MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
DesertWind:
Soudesune ( I agree in japanese translation)..... So IDad do have his own agenda lah.
Hey iDad,IDad:
phttph, you sure have lots of `creative ideas' to ensure you are not disadvantaged or disadvantaged less at phase 2A...
I sometimes wonder what kind of values are we imparting to our children...what with all the selfish suggestions just to gain an upper hand but blinded from common sense and logic :frustrated:
On account of your apology earlier on regarding personal attack on phttph I had not responded to your earlier posts. But then here you are at it again. :mad:
By now we have already gathered why you have been so emotional about this thread. You too have a golden piglet like us going for 2014 registration.
Since your DS1 already in primary school, a lot at stack for you, very important the siblings priority to get into the same school. Logistics and all!
Furthermore, you believe in renting and using this advantage to the fullest, which some of us may not agree!
Likewise there is a lot at stake for phtthp too! This topic very dear to her heart! Her alma matar alumni school is very precious to her because long ago, her mother queue up OVERNIGHT for her to get into this school! Yes, in those days and age, a mother's love for her child made her did that. So now she wanted very much to pass on this precious alumni legacy to her child.
So please do not ridicule or pass remarks like \"selfish\" and such here. Pot calling the kettle black. A lot at stake for you too, Bro!
All of us affected (ie. with pre-schoolers) pretty emotional here.
I hope those who are in real authority ie. MOE take note and consider all views posted here. Granted those affected will not be happy but
. Did somebody just post that he/she will know what action to take 4 years later? :nunchuk: -
I can't see much tweaking...amybe it'll be like the 'renaming' of Marina Bay Station....to Marina Bay Station!

Haha I like this . Shd just rename phase 2A1 as active alumni:p
If not fair for all, remove all phase fr 1A to 2C & all ballot together for those who keen for top sch haha -
huanghou:
I felt that Ph1 should stay for practical reasons - so that parents don't have to fetch one kid to changi and another one to tuas. For selfish reasons I should say no because I only have 1 kid. Didn't you also suggested Ph1 should stay?[/quote]@ huanghou:nlimm:
[quote=\"huanghou\"]I personally prefer announcement made wef 2014 - no more connection, pv etc. If have siblings currently in school, ok get priority. If no, everyone go for a great grand tombola.
It to remove all connections even phase 1 shd be remOved & combine all phase 1,2A,2B &2C together. Why shd phase 1 retained if you mentioned to remove all connections? As discussed earlier, even though siblings but in diff sessions( though quite a nos of schs are 1 session but not all) .
No I din vote for phase 1 to stay coz phase 1is the one that took up most of the seats for most top sch so moe shd look into tt too . 1 changi n 1 tuas tt will nvr happen coz no sch in tuas hsha( trying to add some humor here)
As what I said whatever they do now will affect n make mummies unhappy so the best is implement it only for babies whose born from the Particular yr tt they solid n concluded their change. -
1amber:
naughty naughty :evil: :evil:[/quote]Haha ya agreed . I was still scratching my head what tt meanslimlim:
[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]I can't see much tweaking...amybe it'll be like the 'renaming' of Marina Bay Station....to Marina Bay Station!

