MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 459.9k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

My ex-classmates are looking to sending their girls back to the alumni so they don’t have to do stuff like PV/grassroots. Distance in most cases will become a problem for they may not have the moolah to buy property within 1km.

Getting rid of alumni connections entirely may benefit more those with cash enough to move.

Anyway, a friend was clueless about the whole pri school enlisting scheme and didn’t do anything. By the time she realised, her child was out of 2C ballot for the neighbourhood school located next to her flat and her child now has to take a bus to her school (ie not within walking distance). Like this also problem? will they tighten the distance to like less than 500m, 501m to 1km?

toddles

hokkiengirl:
        Ironically, the school nearest to my home was a 'branded' school, one of those that parents would move mountains to send their children to. It is also extremely stressful. Not a good fit. The perfect school for us was more than 2 km away. A nice, little neighbourhood school run on a single session. If not for the PV scheme, I might not have had the chance to send my children to the Happy School, so I can't complain about the system.

Perhaps a better thing to do would be to tweak it. Parents could ballot for places, instead of being 'chosen' by the principal. Fairer? And if there is too much demand for the PV places, I do think Singaporean parents should be given priority, and PRs can take up the rest of the places, so that is one's reward for doing NS!
        Love the way you put it -- three cheers for the \"Happy School\"!

Yup, the PV system would be a good point to differentiate between the born-and-bred and the PRs...

toddles

toddles:

If they eradicate the alumni priority altogether I'm sure some parents will be freaking out, esp if they went through hell and high water to get their kids into a particular school thinking that it would benefit \"future generations\".

I'm sure. But there is no basis for this to 'benefit future generations', it locks down prime school places, obstructs social mobility.

future generations with the same surname lah.... i meant...

vicki:
            Suz855:

quote \" actually donch need to revamp the P1 registration.

Just let these branded schools increase their intake or set up another school lor!! Then slowly slowly the branded ones will take up the noone-want schools in the neighbours and set up 'branch1', 'branch2'....\"

I like the idea, why new neighbourhood school should have a new name, just call it Raffles at Tampines, Roysth at Sengkang ... etc ... then all our children will get a chance to study at branded school lor ... lol

:please:

I also like the idea! Kills so many birds with one stone. 😉

I think this is a more viable idea than try to remove alumni association to get into a school. If parents are so hung up about brand names, then Raffles@Bishan, Raffles@Tampines etc will eventually work out.

To me, before any changes are made, please study the kiasu mindset first. In my humble opinion, current system simplifies registration. If the intent is to boost the property market next to the popular schools, then it will work because most of these alumni may turn into property buyers instead, that would benefit the property people and government. Currently alot of heartlander kids still have a chance to enter the elite schools at for eg. Bukit Timah based on their alumni status, if it is changed, then those schools will only be for the rich lads and gals.

Also, to those who PV-ed so hard to get their children into the schools, now become alumni will be deprived of this. Would it be fair to them? 🤷

Mdm Koh

公说公有理,婆说婆有理。

Whatever it is, I hope MOE considers the impact on the kids. A lot of the pressure placed on them is undue, in my opinion.

• tankeeT Offline
                tankee

...I think this is a more viable idea than try to remove alumni association to get into a school. If parents are so hung up about brand names, then Raffles@Bishan, Raffles@Tampines etc will eventually work out.

I do not believe this will work. If this does happen, parents will just start ranking which Raffles is better than the others. Just like ACS(Barker) and ACS(Junior).

concern2

If the intent is to boost the property market next to the popular schools, then it will work because most of these alumni may turn into property buyers instead, that would benefit the property people and government.

I thought of the property market too, but I didn't think it would be more intentional than consequential.
                  Currently alot of heartlander kids still have a chance to enter the elite schools at for eg. Bukit Timah based on their alumni status, if it is changed, then those schools will only be for the rich lads and gals.
                  Good point!
                  Also, to those who PV-ed so hard to get their children into the schools, now become alumni will be deprived of this. Would it be fair to them? 🤷
                  Did I miss it or has it been mentioned when the changes will take effect? Thot they're just 'rebooking' into the issue? :?

What's fair and unfair? To me, one of those whose former school no longer exist, the question of what is fair and unfair no longer applies. 🤷 What tree is there to talk about? What tradition? They only exist in my memory. So, sorry if I don't take pity on those with Alumni should MOE decide to do away with it in the registration process.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

There is no strong logical reason why children of ALL alumni should get priority admission. Apart from social inequity, and I consider this much more inequitable than distance-based, because it is hereditary (like royalty is hereditary), it in fact drives some pretty crazy behaviours. I know of folk who’s kid is travelling 90 minutes ONE way just to attend an alumni school, just because they could not get a place 5 minutes from their house (no doubt also taken significantly by alumni). And there is no way around this. Not merit, not bribery, not PV, not connections, nothing. It is the ultimate segregator, and it is completely unfair. Just because one is a HDB dweller with an alumni advantage over the guy driving the Maserati who lives in a District 10 house, does not make the situation fairer.

I say again, no matter what advantage you gain, there is SIMPLY little LOGIC to the alumni priority system, it is arbitrary.

Further, it is unsustainable. How can a system whereby only 40% of places is open to the ‘general’ public be a logical in a ‘public’ school system?

Last, I do not agree that all the prime schools are located in Prime districts. Already, we are witnessing a shift from ‘branded’ schools to neighbourhood schools in terms of school results.

Last Last, why this hang up about foreigners? Did not the majority of our ancestors descend from foreign lands? So all the popular schools should be populated ONLY by Singaporeans? When we are trying to raise our children with a global mindset?

...I think this is a more viable idea than try to remove alumni association to get into a school. If parents are so hung up about brand names, then Raffles@Bishan, Raffles@Tampines etc will eventually work out.

I do not believe this will work. If this does happen, parents will just start ranking which Raffles is better than the others. Just like ACS(Barker) and ACS(Junior).

Bottom line is even if they rank acs(barker) or acs(junior) they are still happy that their kids are in acs, isn't that enough?

There is no strong logical reason why children of ALL alumni should get priority admission. Apart from social inequity, and I consider this much more inequitable than distance-based, because it is hereditary (like royalty is hereditary), it in fact drives some pretty crazy behaviours. I know of folk who's kid is travelling 90 minutes ONE way just to attend an alumni school, just because they could not get a place 5 minutes from their house (no doubt also taken significantly by alumni). And there is no way around this. Not merit, not bribery, not PV, not connections, nothing. It is the ultimate segregator, and it is completely unfair. Just because one is a HDB dweller with an alumni advantage over the guy driving the Maserati who lives in a District 10 house, does not make the situation fairer.

I say again, no matter what advantage you gain, there is SIMPLY little LOGIC to the alumni priority system, it is arbitrary.

Further, it is unsustainable. How can a system whereby only 40% of places is open to the 'general' public be a logical in a 'public' school system?

Last, I do not agree that all the prime schools are located in Prime districts. Already, we are witnessing a shift from 'branded' schools to neighbourhood schools in terms of school results.

Last Last, why this hang up about foreigners? Did not the majority of our ancestors descend from foreign lands? So all the popular schools should be populated ONLY by Singaporeans? When we are trying to raise our children with a global mindset?
                        Schools run events to ask alumni to contribute old items belonging to the schools, without these alumni kids in the school, how are they going to do it? Put newspaper ads? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: If the kids are there, it is easy to access the almumi.

Alumni teams actually help the schools organize many meaning events on school cultures and history, you think the school has resources? I suppose those who are not alumni cannot understand how much work is assisted by the alumni teams, especially so in primary schools.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 197