MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 462.9k Views 1 Watching
      Mawar

Changes to P1 registration? Our leaders not that creative nor are they foolhardy risk takers. Don’t worry, don’t worry. Likely minimal cosmetic changes to pacify us that they are aware and are listening. They wont rock any major boats.

Also, to the earlier suggestion about asking the leaders to register their kids in neighbourhood schools? Where will they find the time to PV? And their private homes are likely to be over 2km away. Slimmer chance at the balloting box la!!!

cherrygal

:evil: yes, the suggestion is tongue-in-cheek but the idea is there lah... up to the men in ivory tower to execute. Even now, nothing is guaranteed so where's the difference?

Pray hard lor for a fairer and less complicated system by May.

Now holding my plans to move house till they announce the changes.

cherrygal

Mawar:
          Changes to P1 registration? Our leaders not that creative nor are they foolhardy risk takers. Don't worry, don't worry. Likely minimal cosmetic changes to pacify us that they are aware and are listening. They wont rock any major boats.

I think you have a point there. If they announce in May (so soon), most likely it's just cosmetic changes to show he is working. Maybe just add a few ballot slips here and there... hahaha

concern2

cherrygal:
            :evil: yes, the suggestion is tongue-in-cheek but the idea is there lah... up to the men in ivory tower to execute. Even now, nothing is guaranteed so where's the difference?

Pray hard lor for a fairer and less complicated system by May.

Now holding my plans to move house till they announce the changes.
            😉 Thanks for the tongue-in-cheek - It stimulated my imagination.

We are definitely not short of 孟母s in Singapore!

Mdm Koh

dorisp:
              If child's interest is most important, that could mean proximity of home to school is more important than Alumni but less compared to those having sibling currently studying in school.

Some possibilities include:

Phase1 - those having siblings currently studying in school of choice
              Phase2A- Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL within 1km (if ballot, citizen 2, PR 1)
              Phase2B - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL within 1-2km (if ballot same above)
              Phase2C - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, PV, GRL above 2km ( if ballot same above)
              Phase2D - for all above not yet a school
              Phase3 - Foreigners

😄
              I like this system with some minor changes.

Phase1 - those having siblings currently studying in school of choice
              Phase2A- Ex sibling, alumni, clan, GRL within 1km (if ballot, citizen 2 - including children of foreigners and PR born in Singapore; kids who are PR and foreigners 1 each)
              Phase2B - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, GRL within 1-2km (if ballot same above)
              Phase2C - Ex sibling, alumni, clan, GRL above 2km ( if ballot same above)
              Phase2D - for all above not yet a school

My opinion is that we should remove the PV system. I think that it penalises families with low SES. If the dad and mum have to take two jobs just to make ends meet, they will not have time to volunteer.

Should their kids get balloted out of the schools near their homes by the kids of PV's, they will have to travel a further distance to school and perhaps even pay extra for transport services that they can ill-afford.

Another reason for doing away with the PV system is that it seems to subvert the value of reaping what we sow. The parents have to work hard weeding the school garden, while the kids just wait for the golden entrance ticket... It's just not right. :torchme:

concern2

Mdm Koh:

My opinion is that we should remove the PV system. I think that it penalises families with low SES. If the dad and mum have to take two jobs just to make ends meet, they will not have time to volunteer.

Should their kids get balloted out of the schools near their homes by the kids of PV's, they will have to travel a further distance to school and perhaps even pay extra for transport services that they can ill-afford.

Another reason for doing away with the PV system is that it seems to subvert the value of reaping what we sow. The parents have to work hard weeding the school garden, while the kids just wait for the golden entrance ticket... It's just not right. :torchme:
                Good points, Mdm Koh! :rahrah:

hquek

My kids are in the pri school based on work done by daddy and mummy (ie PV). what difference does it make compared with the ex schools attended by parents leh? All are handed to them based on genealogy.

This is not representative but the ones I meet don’t do PV not because they cannot shell out the time (who can without sacrifices?); rather, it’s becos they can’t be bothered to. Some think that just becos they stay next door, they stand a very good chance of getting into that school - only to bang their heads when they fail in balloting.

btw, phase 2B and 2C are very distance dependent - usually those are within near distance to the school. Figure it’s the earlier phases that see kids staying more than 10km away and yet getting into that school of parent’s choice.

downtime

the moe review should include new priority for parents to enrol children near their work place. This will reduce the trafffic congestion for parents rushing from point A to B. Along parents to attend to their children matters easily during the lunch break, or whichever deem reasonable by their company policy.

If children school is just across the street, 1 hour time off is sufficient for parents to attend urgent matters.

I believe this will contribute to work-life balance and a mother who has to juggle between work, home and children.

LOLMum

This is not representative but the ones I meet don't do PV not because they cannot shell out the time (who can without sacrifices?); rather, it's becos they can't be bothered to. Some think that just becos they stay next door, they stand a very good chance of getting into that school - only to bang their heads when they fail in balloting.

that's when they go howling for blood. 😄

concern2

This is not representative but the ones I meet don't do PV not because they cannot shell out the time (who can without sacrifices?); rather, it's becos they can't be bothered to. Some think that just becos they stay next door, they stand a very good chance of getting into that school - only to bang their heads when they fail in balloting.
                        Hm... You have a point. However, Mdm Koh has specifically pointed out that it might put families with low SES (I would assume it means lower income group) at a disadvantage, hence not meant to discredit the works put in by PV - at least, that's the way I see it.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 197