how abt budget terminal to budget terminal after a costly renaming exercise?? :evil: :evil: -
DesertWind:
DesertWind: I tOtally agreed with u!!!i mentioned this ' relooking ' issue to my mil n she's so sad too coz she gone through soooooooo muchhhhhhhh to registered my hubby & she does hope tt all her grandchildren can follow on.
Hey iDad,IDad:
phttph, you sure have lots of `creative ideas' to ensure you are not disadvantaged or disadvantaged less at phase 2A...
I sometimes wonder what kind of values are we imparting to our children...what with all the selfish suggestions just to gain an upper hand but blinded from common sense and logic :frustrated:
On account of your apology earlier on regarding personal attack on phttph I had not responded to your earlier posts. But then here you are at it again. :mad:
By now we have already gathered why you have been so emotional about this thread. You too have a golden piglet like us going for 2014 registration.
Since your DS1 already in primary school, a lot at stack for you, very important the siblings priority to get into the same school. Logistics and all!
Furthermore, you believe in renting and using this advantage to the fullest, which some of us may not agree!
Likewise there is a lot at stake for phtthp too! This topic very dear to her heart! Her alma matar alumni school is very precious to her because long ago, her mother queue up OVERNIGHT for her to get into this school! Yes, in those days and age, a mother's love for her child made her did that. So now she wanted very much to pass on this precious alumni legacy to her child.
So please do not ridicule or pass remarks like \"selfish\" and such here. Pot calling the kettle black. A lot at stake for you too, Bro!
All of us affected (ie. with pre-schoolers) pretty emotional here.
I hope those who are in real authority ie. MOE take note and consider all views posted here. Granted those affected will not be happy but
. Did somebody just post that he/she will know what action to take 4 years later? :nunchuk: -
I know many parents about to register their little ones for P1 are unhappy about this ‘connections’. Am wondering how Education minister is going to review this. But I really hope Phase 2A will stay.
Many of us who left primary school may not be top scholars…but we have fond memories and thus hope our kids to go back to our old schools. Nothing wrong with that, right ? -
nlimm:
Hello nlimm,vicki:
Actually hor,
I think MOE no need to change too much lah - either way they change also will have some unhappy pple one....
So, easy thing is to twig the current 2A to 2C. Maybe after Phase 1, just divide the remaining spaces to 3 sections lor, ie, if 360 original vacancies and Phase one has 60 registrations, Phase 2A/2B n 2C will have 100 each ((360 - 60)/3). If 2A only uses up 60, then roll the remaining 40 to 2C. Then do the same with 2B.
Like that, the current system is kept BUT more spaces opened up for 2C so that schools like Catholic High/ St Nics might have a higher chance of the 2C folks joining them.
HELLO MOE - ARE YOU READING THIS? PLS DONT WASTE MY TAX MONEY ON THINKING TOO MUCH.... just TWIG a little n i think most pple would still be satisfied!!
@Vicki: errmm r u in phase 2C? U seems to tilt towards tt.Me & hb be very unhappy & guessed quite a nos of parents out there who hope our kids to be in our same old sch.
If i use current phases, i will be in Phase 1 in coming registration cos ds1 already in P2 liao. Ds1 got in via 2B. 2C for me was a last resort if i dont get in via 2B.
If i had a daughter (which i dont have at the moment), then prob under 2A since my alma mater (i feel) is quite a good school....
So, actually im talking more from a practical and 'fair' (at least to me!) point of view. Honestly, i dont really see the difference between 2A n 2B <minus the teachers' kids part - for practical reasons of sending the kids to school>. I dont see why the alumni should be 'guaranteed' a space. Hence, i feel, to be fair - keep the current phases and just 'limit' the spaces in 2A just like 2B - if they really want to 'change' something.
Then at least - it frees out some spaces to the 2C (which in some schools - the amt of spaces left is sooooo little - might as well do away with this phase!)
And also, i think they should do away with the 'Full School' secondary parents having affiliation to p1 registration! Sorry - i dont understand why this group of pple is so special....
ie, why St Nics/ CatHigh sec students can be in 2A but schools like SJI cannot.... To me, doesnt make sense....
nlimm:
I find Singapore life really very stressful, fr work to taking care of kids to now even sch registration .
It gets worse after they start primary school education!! :yikes: :slapshead: :frustrated: -
1amber:
naughty naughty :evil: :evil:[/quote]Then after all these -- they are going to tear it down and rebuild a bigger budget terminal n call it...... Terminal 4!! :yikes: :slapshead: :stupid:limlim:
[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]I can't see much tweaking...amybe it'll be like the 'renaming' of Marina Bay Station....to Marina Bay Station!

how abt budget terminal to budget terminal after a costly renaming exercise?? :evil: :evil:
Okies! This is :offtopic: ... back to the subject matter!! Sorry Mod!!
Hmm… can explain the SJI affiliation thingy?
If I am not wrong, SJI do have few affiliation feeder primary.
For people who knows little about this full school thingy, it went back as far as 70 to 80 years ago, this is how strong some of these full schools’ tradition and alumni are.
If there is a sudden change, many alumni (70 to 80 years of batches) will put in strong petition against such thing from happening, and the strong alumni may just withdraw their support and this schools may just go down the drain. There are many such old school that went down the drain and even to a university.
If you are in it, you will understand, if you are not in it, tell you children to work harder and get into one so that they can understand the strong network of alumni.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.