Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
beanbear:
Yeah... Janet, you, linden, psle2011mum, violin_lover, fat mama and ksi (plus others) have given me a lot of courage to keep speaking up for kids in mainstream without access to the kind of resources we 4 2012 PSLE Moms provide to our kids.
Thanks so much lah for your affirmations & encouragement. :hi5: Eversince I participated more actively in the KSP forums, I've been encouraged to turn my convictions into commitments. Your postings provoke me to think beyond my comfort zone and reading about other parents' challenges, trials, efforts inspire me to be a better parent. I think I go crazy oredi if we didn't have each other in this forum. :grphug:
Thank you. -
Dd has supp class 3X a week, from 1.30-3, on Mon, Thurs & Fri. She has sports CCA on Mon & Thurs from 4-6.30. So as you can see, she's in sch for the whole day on Mon & Thurs. When she comes home, she brings tons of hw, both from normal curriculum hrs and supp class. There's no way she can finish her hw in these 2 days. Many times, she fell asleep at the dining table in the midst of doing her hw! When she goes to school with incomplete hw, kena scolding by teacher some more.
So yesterday, I told her to skip supp class so that she can finish up some of her hw before her CCA. Today, teacher called her and ask for a letter explaining why she did not attend supp class. She said she need to pass the letter to the principal. When dd told me this after sch, I was furious! :stompfeet: What is she trying to do? Scare my dd? :mad:
I told dh about this and he said that he's going to write a letter directly to the P. It doesn't make any sense going for supp class when the kids are already tired and doing hw just for the sake of completing them, without a chance to internalize whatever that is being taught. -
Sorry...donch get u about this GEP thingy. Other than being in GEP class, he is very ordinary....also get his share of poor results but I donch think it's because he is tested beyond what is taught...maybe the school donch give a wide range of 'sample questions', but if he is able to apply the concept or some technique he was taught correctly, he shd ge the answer.
No... sooooooooooo, your kid failed test after test in GEP and you are worried (or not at all)? :? -
wait...so if i don't help my kids (like go relearn how to do math and go read up science guides) and just shove him a pile of assessment books and yet expects him to do well, i am hoping for the moon? :scared:
No la..jedamum, the better resources or supplementary resources is also for the parents/guardians who want to self-guide kids at home. Idea is not to propagate tuition as a nation. If kids can self-learn, that is a bonus parents will find out. -
linden2000:
If education is about meritocracy, then having better textbooks or at least a prescribed list of resources will go some way towards levelling the playing field for the kids whose parents are illiterate or who did not have as much education. These parents would likely not be able to afford good tuition/enrichment, know which assessment or guidebooks to buy or be able to surf the net, for eg this site to find out info. They may not even realise that the child lacks resources. When the child fails exams, they may just think the child is just not as bright and hence, is unable to catch up and be resigned to the failure. If the kid has the resources and is motivated, at least he or she can do self-study.[/quote] :hi5:ksi:
[quote=\"beanbear\"]BUT, one must be very discerning to find GOOD teaching or GOOD resources from the centre. Otherwise really wasting time & money.
So instead of letting poor parents swim around for these, let the school prescribe, since they are the ones who set the exams....think this is what Chenon has been asking for all the kids.
That's good. I'm happy for you. In mainstream, as you can see, many are. Teachers have classes of 40... must write their own resources... so they co-opt parents' help to teach by testing beyond. When kids fail, we either coach ourselves or find tuition.
Sorry...donch get u about this GEP thingy. Other than being in GEP class, he is very ordinary....also get his share of poor results but I donch think it's because he is tested beyond what is taught.Chenonceau:
No... sooooooooooo, your kid failed test after test in GEP and you are worried (or not at all)? :? -
junrahmat:
I agree. So the school has to decide what they are willing to let her go, CCA or supp or render better support. The teacher may not be frightening your dd, it could be their standard procedure, anyone missing from supp must report back to the P with a letter and sometimes teacher just follow process as it is because they are tired themselves. Everyone is tired because we DRIVE so HARD in everything...Dd has supp class 3X a week, from 1.30-3, on Mon, Thurs & Fri. She has sports CCA on Mon & Thurs from 4-6.30. So as you can see, she's in sch for the whole day on Mon & Thurs. When she comes home, she brings tons of hw, both from normal curriculum hrs and supp class. There's no way she can finish her hw in these 2 days. Many times, she fell asleep at the dining table in the midst of doing her hw! When she goes to school with incomplete hw, kena scolding by teacher some more.
So yesterday, I told her to skip supp class so that she can finish up some of her hw before her CCA. Today, teacher called her and ask for a letter explaining why she did not attend supp class. She said she need to pass the letter to the principal. When dd told me this after sch, I was furious! :stompfeet: What is she trying to do? Scare my dd? :mad:
I told dh about this and he said that he's going to write a letter directly to the P. It doesn't make any sense going for supp class when the kids are already tired and doing hw just for the sake of completing them, without a chance to internalize whatever that is being taught.
I have a set of GEP materials sitting on my shelf (sorry... dun PM me for them anyone... I promised never to give away). There is mostly everything in there. I haven't used them yet. VERY daunting but later maybe... if DS and I find the courage.
Sorry...donch get u about this GEP thingy. Other than being in GEP class, he is very ordinary....also get his share of poor results but I donch think it's because he is tested beyond what is taught...maybe the school donch give a wide range of 'sample questions', but if he is able to apply the concept or some technique he was taught correctly, he shd ge the answer.Chenonceau:
No... sooooooooooo, your kid failed test after test in GEP and you are worried (or not at all)? :?
And have rotted quite enough. We're rotting till we get CA1 back. Then it's back to work!! -
I’m speaking mainly for maths and science.
for languages, I guess it’ll be beyond…think it’s really limited vocab they learn in school -
Dunno much abt GEP material. I donch remember Maths having much notes. Remember plenty of Maths worksheets...not sure how one will handle them if he didn't go thru the lessons...I struggled...*LOL*...asked my boy to go ask teacher for answers...this is GEP after all...can expect every child to complete everything, right??!!I have a set of GEP materials sitting on my shelf (sorry... dun PM me for them anyone... I promised never to give away). There is mostly everything in there. I haven't used them yet. VERY daunting but later maybe... if DS and I find the courage.
And have rotted quite enough. We're rotting till we get CA1. Then it's back to work!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.