MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
goodness gracious me.............. :scared:
with all these segregation, the new p1 registration process is gonna be real complex and incomprehensive.
if implemented. -
Aiyah… so complicating… I feel apart from Phase 1 (siblings), the whole of Phase 2A - 2C should be combined into 1 phase. Foreigners come in at Phase 3.
Just give:
10 ballot slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
8 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizen (1 parent) / PR who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, no other connections
2 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, no other connections
1 slip to SG citizens and PRs who live >2km, regardless of any connections (this one is really heng suay)
Phase 2 Supp for those unsuccessful above.
Foreigners can only try at Phase 3 if any vacancies left. -
If announcing in May are they planning to implement on the next p1 registration? But some are already pving for 2013 registration leh. Hope MOE takes this into account.
So many slips of paper, I pity the trees :siam:
Yah was also thinking about that when I typed that out... but now lucky draws can be done electronically.
If child's interest is most important, that could mean proximity of home to school is more important than Alumni but less compared to those having sibling currently studying in school.
Some possibilities include:
Phase1 - those having siblings currently studying in school of choice
Phase2A- Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL within 1km (if ballot, citizen 2, PR 1)
Phase2B - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL within 1-2km (if ballot same above)
Phase2C - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL above 2km ( if ballot same above)
Phase2D - for all above not yet a school
Phase3 - Foreigners

cherrygal:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: You know ah, cherrygal, after going through balloting process, I can tell you that it is not impossible that the one holding the most ballot slips may be left with no seats at all. It is like buying 10 big 10 small, or whatever big bet (I don't buy toto, so just assume this is considered big), and you still end up with nothing. Why, some ballot slips go into corners of the box that NEVER get to be circulated. MOE should change to using circular containers instead.Aiyah... so complicating... I feel apart from Phase 1 (siblings), the whole of Phase 2A - 2C should be combined into 1 phase. Foreigners come in at Phase 3.
Just give:
10 ballot slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
8 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizen (1 parent) / PR who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, no other connections
2 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, no other connections
1 slip to SG citizens and PRs who live >2km, regardless of any connections (this one is really heng suay)
Phase 2 Supp for those unsuccessful above.
Foreigners can only try at Phase 3 if any vacancies left.
Also, each ballot slip will be shown and read out in front of everyone, imagine the number of hours you have to be there to witness ALL the ballot slips to be read out! Plus the extra time that a repeated name will be called and that slip is invalidated.
Now, for a number of 80 vacant seats you could be spending 2 hours at the balloting process, imagine how long you have to be there, including the staffs that are mobilized for the registration process. Currently, not all parents need to take leave for the registration either as many are 'automatic'. But if more parents have to go through the balloting process, then wow, you need a much bigger box - possibly one that is beyond an arm's length
(Visualize the lucky draw box in the Sheng Siong contest)
But then again, if finally a person getting the 10 slips/ chances do not get a seat, then wow, really :stupid: liao. -
Changes to P1 registration? Our leaders not that creative nor are they foolhardy risk takers. Don’t worry, don’t worry. Likely minimal cosmetic changes to pacify us that they are aware and are listening. They wont rock any major boats.
Also, to the earlier suggestion about asking the leaders to register their kids in neighbourhood schools? Where will they find the time to PV? And their private homes are likely to be over 2km away. Slimmer chance at the balloting box la!!! -
:evil: yes, the suggestion is tongue-in-cheek but the idea is there lah... up to the men in ivory tower to execute. Even now, nothing is guaranteed so where's the difference?
Pray hard lor for a fairer and less complicated system by May.
Now holding my plans to move house till they announce the changes. -
Mawar:
Changes to P1 registration? Our leaders not that creative nor are they foolhardy risk takers. Don't worry, don't worry. Likely minimal cosmetic changes to pacify us that they are aware and are listening. They wont rock any major boats.
I think you have a point there. If they announce in May (so soon), most likely it's just cosmetic changes to show he is working. Maybe just add a few ballot slips here and there... hahaha
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.