MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
HappinessSmile:
your mileage may vary..PV is Just ridiculous la...take leave to pv? leave is better to use it for more worthwhile things.
HappinessSmile:
Worthwhile wat....PV is Just ridiculous la...take leave to pv? leave is better to use it for more worthwhile things.
You PV so that your kids can have a chance at a perceived 'more popular' school. No?
:siam: -
Actually hor,
I think MOE no need to change too much lah - either way they change also will have some unhappy pple one…
So, easy thing is to twig the current 2A to 2C. Maybe after Phase 1, just divide the remaining spaces to 3 sections lor, ie, if 360 original vacancies and Phase one has 60 registrations, Phase 2A/2B n 2C will have 100 each ((360 - 60)/3). If 2A only uses up 60, then roll the remaining 40 to 2C. Then do the same with 2B.
Like that, the current system is kept BUT more spaces opened up for 2C so that schools like Catholic High/ St Nics might have a higher chance of the 2C folks joining them.
HELLO MOE - ARE YOU READING THIS? PLS DONT WASTE MY TAX MONEY ON THINKING TOO MUCH… just TWIG a little n i think most pple would still be satisfied!! -
caroline3sg:
PV provides a chance for the parents to contribute in a \"significant way\" (not monetary) to the school.
My BIL took leave to paint for the whole school. That was more than 10 yrs ago. He has 3 children. One got in, after that the 2nd & 3rd child in Phase 1. To him, it is worth it. Some people feel that children's education (headstart in good school) is more important than bursting 1 year's of annual leave They go all out to improve their chance.
It also provides an opportunity for parents to \"earn\" a place (or better chance) to be in the school.
And to connect the parents to the school. (which is good for parent involvement in education). Active alumni also counted. Sleeping ones not counted.
Why not? I feel it's good.. :evil: :evil:
SG is based on meritocracy.. so, essentially it is based on same principle. They \"earn\" the better chances. -
Just to add..
parent involvement can be along the principle of \"being in the interest of the child's educational needs\"..
if it is not now..
tweak it so that it'll be.. :evil: :evil: -
But the 'being involved' should NOT be just a pre-entering time frame leh --- should be for the entire 6years. So compulsory PSG after PV?Just to add..
parent involvement is along the principle of \"being in the interest of the child's educational needs\"..
if it is not now..
tweak it so that it'll be.. :evil: :evil:
:evil: -
Power Puff:
Quite worried. Son is entering P1 in 2014, husband recently joined the Cat High alumni to guarantee a place for him. Now, do I have to join the alumni to ensure daughter gets a place in RGPS in 2017? May even be expected to do PV. Long way to go, but anything can happen within the next 5 years. I just checked and am shocked that the membership fee is $500, at least 10 times CHS'.
My husband also joined his alumni last year, paid also SGD500!
I told him MOE looking to revamp this alumni thingy now. He said if they remove the alumni priority, he is going to bang table and demand to take back his SGD500! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
vicki:
Building a connection to the current staff, understanding how the school is running or being run \"now\" (not 2 decades ago).. is in the child's interests.. isn't it..?
But the 'being involved' should NOT be just a pre-entering time frame leh --- should be for the entire 6years. So compulsory PSG after PV?limlim:
Just to add..
parent involvement is along the principle of \"being in the interest of the child's educational needs\"..
if it is not now..
tweak it so that it'll be.. :evil: :evil:
If we were to be more precise, it should be for the 6years the kid is in the school n not just the 1 or 2 years before they enter… Yes?
Ok OT.
My previous question on PV. How about I hire a gardener/electrician/piano teacher/sports coach to do the task on my behalf. Will do a better job than I right?
School benefits, kids benefit, I benefit.
Logical?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.