2009 GEP Screening And Selection
According to my source, even the parents have to be involved in their homework.
:!: :siam:
So far, I dun even know what goes on in school. Results ok, we celebrate. Usually b1 cos he's very competitive. But homework, got to remind until mouth dry.
Like that ah ... -
Hahaโฆit depends on how each child copes. Itโs really challenging to be a parent in Singapore!
So if my child does not bring home any yellow envelope that means did not get it lah ? No news means bad news ?

Kiasu101:
Come to think of it...are we really anxious because of the good that GEP can do to our kids or because of our pride? For them to pass the first screening test was already a great achievement as that made them top 8% of the cohort. I have a friend whose kid is in GEP and who is depressed because of the endless homework and projects he has.

Hi. For me it is not my pride. It is more for my son's portfolio. He wants to get in GEP so that he can get into a good secondary school. -
tony:
Is the homework level very high? Roughly how many hours do they need a day? How does it compare with the homework load for non-GEP kids? If it's very high, I don't think DS will want to go even if (big IF lah) offered because all he wants to do everyday is play and read.
For that, vlim and bing_he can best answer you as their kids are GEPers
Kiasu101:
Haha...it depends on how each child copes. It's really challenging to be a parent in Singapore!
You bet
puppylove:
So if my child does not bring home any yellow envelope that means did not get it lah ? No news means bad news ?

Hi puppylove,
Your child will tell you if he/she is successful cos I think he/she will be informed by the teacher. -
watmekiasu:
watmekiasu, no, that was not my intended message. My point is simply that if we continue to glorify the so-called GEP-status, there will come a point that it becomes degrading not to receive a yellow envelope which signifies that one is \"not gifted\". I'm rather saddened by all the postings to this thread of parents holding their breath waiting for MOE to declare their children as \"gifted\". It only shows how warped the programme has become in our parents' minds... at best, people see it as a means to get into good secondary schools, and at worst, people see it as an elite status.
Hahaha!ChiefKiasu:
2010s:
Ma gives son a big bright yellow envelope.
Son: \"What's this?\"
Ma: \"Shut up and just bring it to school.\"
If mommy says you go to GEP, then you will go to GEP. Who is MOE to tell me what to do with my child! Now, take this yellow envelope and tell your teacher you are going to GEP! :x
All children are gifted in their own ways. We don't need to tell our children that they are not gifted in the way that our education system wants them to be. -
Well said!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.