Q&A - P1 Chinese
[quote]snowcloud wrote:
Hi poppy15,
it depends on how one define weak. For me, if a child
1) can't differentiate eg \"b\" and \"p\",\"d\" and \"t\", \"n\" and \"l\" etc.
2) can't determine the \"声调sheng diao\" without help
3) can't decide where to put the \"sheng diao\"
4) not familiar with the hanyupinyin rule
then he/she is consider weak in it.
This is what I personally think. Maybe other parents with child who are weak in hanyupinyin can share their view.
Snowcloud, the SAP HYPY guide that you listed above, does it teach the 4 problems you listed? Thanks for sharing this.[/quote]Hi Jenao,
I would say this book is very systematic in it's approach towards teaching hanyupinyin. If you follow the book closely to teach your child, the above mentioned problem should be solved. However, some kids still can.t differentiate \"b\" and \" p\" etc though he/she had been taught. When this happen, we need to use some way to help them to tell the difference.eg You can try asking your child to put his/her hand in front of the mouth and pronounce \"b\" and tell him \"you don't feel much air coming out of his mouth. Then try saying \"p\" with the hand still in front of his mouth, he should feel there is much air coming out of his mouth. Initially, he needs this method to help him decide whether it should be \" b\" or \" p\" but after sometimes, he should be able to do so without help.
Sorry, my command of English language is not good. Hope you can understand what I am trying to explain here. hope your child find it useful. -
Thought this is quite useful... if you find it easier to explain in English...
http://pinyin.info/rules/where.html
Where do the tone marks go?
•A and e trump all other vowels and always take the tone mark. There are no Mandarin syllables in Hanyu Pinyin that contain both a and e.
•In the combination ou, o takes the mark.
•In all other cases, the final vowel takes the mark. -
This was what DD learnt in P1…
有 a 不放过;
没 a 找 o、e;
i、u 并列标在后;
单个韵母不必说。 -
BigDevil:
This was what DD learnt in P1...
有 a 不放过;
没 a 找 o、e;
i、u 并列标在后;
单个韵母不必说。
:goodpost: :lovesite: -
BigDevil:
Cool....Your dd learnt these in term 1 of P1?This was what DD learnt in P1...
有 a 不放过;
没 a 找 o、e;
i、u 并列标在后;
单个韵母不必说。
My dd dunno all these yet... But her 听写 got all these... So I gotta teach her 1st. Wonder what is her teacher doing then?
:faint: -
It's in the Chinese textbook
Cool....Your dd learnt these in term 1 of P1?BigDevil:
This was what DD learnt in P1...
有 a 不放过;
没 a 找 o、e;
i、u 并列标在后;
单个韵母不必说。
My dd dunno all these yet... But her 听写 got all these... So I gotta teach her 1st. Wonder what is her teacher doing then?
:faint:
mummy of 2:
It's in the Chinese textbook ;)[/quote]Yes, on page 32 of the 1A textbook
Cool....Your dd learnt these in term 1 of P1?Daddy

[quote=\"BigDevil\"]This was what DD learnt in P1...
有 a 不放过;
没 a 找 o、e;
i、u 并列标在后;
单个韵母不必说。
Yes, on page 32 of the 1A textbook
It's in the Chinese textbookmummy of 2:
[quote=\"Daddy D\"]
Cool....Your dd learnt these in term 1 of P1?
[/quote]Orh.....Daddy D, you did not \"teach properly\". The teacher suppose to teach less and you teach more leh.
Oh ya hor... n dd said she didn't understand what teacher taught.
Jiat lat... Have to do more revision at home liao...
:faint: -
Btw... U all go through the textbooks with your kids everyday ah?
Don't stress me leh... Cos I don't. :faint:
Your kids can understand that Chinese phrases above ah?
Leave it to my wife to explain... Not my dept... :boogie:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.