Dunman High School (Junior High)
Louis:
i see..When ranking for O Level started in late 80s, it was RI, RGS, DHS, Chinese High, RV,.... (I stand to be corrected).
At that time, the competition was among DHS, RI, RGS, Chinese High, NYGH, RV,....
The competition now is among DHS, RI=(RI+RGS+RJC), HCI (=Chinese High+NYGH+HCJC),RV, VJC(=VS+Cedar Girl+VJC), Catholic High+St Nic (Coming up).
Hence, for DHS and RV to be more established as A level institutions, and benefit more students, both shall be allowed to recruit post O level students to increase each cohort beyond 500 students (preferrably 600+).
DHS has proven itself with good A Level results, so the number of Year 4 students joining other JCs would be lesser. Particularly if one is aiming for scholarship, with the IP system, it would not be easy to get into CCA leadership position if the JC has 75% students from its feeder schools. CCA is a deciding factor now with more students scoring 5 distinctions and above.
all the best to Dunman High! -
Wow.....
Better still, aim to appear on newspaper!!! :rahrah:Louis:
[quote=\"Augmum\"]
Yo......vks2010......u getting old liao.....
gal said must work very hard then can see the name appears in DHS website.......
it's good to aim high.....but have to be realistic lah....
how many names can appear on newspaper ?? .....
[/quote]These days the newspapers don't write about top scorers with 9 distinctions. They talk about students who've overcome adversity and done well.
Louis:
In those late 70s and early 80s days, I read that the strongest SAP schools were DHS, RV and Saint Nicholas.1984. There was no official ranking yet, but we know the first few batches of SAP, DHS was 1st, RV 2nd.
RI overtook after GEP was started. Chinese High after it went independent.
Note: The above is based on O Level Results. Glad that with IP, DHS can compete in A Level now.
DHS was even ranked second in the first school ranking exercise (late 80s or early 90s?) -
Louis:
But the schools (both DHS and RV) JC1 and JC2 capacity were only planned for 450 maximum. 500-600 is too stretched on the resource. Moreover, there isn't much competitive O level takers left for J1 intake after 7 more schools go IP. Beside that, you can't be certain that those students taking O levels from TKGS, AHS, St Patrick etc.. will prefer DHS over VJC?
Hence, for DHS and RV to be more established as A level institutions, and benefit more students, both shall be allowed to recruit post O level students to increase each cohort beyond 500 students (preferrably 600+).
WeiHan:
There are plots of empty land beside DHS
But the schools (both DHS and RV) JC1 and JC2 capacity were only planned for 450 maximum. 500-600 is too stretched on the resource. Moreover, there isn't much competitive O level takers left for J1 intake after 7 more schools go IP. Beside that, you can't be certain that those students taking O levels from TKGS, AHS, St Patrick etc.. will prefer DHS over VJC?
VJC would cut down its JC1 intake after VS IP. Similarly TJC JC1 intake may cut after it takes in Year 1 students. These are the only 3 IP schools in the east. Post O level students will have less choices. Some will prefer DHS if it is part of the MOE enrolment exercise. There are many late boomers. I just feel that there is no optimisation on economy of scale for a good school with only 400 students per cohort. -
Louis:
Yes, agree that dunmanians have to be more inspired that they can do as well as pupils fr reputable JCs.
With time, Dunman High can be comparable with HCI and RI. In the early years of SAP, DHS results was 1st in Singapore. That was not the time Mata wearing shortsAugmum:
haha, it would never be as good as RI and HCI
as these 2 schools already attract and chope
the top coat of the cream of the crop from both PSLE and O lvl pupils.
In addition, some of the high achievers, decide to leave for other JCs at the end of yr 4.
There is a long gap of 6 years between PSLE and A Level. Everything is possible. Dunman High students need to be inspired more and have the \"Can do\" attitude, both academically and in CCA.
What impressed me many years back when I went from Dunman High to HCJC was the then HCJC principal's welcoming address. He started by saying ,\"Every student coming to JC must aspire to be a President Scholar.\" How many PS can there be? But, that was a awesome inspiration. :salute:
With all good virtues, Dunmanians just need to be more competitive. ε ζ²ΉοΌ
But.....
For DHS to attract the top cream PSLE pupils, not only the sch, itself, has to proved to the public its A level results,
the mindset of parents and pupils need to be changed too.
( of coz, good A lvl results is impt for the change of mindset)
Why do i say this ??
becos i always remembered Β one Β P6 ex-classmateΒ
told my galΒ \" u must choose RGS lah, otherwise no face as what my mummy said\"
when she came to know that my gal would be choosing DHS instead of RGS,
needless to say this classmate of hers went to RGS ........
as these pple always perceive that they would have more face when their kids go to the R schs, and not others.....wink: :evil:
Β -
Louis:
NJC planned for a capacity of more than 800-1000 but they can only take up to 500-550 at J1. If they increase the intake further, COP will increase above 5. So there is already an over capacity in resource even in good JC like NJC.
There are plots of empty land beside DHS
VJC would cut down its JC1 intake after VS IP. Similarly TJC JC1 intake may cut after it takes in Year 1 students. These are the only 3 IP schools in the east. Post O level students will have less choices. Some will prefer DHS if it is part of the MOE enrolment exercise. There are many late boomers. I just feel that there is no optimisation on economy of scale for a good school with only 400 students per cohort. -
Louis:
Yes, the number of pupils joining other JCs at the end of yr4 is indeed reducing.
DHS has proven itself with good A Level results, so the number of Year 4 students joining other JCs would be lesser.
Unlike the first batch, i heard fr a gal's senior that almost half of them transferred out. ( wonder was it true?)
In fact, after yesterday 's release of A level results,
some frens of gal might change their minds after indicating initial interest of transferring out. -
These days the newspapers don't write about top scorers with 9 distinctions. They talk about students who've overcome adversity and done well. :)[/quote]when i said \"newsapaper\" it refers to other mainstream media as well.....TV, online news,
Wow.....Augmum:
[quote=\"Louis\"]
Better still, aim to appear on newspaper!!! :rahrah:
it's good to aim high.....but have to be realistic lah....
how many names can appear on newspaper ?? .....

they def covered the top scorers, No ??
Anyway, news of A level results coverage is not of much interest to the public as compared to PSLE results.
WeiHan:
Fully agree.......with the addition of the new 7 IP schs, by then , not many are left......
Moreover, there isn't much competitive O level takers left for J1 intake after 7 more schools go IP. Beside that, you can't be certain that those students taking O levels from TKGS, AHS, St Patrick etc.. will prefer DHS over VJC?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.