the CCA choices, DS made his own choices. He likes to play sports, so he chose sports. He likes Maths, so he chose Maths club. If I had made the choices and exerted my authority, I would place him in Scouts and would only allow 1 CCA. But I think he's happier with his choices and since they are not critical, rather he be happy. Now at P6 with hardly any time to rest, I still did not force him to drop them tho I can.
And precisely because he likes Maths & quite strong in it, he was selected for MO competition. B4 that, my friend had asked me repeatedly to start him in Maths tuition, I did not.....but after the NMOS competition, I realised he had the potential and interest and that was when he started his MO enrichment....P4 Term3. -
Becontented, I like your attitude and approach and I think you are a good mother too. Know your child well is the best thing you can ever do for your child.
BeContented:
Lucky you.
DS's school imo is a lousy school, maybe in the bottom 25%? Yes I'm relaxed cos' they test reasonably.BeContented:
My DS thought he was dumb-dumb too. I didn't scold him though. He was already feeling dumb. I just told him \"Dumb is ok. You're my son and I'm not that smart, but we mustn't stop trying.\"And yes, I'm blessed that DS is strong in Maths, but there are 4 subjects. He has his downs....in P4, he scored 70+ for Science and low 80s for Eng & Chin. So what does that make him - stupid? Just because some of his classmates could score 95 for Sci and 90s for Eng/Chin? No doubt I was worried and of course gave him some scoldings as I knew he could do better. But I told him, \"Do your best. If you had done your best, there's nothing to regret. In this world, there are always people who are smarter/slower than you are, accept that. Catch up if you can, but dun give up, then you'll get worse.
BeContented:
When I said something like that he yelled at me and said I was biased. So I cannot tell him this.Most importantly, daddy & mommy know you tried and we'll be proud with whatever you achieved.\"
BeContented:
Good for you. If I let my DS choose, he will choose Math and Science club. He will run FAR away from sports. Since I thought he was low ability, I only allowed ONE CCA, and it HAD to be a sport because I was worried that when come NS, my boy might collapse and die if he whole day do Math and Science.On the CCA choices, DS made his own choices. He likes to play sports, so he chose sports. He likes Maths, so he chose Maths club. If I had made the choices and exerted my authority, I would place him in Scouts and would only allow 1 CCA. But I think he's happier with his choices and since they are not critical, rather he be happy. Now at P6 with hardly any time to rest, I still did not force him to drop them tho I can.
And precisely because he likes Maths & quite strong in it, he was selected for MO competition. B4 that, my friend had asked me repeatedly to start him in Maths tuition, I did not.....but after the NMOS competition, I realised he had the potential and interest and that was when he started his MO enrichment....P4 Term3. -
You are right....view can be quite different between parents with failing/borderline/average kids/high ability/GEP.
The view is very different when your kids aren't failing. At first, I thought my own DS was stupid. Now that I have taught him myself, I know he isn't more dumb than I am. He was failing because he was tested way beyond what the school taught. If you have no bandwidth to teach, at least provide the resources for self-study. But no... I had to buy these resources myself and beg them from parents in other schools for my son to self-study.
Specialized resources. We're unlucky. Some schools do provide these resources, written by their own Teachers. Parents in such schools can relax also.
Well, I dun know which school provide specialized resources, certainly not DS school. In fact, imo it's in the bottom 25% school. So far, it seems that many school will have >10 students with PSLE score >250 in each cohort...DS school <6 every year. In fact, the top class is scoring is 185 - 265. :sick:
Relax or not, it all lies on our expectation and personality. -
BeContented:
Actually, I think the problem is in the differentiating exam. If we can accept that people don't have to differentiate very finely into PSLE score of 6 decimal places... and that talent is distributed evenly across secondary schools, then the push to test ever higher will be much reduced.
Fair enough. Like I mentioned, I support your cause for better resources....but I'm just trying to say, after this better resources are out, there will be other 'test' and the call for better resources will restart.
Perhaps I'm pessimistic, in my view it will NEVER end cos' it's just human nature.
There is merit you know in having students of different ability learn together. There are social and character lessons inherent in mixed ability teaching. Stream into classes for easy teaching but distribute top talent across schools. If we do this, then PSLE doesn't have to differentiate so finely at the top... and thus would not need to push the bar up so fast. -
BeContented:
Actually if my DS is in such a school, I might be happier. The issue is in the self-esteem. If he faces poor results every exam in his school but does horrendously well in PSLE, it still means that he will have had many blows to his self-confidence.
You are right....view can be quite different between parents with failing/borderline/average kids/high ability/GEP.Chenonceau:
The view is very different when your kids aren't failing. At first, I thought my own DS was stupid. Now that I have taught him myself, I know he isn't more dumb than I am. He was failing because he was tested way beyond what the school taught. If you have no bandwidth to teach, at least provide the resources for self-study. But no... I had to buy these resources myself and beg them from parents in other schools for my son to self-study.
Specialized resources. We're unlucky. Some schools do provide these resources, written by their own Teachers. Parents in such schools can relax also.
Well, I dun know which school provide specialized resources, certainly not DS school. In fact, imo it's in the bottom 25% school. So far, it seems that many school will have >10 students with PSLE score >250 in each cohort...DS school <6 every year. In fact, the top class is scoring is 185 - 265. :sick:
Relax or not, it all lies on our expectation and personality.
BUT, if he does reasonably and consistently well in every school exam and manages a 240+ in PSLE, he'll still get into a decent school with self-esteem intact. I think we are on the same page in that we BOTH think that no matter how dumb we really are, we mustn't stop trying.
It's easier to keep hopes up in a school such as yours. Then when your kid is adult, he'll know to keep trying. -
If education is about meritocracy, then having better textbooks or at least a prescribed list of resources will go some way towards levelling the playing field for the kids whose parents are illiterate or who did not have as much education. These parents would likely not be able to afford good tuition/enrichment, know which assessment or guidebooks to buy or be able to surf the net, for eg this site to find out info. They may not even realise that the child lacks resources. When the child fails exams, they may just think the child is just not as bright and hence, is unable to catch up and be resigned to the failure. If the kid has the resources and is motivated, at least he or she can do self-study.beanbear:
BUT, one must be very discerning to find GOOD teaching or GOOD resources from the centre. Otherwise really wasting time & money.
So instead of letting poor parents swim around for these, let the school prescribe, since they are the ones who set the exams....think this is what Chenon has been asking for all the kids. -
I believe I know what you are driving for.....and I am very impressed with your conviction (am I using correct word? my english not too strong
Actually, I think the problem is in the differentiating exam. If we can accept that people don't have to differentiate very finely into PSLE score of 6 decimal places... and that talent is distributed evenly across secondary schools, then the push to test ever higher will be much reduced.BeContented:
Perhaps I'm pessimistic, in my view it will NEVER end cos' it's just human nature.
There is merit you know in having students of different ability learn together. There are social and character lessons inherent in mixed ability teaching. Stream into classes for easy teaching but distribute top talent across schools. If we do this, then PSLE doesn't have to differentiate so finely at the top... and thus would not need to push the bar up so fast.
think my chinese stronger leh). Yes....distribute top talent across schools & let students of different ability learn together.....I agree. But like I said....I am pessimistic that it'll happen. Human are pretty competitive.....
As for differentiating exams....that's life I guess. Just like in a working world, there are rankings.....I really dunno if it should exist or not......
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.