MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
DesertWind:
I'll try to keep my calm and not be so petty but to forgive you for wrongly accusing me of making a personal attack. Do read my post slowly and carefully. I didn't say phttph is selfish. I actually said `what values are we and I meant those of us in general who fall into that category. Unless of course you think she is being selfish....but try to justify her actions with reasons like a mother's love. Really, I have no wish to hurl personal attack at people and I only want to retort the suggestion per se and also the motivations behind those suggestions. It could have come from another forummer and I would have replied the same. Its just, coincidentally, the suggestions of transferring P1 spaces from phase 1 to phase 2A just so that phase 2A is not worse off if they have to lose some spaces to later phases came from the same forummer.
Hey iDad,IDad:
phttph, you sure have lots of `creative ideas' to ensure you are not disadvantaged or disadvantaged less at phase 2A...
I sometimes wonder what kind of values are we imparting to our children...what with all the selfish suggestions just to gain an upper hand but blinded from common sense and logic :frustrated:
On account of your apology earlier on regarding personal attack on phttph I had not responded to your earlier posts. But then here you are at it again. :mad:
By now we have already gathered why you have been so emotional about this thread. You too have a golden piglet like us going for 2014 registration.
Since your DS1 already in primary school, a lot at stack for you, very important the siblings priority to get into the same school. Logistics and all!
Furthermore, you believe in renting and using this advantage to the fullest, which some of us may not agree!
Likewise there is a lot at stake for phtthp too! This topic very dear to her heart! Her alma matar alumni school is very precious to her because long ago, her mother queue up OVERNIGHT for her to get into this school! Yes, in those days and age, a mother's love for her child made her did that. So now she wanted very much to pass on this precious alumni legacy to her child.
So please do not ridicule or pass remarks like \"selfish\" and such here. Pot calling the kettle black. A lot at stake for you too, Bro!
All of us affected (ie. with pre-schoolers) pretty emotional here.
I hope those who are in real authority ie. MOE take note and consider all views posted here. Granted those affected will not be happy but
. Did somebody just post that he/she will know what action to take 4 years later? :nunchuk:
As yourself honestly, would you suggest or want your child to take entrance test at K2? I bet you wouldn't suggest nor want to subject your child to that.
And if you were to trace the history of my posts, I did not suggest measures to enhance my chances. I have thought about it AND I could have. Eg, I could have suggested PR and Foreigners be excluded from phase 1 but I feel its too cruel and impractical to make the parents AND children go to different schools, just because they are not Singaporeans.
And in fact, it is understandable to suggest measures to improve one's chances but please be logical and bear in mind its ultimately to improve the education (academic or otherwise) of our children and not to subject them to more stress and inconviences....eg waking up even earlier so that parents can fetch 1st child to 1 school and 2nd child to another. I see that already in my colleague (30 min less sleep) with DS1 going to ACS and DD2 to MGS....but that's his decision when he could have placed both at FMPS. There are many other benefits of siblings studying together, eg the younger will have separation anxiety and knowing and seeing the older sibling in the same school helps a lot in reducing that anxiety. Have seen it in Kindy and also in Primary schools. I could go on and on of the benfits of siblings going to the same school.......
As for rental of apts, I think its out of topic but maybe I'll just state 1 last time that if ultimately it's to benefit the child in reducing time commuting to school, I have no issue with parents who rent. In fact, that's the philosophy of MOE and our educators which they clearly state its your (and implicitly your child) residence or care-giver residence. And 2ndly, ppty purchase is a lifetime (or 2 lifetimes for others) financial commitment. Its also unfair to force them to buy a ppty just to put a child in a school. -
huanghou:
If parent \"helper\" then at least they should b paid!
if clan or church school, $$$ would come from members who have been helping to raise funds for their schools all these years. that's their contributions besides starting the schools for their own at the very start and opening the schools to others who asked to join without imposing any conditions (for methodist church as far as i know). -
perhaps some people not aware of the term 'govt aided schools'
if clan or church school, $$$ would come from members who have been helping to raise funds for their schools all these years. that's their contributions besides starting the schools for their own at the very start and opening the schools to others who asked to join without imposing any conditions (for methodist church as far as i know). -
Oppsgal:
Exactly.. That's why PV are not guaranteed a place.. They just got a better chance..
Volunteers should be truly volunteer work without hoping to get rewards.
Hence, PV does NOT hv the right to complain if their kids cannot get in because they are VOLUNTEERS, not \"employed\" (in exchange for a place).
They should get it right..
So many pple mistaken about what is PV..
I still feel priority is okay.. maybe tweak a bit to hv less advantage.. but definitely NOT \"guaranteed\" place.
And for those who says PV is unfair bcoz they cannot get a place after doing PV.. well, they should be taught what is the meaning of \"volunteer\"..
Nobody forces you to be a \"volunteer\"...... nobody gives empty promises.. so, what is unfair about it? -
It's a tongue in cheek comment on the word \"helper\" replacing \"volunteer\".huanghou:
If parent \"helper\" then at least they should b paid!
huanghou:
It's a tongue in cheek comment on the word \"helper\" replacing \"volunteer\".[/quote]LOLMum:
[quote=\"huanghou\"]If parent \"helper\" then at least they should b paid!
if clan or church school, $$$ would come from members who have been helping to raise funds for their schools all these years. that's their contributions besides starting the schools for their own at the very start and opening the schools to others who asked to join without imposing any conditions (for methodist church as far as i know).
:razz: :evil:
huanghou:
It's a tongue in cheek comment on the word \"helper\" replacing \"volunteer\".[/quote]LOLMum:
[quote=\"huanghou\"]If parent \"helper\" then at least they should b paid!
if clan or church school, $$$ would come from members who have been helping to raise funds for their schools all these years. that's their contributions besides starting the schools for their own at the very start and opening the schools to others who asked to join without imposing any conditions (for methodist church as far as i know).
:razz: :evil:
That's tongue in (between) cheeks!
The only fair way is to implement it only on child born after the announcement date... Like tat parents will know wat they r getting into before they decide to have kid :evil:
vicki:
Hello nlimm,nlimm:
[quote=\"vicki\"]Actually hor,
I think MOE no need to change too much lah - either way they change also will have some unhappy pple one....
So, easy thing is to twig the current 2A to 2C. Maybe after Phase 1, just divide the remaining spaces to 3 sections lor, ie, if 360 original vacancies and Phase one has 60 registrations, Phase 2A/2B n 2C will have 100 each ((360 - 60)/3). If 2A only uses up 60, then roll the remaining 40 to 2C. Then do the same with 2B.
Like that, the current system is kept BUT more spaces opened up for 2C so that schools like Catholic High/ St Nics might have a higher chance of the 2C folks joining them.
HELLO MOE - ARE YOU READING THIS? PLS DONT WASTE MY TAX MONEY ON THINKING TOO MUCH.... just TWIG a little n i think most pple would still be satisfied!!
@Vicki: errmm r u in phase 2C? U seems to tilt towards tt.Me & hb be very unhappy & guessed quite a nos of parents out there who hope our kids to be in our same old sch.
If i use current phases, i will be in Phase 1 in coming registration cos ds1 already in P2 liao. Ds1 got in via 2B. 2C for me was a last resort if i dont get in via 2B.
If i had a daughter (which i dont have at the moment), then prob under 2A since my alma mater (i feel) is quite a good school....
So, actually im talking more from a practical and 'fair' (at least to me!) point of view. Honestly, i dont really see the difference between 2A n 2B <minus the teachers' kids part - for practical reasons of sending the kids to school>. I dont see why the alumni should be 'guaranteed' a space. Hence, i feel, to be fair - keep the current phases and just 'limit' the spaces in 2A just like 2B - if they really want to 'change' something.
Then at least - it frees out some spaces to the 2C (which in some schools - the amt of spaces left is sooooo little - might as well do away with this phase!)
And also, i think they should do away with the 'Full School' secondary parents having affiliation to p1 registration! Sorry - i dont understand why this group of pple is so special....
ie, why St Nics/ CatHigh sec students can be in 2A but schools like SJI cannot.... To me, doesnt make sense....
Vicki: y phase2A should stay ? Coz old boys old girls are those who make the school to be consider as ' Top school'. Aren't these old boys old girls those whom had earned the schools the awards/titles? On top of coz the sense of belonging. Todate all top sch majority seats r taken during phase 1. Instead of applying changes to phase 2A , they should look into those under phase 1 & limit the seats given to this phase too. Based on Nyps 2011,50% taken by phase 1 & 30% taken by phase2 only.
If again ur reason of not touching phase1 is coz of convenience like what Idad mentioned, y not move ur 1st kid to the sch nearest to ur home n put ur 2nd kid there then tta really convenience & practical right? ( sorry if I sound direct here , no personal attack k:))
And again all of us want our kids to be in a good sch & of coz with the sentimental attachment tts the best.
Instead of looking into phase 2A, don't u all think tt phase 2B is more redundant?eg Grassroot ? Wats the contribution to the sch? And for PV, how many of these parents still contribute to the sch?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.